We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel. The room was fairly plain but functional and the decor a little old fashioned. There was reasonable air-conditioning in the room but it was centrally controlled and could have been cooler. The staff were really helpful, the location excellent and there's a lovely little pool and chairs on the roof. Also we enjoyed a good varied breakfast where we sat out in the gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,651
    928
    236
    73
    32
See reviews for
776
1,346
87
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The most important issue is the hotel GREAT location in the heart of the Plaka. It is in a walking distance to the important tourist sights, museums; restaurants and shops.
The hotel is a luxury and well-kept but its decoration in the lobby and the rooms seems to be a little old fashioned.
The room was and comfortable and clean. Our room faced the a back garden so it was very quiet. The we heard no street noise. The Air-Conditioning was very efficient even though we open the window when it was cooler for fresh air..
The staff were helpful and friendly helping us with finding good restaurants in the area.
Breakfast was probably the best we had during our trip with variety of dishes as well as local food. We had it on the terrace area facing the garden and it was such a nice way to start another pleasant day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Or_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel was perfect during our recent visit to Athens. Tucked up a side street in Plaka you will be surprised at how the hotel makes fabulous use of its footprint with a huge and welcoming reception area. After a busy day of sightseeing the air conditioned hotel is a welcome relief from the heat of Athens city. We had booked a superior room with a view of the Acropolis but were offered a room with a balcony and the same view for no extra cost. The rooms are spotlessly clean; breakfast selection is very good and all the staff are friendly and helpful. We ate in the hotel restaurant on one evening but there are so many fabulous restaurants in the nearby streets of Plaka I would recommend you use your time exploring the quaint streets and enjoy the local food on offer unless of course you want the romantic setting of dining whilst overlooking the floodlit view of the Acropolis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location in Plaka, you can walk anywhere. It was clean and had a nice breakfast spread. After a day of site seeing, nothing is better than swimming on the roof with a view of the Acropolis. The view is spectacular both day and night. I would recommend this hotel for couples or families. My advice is to bring sunscreen and a hat b/c the sun is so strong in athens.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagochica801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etchingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although the decor of this hotel is not ultra up-to-date, nonetheless everything is spotlessly clean and well kept. Both times we stayed we were upgraded (although why this should be so was a mystery, but a happy mystery,) and our Junior Suites were spacious and luxurious. The views can be of either the courtyard garden, or, spectacularly, of The Parthenon atop the Acropolis! Quite something to wake up to in the morning.
The rooftop pool is compact, but having a pool at all is always welcome in the middle of a hot City, and the snack bar did lovely fresh and well presented food.
I would like to single out from among the many friendly staff in the hotel, Victoria, on reception. What a super-helpful lady she is, and met our request for a "late check out" with a heard-it-all-before smile, but let us check out late anyway!!!
My one gripe? Powdered scrambled eggs - why do 5* hotels think this is acceptable?
If you get the chance, stay at the Electra Palace as it is also set in the heart of the Plaka historic district.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible to get views of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Prisitine is how I would describe our first impressions as we entered the air conditioned, spacious marble lobby. A little surprised at the size of the rooms and bathroom, I expected better and we are very familiar with European norms in this respect. Given the room rate, the value was marginal considering the room size.

Staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was very clean, the pool area had stunning views of the Acropolis and a great place for a late afternoon dip after the heat of the day. Naturally a cool beverage was in order at this point as well.

Breakfast was very pleasant on the terrace area adjacent to the garden off the lobby. The location of the hotel for access to Syntagma and Plaka was brilliant and it's biggest selling point if this is where you want to be.

Yes I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is a luxurious oasis amidst the bustle of Athens. The rooftop view to the Acropolis with its pool and lovely restaurant will delight your senses. The set meal for 30euro is great value. Don't hesitate to book

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#10 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing