We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location and hospitality”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

well priced. service was outstanding. Beautiful lobby. view from rooftop pool and bar of acropolis was breathtaking. the breakfast was delicious and they even have a smaller version of the breakfast available for those leaving very early to the airport. Location was right in the middle of everything. It is not quite at level of American 5 star hotels but excellent experience and value for the price!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,645
    926
    236
    73
    32
See reviews for
774
1,344
86
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Electra Palace as part of our Greek vacation and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is well appointed and ideally situated near the Plaka district. We found the staff to be very helpful and the rooms were very well appointed.
The pool area and restaurant overlooking the Acropolis were excellent and the daily breakfast, included in our stay, got us off to a good start for the day.
We had dinner one night at the roof top restaurant overlooking the Acropolis all lit up at night, which was a truly memorable experience.
One comment i would have is that It would be nice if a hotel of this standard offered a shuttle service to and from the airport as it costs between 40 and 50 Euro each way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is right in the Plaka area so you can walk to all the nice restaurant, shops, museums and Acropolis.
The rooms are very well done -- everything seemed new, clean. Very comfortable and an serves an excellent breakfast too. Staff is ultra-helpful!
Wonderful choice if you are a tourist with a limited amount of time in Athens and want to be near all the sites without compromising on quality, comfort and good service.

Room Tip: We took an Acropolis view room, but since the hotel is only a few stories high, all you really see i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nino d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Checked in to the Electra Palace hotel last Friday, July 12th for a quick weekend getaway in Athens. SO glad we decided to stay here. Upon check in we were told the hotel was 100% booked & the only room that was avail for us was the Presidential Suite- but we had to pay a little more per night. Since we had already booked & paid for a Jr. Suite we thought- why not- lets take a look @ the room & see if its worth it. A beautiful room- consisted of a full living room, large bedroom with king sized bed, ample closet space, 2 bathrooms, main bathroom was roomy, even had a steam shower room in addition to the bath/shower. Lots of soft towels & Clairns toiletries avail. Bedroom was well appointed, desk with HDTV, sitting area & large French doors that opened to the most spectacular view of the Acropolis. You can see the Acropolis while laying in bed as well...... Yeah....... :) Bed was very comfortable, high quality linens & enough down pillows to keep us happy. Living room had a sofa, 2 chairs & coffee table- enough seating for our needs for sure. More large windows that opened to that view of the Acropolis. It was pretty warm so we were taking advantage of the good A/C- but kept the black out curtains open. Moving out on to the private patio that was LARGE & had its own private pool, lounge chairs & a nice seating area on the lover level in the shade- all still with a fabulous view. Lots of Greek basil plants, rose bushes & geraniums made it feel like home. We could see the public pool from here & it was PACKED- so we decided to take the Presidential Suite- with out question..... & It was SO worth it- we didnt want to leave- to have that view, that pool & all that space..... So we timed it so we would eat breakfast @ the hotel, go out sight seeing in the AM while it was a little cooler, have a nice lunch out & about, then on the way back swing thru a market for some cold beer/wine/snacks & then retreat to our oasis of our patio & pool for the rest of the day. It was like our own resort- couldnt have been better- we still had to pinch ourselves of what was in our field of vision- the Acropolis rising out of this city before us that has stood there for thousands of years..... Amazing!!!!
Breakfasts @ the hotel was nice- a great selection of breads, cereals, juices & my favorite- the waffle station with my most favorite waffle mix "carbons malted waffles" Havent had those for ages.... A great breakfast- no complaints there at all.
The staff were all happy & more than helpful to point us in a direction & suggest a nice place for dinner. We didnt eat @ the hotel restaurant that was up on the 5th floor above us & it had a fantastic view- we did read that it was a great restaurant but we liked searching out hidden & out of the way places & we found some great ones.
Overall, we'd surely stay @ the Electra Palace again, the location is great- walk to everything or get on the hop on/hop off tour bus a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have written reviews of this hotel previously and will always give it a very good / excellent rating because of the staff and the location.
So it is going to sound a bit nit picky when I say:
1. Why do they charge for Wifi? At over €250 per night it should be free not just in the public areas.
2. This is now about our 7th stay and it would be nice if when we arrived that the staff had some way of recognising ( their booking system) that we were repeat customers.
3. If you want some "quiet time" by the pool to soak up the view don't go between 4 - 7pm, which of course is when you want to go after a hard days sightseeing. It was chaos when I was there on Saturday at 5pm but perfectly peaceful at 10am on Sunday.
4. And finally the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant can only be described as awesome. Not so the meal which is described as "Fine Dining". It was more than disappointing on this visit. We had chosen the Fine Dining Menu which is essentially a limited choice menu and in no matches the experiences we have had before when eating off the a la carte menu.
The menu choice should not make a difference to the quality of the food.
If you want to explore Athens from a great base this hotel ticks most of the boxes.

Room Tip: If you can have a room with an Acropolis view it is rather special. Alos the top flow, which varies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This an expensive hotel in Athens but it was faultless in every way making it very good value. It is well located for sightseeing. Staff were exceptional & all spoke very good English-they couldn't have been more helpful. The lobby area has many lovely places to sit & relax or have a drink. If you want to stay in an up market hotel with a beautiful atmosphere in the middle of Athens then the Electra is the one to choose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway,Utah
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was out first stay here at the Electra Palace Hotel and our second stay in Athens in the past 2 years. We were greeted by smiling porters and front desk staff. They answered all our questions, made us reservations.

OVERALL VALUE RATING on a 1-10 scale: 10

INCLUDED BREAKFAST: 9 -- Choices, Choices. Eggs choice (hard boiled, scrambled and sunn,y side up), fresh fruit, cereals, canned peches & pear slices, meat slices, and waffle maker. Dining area was clean and very nice with table cloths. Choice to dine inside or out. A first class breakfast. I would give it a 10 if it had a cook to order omelette station.

LOCATION TO SITES: 10. Close to everything tourist want to see. Easy walking to shops and Acropolis, etc.

SWIMMING POOLS: 2 in hotel. One in the basement level with spa and one on the roof. Roof pool is a 10 for views of the Acropolis and just chilling.

STANDARD ROOM: Very nice appointments. Bed probably give it a 7 rating.

ROOF TOP DINNER: View: 10, Service: 10, Fixed Menu reserves with room thirty five euros each: 7. Only 2 choices: Salmon or a baked cheese ground beef. Included vegetables and ice cream. All very good tasting. Excellent service. We were impressed!

CLEANLINESS OF HOTEL: 10. Very well taken care of.

NEGATIVES: Not much to complain about. Would be nice to see pillow-top mattresses. Bathroom door is clear & etched which gives little privacy if 2 or more is in the room.

FINAL: We will not hesitate returning to this hotel in the future. They treated us very professionally and took care of all details for us. I'd put this hotel at the top of your list for Plaka/Athens if staying here. MUCH better than the Parathion Hotel we stayed at last year!

Room Tip: Clean, quiet rooms, safe area, close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwaytoheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing