We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Electra Palace Athens
Ranked #11 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great rooms and a fantastic pool. Compared to other hotel, this pool really gives a sense of floating above the city, watching the Acropolis.

Great service and a lovely staff. The sauna is also quite good, and you can run to the near indoor pool to cool down - which is a bit like taking a real Sauna and running to the lake.

Go to Avocado - the vegan restaurant near the hotel - a little gem of excellent food.

Room Tip: Definitely try to take a room with a view to the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thestyleseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,070 - 2,076 of 3,263 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel, staff, food, and facilities were great. The location was the best. Right in the Palaka. Very central to downtown and the ruins. Highly recommend dinner in their roof top garden rest. The lamb was the best. And the view is 2nd to none.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. inside is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Electra Palace Hotel: a very warm and personal welcome, and a perfect room with a balcony and a fantastic view of the Acropol (thanks to the reviewer who suggested that it was worth paying a little more for it). We were tired from a very long trip and after watching a spectacular sunset from the balcony, we decided to try the hotel restaurant which turned out to be outstanding! It's located on the 4th floor with tables inside and outside with a view of the Parthenon. We chose the menu of the day and enjoyed a delicious cold soup with goat cheese and herbs, a well-prepared lamb tenderloin and a spectacular desert that was listed as "caramel flan" but was in fact a series of delicacies crowned by a particular good homemade ice cream. The breakfast is served in the interior garden which is quite beautiful.
The hotel is perfectly located 10 minutes from the Acropol, around the corner from the small streets of Plaka. I will certainly go back when I return to Athens.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a very quiet street with little traffic. Apparently, you can reserve a room with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windinthewillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Wonderful hotel and staff in the most ideal location! Extremely clean, exceptionally comfortable beds and surprisingly quiet (I swear the rooms are 100% soundproof). Front desk staff was the most helpful that I've ever experienced. The included breakfast had a huge selection and was all very tasty. Rooftop pool and restaurant with view of acropolis was a huge bonus.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms that both faced the garden and the street (stayed here at the beginning and end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annamarie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A place well worth paying that little bit extra for if on a short stay! A fantastic location right in the heart of the old town making it easy to get to many of the main sites as well as allowing the chance to wonder the old streets of Plaka (avoid the tourist strips though!). Friendly staff and extremely comfortable rooms - if a touch on the small side. Added benefit of a fantastic rooftop pool to cool off in, and a terrace that is perfect for an evening cocktail with amazing views of the Acropolis. Restaurant looked rather clinical so suggest as we did you get out to a more real taverna location... Overall would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a good treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We made a call the hotel the night before setting off for our two night stay because apparently Athens were going to have a big demonstration near to the hotel and would be major strikes at the airport, metro and the buses. We were very concerned about how we would get to the hotel and being involved in their troubles, but the hotel would not cancel our booking and we could not get a flight out that day. The front desk tried to sell us transport by a taxi for 65 euros which we refused(they were profiteering from us as we made our own way for only 8 euros). We got into Central Athens for 1.30pm and were held back by armed police as they road blocked the square off as the Demonstration got out of hand and everyone was refused entry to Syntagma Square and we were caught in tear gas and riots!
When we eventually arrived at the Electra Palace around 5pm, the front desk were very unhelpful and condescending to us.
The small superior room we had as previously requested on booking, with a view of the acropolis - well see it, if you can!

Room Tip: Our tip is to stay a block away in the New Hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValentineWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Electra Palace was a lovely, comfortable hotel...a perfect location for seeing everything worthwhile in Athens. The rooftop pool and bar area was a very nice feature. The front desk staff was extremely helpful.
I would make sure to get a room with a balcony either overlooking the street or the courtyard. Our room was small and more cramped with a poor view...but that is because we chose the Standard Room, figuring that we would be outside most of the time. In the future I would make sure that I had a room with a better location in the building.
After a day spent dodging crowds, the Electra Palace offered a wonderful oasis.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe or make sure that you are over the courtyard or area where you have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ptk813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,441 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Athens

Address: Navarhou Nikodimou 18-20 | Athens, Plaka, Athens 105 57, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
#9 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $169 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately, with the air of an era long gone, the Electra Palace Athens, hospitable and aristocratic, awaits to welcome you in the heart of the city. Classical in its architecture and design, blending beautifully with the noble historical buildings of the Plaka area, the hotel’s elegant luxury is complemented by the majestic views of the Acropolis that can be enjoyed from the rooftop restaurant, pool, rooms and suites. Marble bathrooms; soft duvets; handmade carpets; custom furniture; these are but a few of the details that make the Electra Palace Athens luxuriously enjoyable. The amenities of our hotel will leave you wanting for nothing more: for your comfort and enjoyment, here you will find satellite T.V.s, laptop size electronic safes, Wi-Fi internet connection, and fully equipped bathrooms with hair dryer, bathrobes and slippers, magnifying mirror and more. Right in the city center and within walking distance from all major sights, easily accessible by car or public transport, the Electra Palace Athens is the ideal hotel for your stay in Athens whether you are here for business or leisure: spend a summer day at our outdoor swimming pool, soaking up the sun of Athens as it rises above the Acropolis – or spend it shopping in the city’s lively markets. Wander through the ancient Agora and visit the Parthenon – then wonder at its glory, all dramatically lit at night, from the balcony of your room. Stroll around the city under the autumn rain, then warm up in the hotel’s sauna. Relax after a day’s hard work - or blow off some steam - at the indoor pool or our gym. Enjoy our delicious contemporary greek cuisine at the award winning “Electra Palace Roof Garden” or at the “Motivo” in the lounge, or with a drink at the “Duck Tail”, our British inspired bar. For bigger celebrations or for business events in the heart of Athens, our hotel’s five-star service extends to our seven meeting rooms and ballrooms: fully equipped, air-conditioned and naturally lit, our halls can cater for up to 350 people for any event type, no matter how formal: host your business meeting here, or organize a successful conference. Or, have the reception or banquet of your dreams, tasteful and impeccable, a festive testament to your own sophisticated style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Electra Palace Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Athens
Electra Palace Hotel Athens Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing