We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, helpful staff, adequate room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #11 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights in early October. Our room was a junior suite with a small terrace and absolutely stunning views of Acropolis. The pool terrace was also quite nice, great views and attentive bar staff. Room was OK - a bit small but OK. The front desk staff were helpful but just a tiny bit arrogant in pointing us to do things. We had a tremendous cooking lesson and dinner at a local tavern which the concierge sort of sniffed that they knew about but hadn't really recommended it to anyone. We ate in the restaurant - sort of a limited menu, tasty food... and the Greek Prime Minister and entourage were having dinner with a Deputy from NATO. Very cool event to watch.

Room Tip: Junior suite with a view of Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripdog88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,755 - 1,761 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had three short stays at this lovely smaller hotel during summer trip to Greece and Turkey. The staff were helpful and efficient, the room was very attractive and clean although a bit on the small side. Lovely view of Acropolis. Breakfast in the garden was our favourite experience at this hotel-something we looked forward to because of good choice of food and relaxed ambience of the garden. Dinner at the hotel was excellent with high standards of food and service with great terrace views of the Acropolis.Not the usual taverna type of meal. The hotel has a great location-walking distance to everything in the centre of Athens, the tourist areas, shopping and museums.
It is worth paying for room with view of Acropolis or garden. Staff dealt very well with a booking issue on the last short stay. They were very helpful, friendly and good humoured.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for room with view of Acropolis or garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

i stayed here recently , Its rated as a 5 star property but its more like an asian 3 star ....
the aircon was turned off the entire time , their excuse was that the winters have set in , if we pay 5 star rates its upto the person occupying the room whether they should keep the room temp cool or warm , but not in this case !!
the breakfast was very average !! the restrooms did not have exhausts in them !! terrible !!
the beds were comfy enuff tho...
n the only savin grace was the location...... Plaka !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for 8 days in the Electra Palace Hotel, Athens and enjoyed every moment. The buffet breakfasts were well organized and offered a full range of tasty food, we had lunch on the 5th floor terrace with a view of the Acropolis, and dinner in the fine dining room listening to live harp music, also with a view. The food never disappointed us, always enjoyable. We could easily walk to all the major sights of the Syntagma Square area and the Plaka and Acropolis. The shopping and street life were still lively and exciting in early October. The hotel staff were very knowledgeable about the local tourist sights and arranged a day outing to Mycenae and Epidaurus for us. We appreciated the soft comfortable bed mattress and the high quality bedding after staying on very hard beds in other Greek hotels. There were also good quality window coverings that allowed us to have good daytime naps. Finally, the spa. My husband and I used the steam room and the sauna as well as the small pool with the whirlpool. It was a small area but well used and enjoyable. I had a face and back massage and enjoyed it so much I returned the next day for a foot and leg massage. We felt comfortable and "well cared for" during our entire stay at the Electra Palace. We stayed in a standard room with a King bed which was really too small for two people, we tried to upgrade to a larger room but none were available. I recommend that you consider the size of the room when first making your booking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights (2 at the beginning of our trip, 2 at the end) at the Electra Palace Hotel. The location of the hotel is very convenient for sightseeing. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and many of the tourist sites are in walking distance. The X95 airport bus stop is also a short walk. The hotel is clean and we check in/out was easy. The breakfast buffet is very extensive and good, and the coffee service is quick.

We were surprised that the bed in the room was two pushed together single beds. If traveling as a couple, that means you can easily fall into the gap between the beds (the sheets and blankets are made individually over each separate bed, not made up as a double).

Also note that an Acropolis view room doesn't necessarily include a balcony.

As others have mentioned, in room WIFI isn't included in the room price and we had no luck connecting in the breakfast dining room or in the main lobby.

Had a great time in Athens and would recommend that a tourist stay in the same general area as the Electra Palace although perhaps a better cost to value ratio hotel could be found.

Room Tip: If paying additional for an Acropolis view, be sure to ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saya_Senang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We picked to stay at the Electra Palace for one night owing to its good reviews. We arrived to find that our room was no longer reserved, with the reception eventually admitting that the hotel had been overbooked. I was very disappointed with the dismissive manner of the staff who were clearly over run with tour groups. We had been transferred without consultation to the NJV Athens on Syntagma Square who were excellent and we would recommend, giving us a free upgrade. I would expect better from a hotel- once you are booked at least a courtesy call or email if the booking changes and on arrival they were rude to my partner. I don't even remember an apology. Well below what I would expect from any hotel, never mind a 5 star hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Cullen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in October 2013 for a business trip. The hotel is conveniently located for the main tourist attractions such as the acropolis, same for shopping and many restaurants within walking distance. The hotels is situated down a side street which on he first visit would be difficult to find. My room was clean and nicely decorated. I did not eat in the hotel so can comment on the food.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall for my brief stay I was pleased with the hotel and would recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Lombear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,439 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $169 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing