We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I just recently stayed at the Electra Palace Hotel, for a long weekend (as I ran the Athens marathon)

I have stayed at the Electra Palace Hotel, a few years ago, so knew what to expect. The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable, hotel facilities are very good, but for me the friendliness of the staff made all the difference...

As I was running the Athens Marathon, the small details the hotel accommodated for us runners was really nice. Breakfast on the morning of the marathon was available from 5am, and the night before, the hotel had a special runners 'pasta party'.

As my parents were staying with us, the hotel reception made a point of finding them a room close to ours, even though the hotel was fairly full and my parents ended up with a better room than originally booked - a very nice touch!

The only minor criticisms that I would make are the following:
- Our room which was on the 1st floor had a window close to some air-conditioning units outside, which were a little noisy at night, although living in London, I'm used to noise so it didn't really bother me.
- The 'pasta party' meal was a buffet, and although fine, I felt that the 20 euro price per head was a little expensive for what it was.
- You have to pay for WiFi internet access. Most hotels offer this for free as standard nowadays.

Notwithstanding the above comments, I would stay at the Electra Palace Hotel again, and would certainly highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better views of the Acropolis and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    957
    248
    76
    35
See reviews for
827
1,429
88
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend & I stayed here for 4 nights and we had pre-booked our standard room about 6 weeks in advance. If you are traveling light, (small roller suitcase), it's very convenient to walk 10 minutes to this hotel from the Syntagma Metro station & travel to and from the airport with the least expense. Both the hotel and it's staff are very good and quite helpful. Yes, our room was rather small, but still comfortable, and the bathroom was large. The closet area had drawers, etc., as well as a safe and small fridge. Our room was on the 1st floor and looked down on the outdoor courtyard, which seemed to be very quiet. Linens and towels were first-rate. We did not have dinner at the rooftop restaurant, but the buffet breakfast every morning was excellent. Although the roof-top pool area seemed crowded at times, it was still nice to relax up there. My friend had a massage in our room from the spa personnel and she thought it was very good. My only suggestion to hotel management is that they should offer at least free internet access 24/7 down in the lobby's computer area. Otherwise, given the hotel's convenient location near the Plaka, it was a splendid choice for our 1st visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Confirm the size and location of your room prior to final booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktaylorsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the staff friendly and efficient. The only poor aspect was breakfast which was surprisingly poor for a reasonable hotel, it was cold and congealed and let the hotel down badly. On the up side the location was central (though quiet) and the roof top restaurant was a treat for dinner because of the view.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieRutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Electra Palace hotel was a wonderful hotel to stay during our visit to Athens. The location was great next too many good restaurants, shopping, Syntagma Square, and the Acropolis. Breakfast was delicious and the roof top restaurant with the view of the Acropolis had impeccable service and amazing food. The front desk and bell men were very helpful and suggested places to visit that were unique and interesting. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a number of pros:
- its location is very good, in a quiet street. In five minutes, you are in the nice restaurants of Plaka, below the Acropolis. In 10 minutes, you are on Syntagma or on the busy shopping streets.
- the view over the Acropolis from the swimming pool and the restaurant is great
But it has also unfortunately some cons:
- the style, with fake old furnitures, will please more customers from the Middle East than westerners. The latter might find it bad taste.
- the rooms are quite small and not very convenient for the business clientele (eg on the desk, you either plug the light or your computer, but you can't do both). Wifi is not free.
I have put this mark because of the price, which is relatively cheap. Just do not expect to fall in love with the hotel...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank angelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed in a great many hotels of all types and descriptions all over the world, as has my wife who is a travel agent. Our friends with whom we traveled are also well traveled, retired executives with a discerning eye. We all agreed that Electra Palace is first rate.
The staff checked us in promptly and efficiently and put us into rooms 519 (us) and 517 (our friends) with adjoining balconies and a commanding view of the Acropolis, impressive during the day and magnificent at night when lit up. Both were very quiet, and ours had a king bed, cable with a number of English channels, large bath with modern tub, bidet, etc., a fine selection of soaps and accessories, lots of closets, safe, dryer, minibar, etc.. The room lacked nothing and was adjacent to a quite beautiful rooftop restaurant with Acropolis views. There is also a pool, spa facilities and a very nice restaurant that serves an American style buffet breakfast. Located just a few blocks from Syntagma Square, the center of tourist-oriented activities, this hotel is best in class for service, friendliness and location.
If this is your first trip to Athens, try the hop-on hop-off buses leaving Syntagma Square. The best and least crowded are run by AthensOpenTours and are yellow versus the far better known and far more crowded buses of CitySightseeing which are red. $16 Euro buys 2 days of sightseeing anwhere in Athens you'd want to go. If you want great Greek food in a classy and romantic rooftop taverna and at reasonable cost ask the concierge for directions to Taverna Sarah within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view rooms are, indeed, worth it. Our friend (he) is extremely noise sensitive but sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomersdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I wanted to end our trip on a high note, and chose this hotel as it seemed more luxurious than our other 2 Athens hotels.

We ended up feeling that we were basically paying for a fancy hotel lobby. True, the lobby gives a good first impression but in no way makes up for the simple hotel room with no tea/coffee making facilities, no complimentary water, no complimentary wifi except in the lobby and breakfast area, and troublesome computers in the lobby accessed via 10-minute vouchers.

Worst of all was the service. There was the grand total of one lady at the reception who made the effort to smile and have a very brief chat with me, but the others were merely doing their jobs. As for the ‘bell boys’, perhaps the middle-aged men employed here felt we were beneath their dignity and did not once smile or greet us. One even abruptly left us to approach another party – after we had specifically asked for help! Am still wondering if he just didn’t like our looks?

The last encounter was the worst: wishing to book a cab to the airport, we asked one bell-boy for help and was told the cost would be varying dependent on the tolls. When I asked to clarify (I had read that cab fare to the airport is a fixed rate), he raised his voice and said “from THIS HOTEL, this is the taxi charge. If you don’t want it, you can walk down the road and get a taxi.” Wow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s-myluvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 326 in Athens
412 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
1,506 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing