We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Good: Well kept, great location for 'real' Athens, excellent service, very comfortable beds, good hot water pressure, the view of the Acropolis is first class.

Bad: Old fashioned, pokey, uninspiring breakfast (poor choice of fresh fruit, no fresh juice, burnt pastries, long life milk), the gym has three pieces of equipment (bike, treadmill, weights bench) and the indoor pool is a paddling pool, you really don't want to go near it, the outdoor pool is tiny. Wifi cuts out every time you stop using your device, meaning constant re-entry of a code. It's not somewhere you want to spend your downtime.

If I went in expecting a three start I would be pleasantly surprised. Going in expecting a luxury 5 start in the heart of Athens has left me feeling undersold and pretty annoyed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath - the ones without are basically cupboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loosecannonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    908
    229
    72
    32
See reviews for
763
1,310
83
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location great front desk was very helpful Free wifi in lobby. Breakfast was included was okay.pool on top floor. The roof top terrace was overlooking the acropolis at night. The food was okay but nothing to write home about. Would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horselover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The service from all the staff was top notch and professional and they were always helpful with recommendations. The breakfast was amazing in both variety and quality.We had a balcony with views of the Acropolis that was stunning and a swimming pool on the 4th floor with equally stunning views of Athens. The museum, the Acropolis, the narrow lane ways of Plaka and the Syntagma square are all within easy walking distance so need for a car. A 5 Euro taxi ride took us to Lycabettus which had 360 degree views of Athens.Only negatives were the air conditioning was not very strong in April when the temperature was 30 degrees Celsius so I don't know what it would be like in the middle of summer. Also it was a pain to have to keep asking for an iron and ironing board, but having said that, when you asked for one it was provided to you within 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with views, it costs more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

located in the center of the old town, close to the Acropolis, very nice and comfortable, indoor and outdoor pool (with views on the Parthenon, great). Excellent service, very kind and helpful personel.

Room Tip: try one suite on 6th or 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level Contributor
284 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Athens, The Hotel has many pluses, but the best one is location.
We had a room with a balcony looking to the Parthenon, we arrived erly in the night still no totally dark, and we stayed few minutes just watching the top of the hill.
The service was very good , checking was excelent, and the room when we arrived the second time, had some compliment, delicious food, greek wine, .
I would recommend all the way except for the bathroom, but it seems in Greece all Hotels, we stayed, have the same philoshopy, only half of the bath is covered, then the wather gets to the floor.Except for that perfect.
Please ask for a room looking to then Parthenon and above the 5th floor. In the fifht floor there is a top restaurant also, with excelent mediterrean food.
Additionally you can walk to the Parthenon to the Plaka, and additionally if you have good physical training you can even walk to the archeological museum.
What a great location.

Room Tip: As mentioned above take a room with view to the Parthenoon above the 5Th floor with a balcony you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had checked this hotel in the past and noticed its nice garden and overall atmosphere. I am very satisfied with my stay there, the staff and the breakfast offered. The location is ideal for a tourist visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the Acropolis are definitely worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckosmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Gorgeous views, amazing service, outstanding buffet breakfast, beautiful rooms, did I say gorgeous views, walking distance to Acropolis and other sights. Definitely the best place to stay in Athens.. you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlenefromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing