We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #15 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in the heart of the city”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 nights and our experience has been first class. We will definitely stay again but will take a room on one of the upper floors that have balconies and a better view of the Acropolis than the room in which we stayed (133).
Great breakfast offering.
Nice pool and steam/sauna.
Massage treatment is highly recommended.
Only small criticism would be the lack of in room tea/coffee facilities.
Overall the service has been friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennisbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,689
    939
    239
    74
    32
See reviews for
789
1,378
88
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just returned from long weekend in Athens and stayed at Electra Palace. Hotel is in a great location in Plaka within walking distance of lots of restaurants, pubs and tourist places. Staff were extremely helpful at reception in dealing with queries and helped with bookings for restaurants and directions. Breakfast was good (ask for poached eggs if you find the fried eggs too cold), leisure facilities fine and rooms a reasonable size. Only complaints are lack of free internet access in rooms (only free in reception) and the room was too hot, even leaving the windows open - air conditioning did not seem to work properly. The other two couples with our party had the same problems.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmymac200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed with family here Nov 2012 and again in Dec 2012. Our November stay was not pre-booked as we were to travel to Hydra on our arrival in Athens from Istanbul. However, due to foul weather there were no ferries running. Arrived early evening at hotel on off chance that they may have a vacancy and we had pre-booked for December 2012. Reception staff after joking that they were booked out gave us the same room at same cost as our December stay. Staff also checked weather reports for following days (which didn't look good) and advised they would contact Hellenic Seaways on a regular basis to check for sailing information. Room was exceptionally clean, spacious and had a great view of the Acropolis from the small balcony. The breakfast buffet kept us well fed for most the day. Great location to see Athens on foot and only minutes from the Plaka.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at the Electra palace with my well behaved! 7yr old son on our half term adventure for 3nts including breakfast . Our room(226) was pleasant and clean and a lovely large bathroom with a bath .Robes and slippers were provided as well as all the usual . There was a well stocked mini bar and a large safe. The tv didn't have many English channels apart from news. Our room was quite small and dark and what little view of the Acropolis we had was shrouded by scaffolding outside .I had emailed the hotel prior to our stay to ask for an Acropolis view and was quite prepared to pay an upgrade if necessary but never got my request as, on arrival I was told the hotel was full which I later found out it wasn,t . not sure what that was about. WI FI was not free.I didn't mind paying and had no trouble with it . I suppose if you don,t use it why should you pay? Or maybe it should just be available in a hotel of this supposed calibre as is a toilet in this day and age-it,s a matter of opinion I suppose. We ate in the rooftop restaurant on our first night. Spectacular views of the acropolis and great service. My 7 yr old found it difficult to find something he liked on the menu(he is not fussy) but the food was a little mature for him. The staff did their best but it was a little below standard. The desserts were fabulous though and they did not charge to make up for it. There were plenty of restaurants within close proximity of the hotel if you turn right when walking out. The Spa facilities were adequate, indoor pool a little small but great after a long day sightseeing.The outdoor pool was closed due to the time of year (feb). All were spotless and well maintained. The Acropolis museum is only a short walk away and well worth a visit my son loved it.We did the open top bus tour as we were fortunate to have great weather and did all the sights.The acropolis etc was awesome. We went early in the morning before the crowds of school parties. All in all we had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel, just a shame about the room location and no balconyon this particular room! N.B no tea of coffee in room either so take a travel kettle if this is important to you. Don't understand why they couldn't have put us in a nicer room this would have made it perfect. I suppose it was because it was only 1adult and 1 child but this shouldn't make any difference .

Room Tip: Get a high floor and if you want a view don't take room 226 it,s a broom cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The location of this hotel is very easy to access for almost every sightseeing spot in the town. We can enjoy staying with good service and newly renovated room. I could see the Acropolis from my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirachan1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel (14 to 17 February 2013).
The location is great to get around on foot or by public transport.
The welcome at reception was great and the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially mr. Gerasimos Georgatos
The breakfast is international and of good quality.
The espresso has a pleasant taste. It's very important for me, I'm Italian!
The room is comfortable and quiet.
Excellent cleaning.
The terrace and the restaurant are of good quality and the view is very romantic.
Good service SPA.
Excellent quality/price ratio.
I am totally satisfied with the choice.

Room Tip: All type of rooms are very quite I stayed on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bartolomeo Robe... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The location and property are quite nice. The materials used and the cleanliness are wondeful. The location is perfect to walk to many of the shops and restaurants. The breakfast is very good with so many choices. The staff at breakfast works very hard and they are friendly. My biggest complaint would be the room comfort. It was soooo hot in there! We turned the heat off and opened the balony doors, but then needed to shut them at night due to the noise. I had requested a view of the Parthenon, but was not accommodated. All in all, it was a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MESWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Electra Metropolis Athens
#11 of 326 in Athens
309 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 326 in Athens
3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,461 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing