We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A gem in the heart of Athens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #12 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Athens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a beautiful boutique hotel in a wonderful position at the entrance to the Plaka area. The Foyer entrance is amazing, so large, with comfortable sitting areas and a small bar area where both coffee and drinks are served. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony which had a view of the Acropolis. We spent each early evening over cocktails sitting on the balcony viewing the scenery with awe. It is such a romantic and historical city. Vicki, at reception, could not have been more helpful and directed us to all the wonderful sights and museums of this wonderful city

Our room was very comfortable and clean and room service very prompt. I just loved being able to leave the hotel and be in the heart of the activity of the Plaka. The hotel is within walking distance of the new and amazing Museum which is on the way to the Acropolis. Athens is a city where one needs to walk to view all the wonderful sights there. We were just two blocks from the Walking Mall where all the wonderful shops are and from where one could walk to the market area with ease. During all the time of our stay we walked everywhere, visiting many museums, parklands and shopping areas as well as having a large variety of nearby restaurants from which to chose.

The hotel serves a full American breakfast and have a fruit juicing machine where one can have a glass of fresh orange juice each morning. After being served cordial or mixed juices in other hotels where we had spent time this was a real treat. We were delighted to be able to sit in a garden area in a tranquil setting eating our breakfast in the mild days of late September.

There is a gym and spa in the basement area and on the roof a swimming pool with lounges and one can order drinks and a light lunch during the day. The Poolside Restaurant at night, indoors, has a wonderful view of the well lit Acropolis and the food here was excellent. For a special meal it is really highly recommended with a view to die for.

We found this hotel accessible to all places of interest and the concierge was always available to obtain a taxi whenever we needed one. As we were so close to everything though we hardly needed this service apart from our departure for the airport.

During our time in Athens it was obvious that tourist numbers were down and that was such a pity as during our stay there we didn't see any activities which should stop people from visiting this wonderful city. We felt safe at all times as we always have on previous visits to Athens.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter. Ask for a room overlooking the Acropolis but they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneMelbournian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    811
    201
    70
    25
See reviews for
656
1,126
74
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I understand if you pay $200-ish for a "5 star" hotel room, you can't expect the Ritz, and we are all complicit in this charade, but Electra Palace was very weak for a "5-star" hotel.

Pros:
1) Price
2) Breakfast - nice range of foods, was overcrowded at times, but otherwise good.
3) Location - in a nice spot in Plaka, near Acropolis and other major sites.

Cons:
1) From the second floor, the view of the Acropolis is disappointing. You can't see the main sites, but rather the wall of the Acropolis. Also, the view is to the side, meaning you have to walk out on the balcony and turn to see it. Directly across from you is not the Acropolis, but a dry cleaner and seamstress. There are rooms that directly face the Acropolis, but I think those are the more-expensive suites. I emphasize this point, b/c I'm sure many will, like me, will think the Acropolis view is an important feature. And in fact, you have to pay more for a superior room just to get this view.

2) Room. The TV was about 25 inches, the room was small, leaked when it rained, and the 20-year old hairdryer in the bathroom was cracked and taped as a repair. Photo attached. Also, water temperature in shower fluctuated significantly mid-shower - never pleasant. This is all fine in the end, but don't call yourself 5 star hotel with this.

3) Spa area - The fitness room, indoor pool and sauna are located in a single space. The pool is positioned in the middle, so that as people get out, large amounts of water spill all over the floor. Consequently, the path to the sauna and fitness room was very slippery, and I watched myself, my wife and several others slip and nearly fall. It was almost like candid camera. The hotel employee in the room also watched, and did nothing. The shower areas were moldy.

4) Wireless internet in the room for a 10 euro/day fee. Free wireless in the lobby. Just not 5-star quality.

This hotel is an average 4-star place. It's not bad, but I wouldn't stay here if you want a luxury experience.

Room Tip: You MUST get a room as high up as you can for a decent Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peillon, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent location. In the heart of Athens. Not far from everything, Acropolis, plaka, Lykabitos, Kolonaki and Ermou (shopping street). Metro-stations are just a few minutes walk away. I was very happy with the garage, because parking a car in the heart of Athens is not so easy. The roofgarden restaurant is a nice place to have dinner. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knaadje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfect location with an amazing view of the Acropolis. Easy walk to all the sights, great restaurants, shopping, public transportation. Staff offer excellent customer service and the pool and exercise area were comfortable. Pool is a bit small but relaxing. Safe neighborhood. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view of the Acropolis. You won't regret the view at night that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed in the Electra Palace Hotel October 2011 for a week. In the heart of Plaka district, this hotel is perfectly situated. The rooms were exceptionally nice. From our room we had a breathtaking view over the Acropolis. Breakfast was prepared with a lot of attention. The stay was truly delightful. In the course of that stay I asked the hotel to recommend me a driver in order to explore the city. To get a good driver in Athens is unfortunately a very difficult task. I was so fortunate to get George recommended to me who truly made this stay memorable. His English is impeccable and his driving exceptionally agreeable in the midst of the messy and aggressive Athenian traffic. He is of very calm nature making it very comfortable to have him around for several days of exploration. On top of all that, he is also very knowledgeable. I have been in love with Greece for 40 years now always consciously avoiding Athens because it can seem quite overwhelming. But George is a true insider who knows how to make you discover Athens from a whole new angle away from the tourist masses. I attempted to book the hotel again for October 2012 unfortunately it was full, but thankfully George was there to show me around Athens once again. He really made me feel comfortable returning to Athens any time and I would gladly take up his services again. Thank you very much for that unforgettable stay! I will certainly come back and try to book the Electra Palace very much in advance and explore more of Athens and the mainland with ‘my driver’ George.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This Hotel lived up to our expectations. Centrally located near Plaka and a short walk to the Acropolis. We visited just after some demonstrations and were a bit apprehensive, however it was unfounded. From the Electra Palace we walked most of the Plaka without concern, including to dinner at an excellent restaurant recommended by the hotel staff.
We did choose a room with views of the Acropolis and it did not disappoint. Staying on an upper floor we had no noise issues. The included breakfast was very good, somewhat crowded though.
Overall a very good value and a smart choice for value, location and comfort. They now have fixed rate taxi tariff, so takes away the concern of taxi ripoff. Both from airport to hotel and hotel to docks had the rates stated on billboard.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loum613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Electra Palace on our last day in Greece. The hotel is located at the edge of Plaka and a short walk from the Acropolis. We got a room facing the front and were a little irritated by the street noise. The room was very clean and well furnished. However we found some very basic things missing, hence the 3 rating. There is no free WiFi in rooms but only in the public areas. Here too it worked in the lobby and not in other areas. The service was sort of snooty and while we didn't have an issue with service, the staff didn't feel warm or very happy delivering the service. The breakfast was average at best. In fact it was probably one of the worst we had on our Greece trip. Honestly we expected better from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karanbhagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,811 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 335 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,805 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Property: Electra Palace Athens
Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
#12 Family Hotel in Athens
#12 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Electra Palace Athens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing