We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippos Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

When we arrived at this hotel, we went out on our balcony and could see the Acropolis. This shows you what a perfect location it is! The hotel is located a couple blocks away from the Akropoli metro station, so it is convenient to any part of the city. And you can walk directly from the hotel to the sights of the Acropolis (Parthenon, etc), and to the Temple of Zeus and Hadrian's Arch. We did a lot of research before we went in terms of which areas of Athens are the safest, and this by far was the best. We have heard that Monastiriki and near Syntagma Square can be a bit sketchy at night. We found the neighborhood near Hotel Philippos to be quaint and safe. There are many good restaurants here (some more touristy than others). We liked Vitro because they had a pianist playing at dinnertime and the food was good.

The hotel itself was lovely. The rooms were average-sized, the free breakfast was good. The service at the hotel was very good and they were willing to give restaurant recommendations, etc. There was a business center, but it was not free.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    428
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
237
370
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wizard of essex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Located close to the southern edge of the Acropolis, the Philippos is within walking distance of many of the cities atractions. The nearby Akropolis metro station (5 mins walk) will take you further afield. The metro in Athens is very easy to use. It is also safe, clean and effecient. A 1 Euro ticket lasts for 90 minutes, a 3 Euro ticket lasts for 24hours and a 10 Euro ticket lasts for one week. A ticket from the airport is 6 Euros.
The hotel has a small bar and lounge and an adequate breakfast area. Breakfast is the typical continental affair with the addition of home-cooked cakes and pastries and excellent greek yoghurt. The rooms are small and if you (like us) were staying for more than a couple of days, then the clothes storage space may be inadequate and you end up living partly out of a suitcase. This aside, the hotel is clean, well-maintained and very friendly.
2 minutes up Mitseon street is the new Acropolis museum. This is an excellent place to start your visit as a continuous film show gives a overall context in which to view the many Athenian Archaeological sites. This museum is open 8am to 8pm Tues-Sun, whereas all of the other major sites in the city (Including the main museum) close ridiculously early at 3pm. Culture-vultures may care to know that a combined ticket for all of the sites (but not the museums) will cost 12Euro and can be used over several days.
The sister hotel to this one, the 4 star Herodion, is just around the corner and its' facilities are available to Philippos residents. We did try this for one evening meal and the food was of decent quality and reasonably priced, but we did find the service to be slow and inattentive. The nearby Plaka resaurants are more varied and good fun.
The only place we found in Athens in the week we spent there which was best to avoid was Omonia Square which seemed to be mainly inhabited by immigrant drug-dealers and prostitutes. This is easily off-set by the many wondrous sites and the unique atmosphere of one of the most interesting and exciting cities in the world.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandalfwizardofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

We chose the hotel partly because of the location (close to Plaka, but not directly in the crowd) and partly because they had non-smoking rooms available.

We reached our room and opened the curtains . . . to a magnificent view of the Acropolis!

The room was small but comfortable, though you could smell smoke out in the hallways. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the morning breakfast buffet was more than satisfactory. Would stay there again

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amygdalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

Very small room but it didn't matter as we were hardly there. What mattered was it was clean, modern and everything worked. Breakfast basic. Great location, 3 minutes walk from the Acropolis museum, 10 minutes walk from the Acropolis.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeynfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our stay started out poorly and ended OK. The first room we were given had less than 12 inches floor space between the bed and the wall. The mattress was foam, with a “valley” in the middle that we both slid into. The air conditioning was off and we couldn’t cool our stifling hot room, even with the small window that opened onto the street noise. As well, when I booked this “double room” on Expedia, I didn’t notice to specify 2 people, not 1 -- a mistake that triggered a 12 Euro/night or 20% surcharge. When I requested a new room, we were very quickly accommodated with a room with a flat mattress, room for 2 people to pass by each other and balcony with a door that allowed us to cool the room. One point of caution: the Wireless Internet that Philipos offers is 6 Euros/day, at 128k kbps, doesn’t work everywhere in the hotel (e.g. the rooms) and disconnects frequently. On the plus side, the breakfast that was included in the room rate was really good, very fresh with lots of variety. The front desk staff are very friendly and spent almost an hour to ensure I finally got internet connectivity.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnakeMackerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March 2009. Overall I think it was a good deal and would stay here again. You can walk to the Acropolis and the Plaka from here. It is only one or two block walk to the metro that can take you anywhere else you want to go.

The room was average and had sliding doors that went out to a small balcony (unfortunately the view was of the neighbor’s laundry hanging out to dry). Bathroom was tiny but that’s typical in Europe. I forgot my adapter and was unable to use my hair dryer. There is one in the room but it’s a joke so don’t bother – it would take you all day to dry your hair! Breakfast was decent – they had hard boiled eggs, toast/rolls/Danish, assorted cereals, some breakfast ham and sausage. There was fruit but it was in that yucky syrup. Breakfast was good enough to hold you over til lunch. Internet is available but they charge something crazy like 5 euros for 15 min or something like that. As you walk around the area, there are little grocery stores and shops where you can get snacks and alcohol for cheap to save money. The sister hotel (can’t remember name) is around the block and has a rooftop café where you can get a great view of the Acropolis…Unfortunately it was winter when we went so the café was closed but we still went up there to take pictures.

When in Athens, make sure to check out the flea markets at Monastiraki – you can get some amazing deals and super cheap gyros. Also the nightlife in Psyrri was fun and different.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2009

This hotel is a good budget hotel with great location. Hotel is 2 minutes from new acropolis museum and acropolis subway station and few minutes from entrance to acropolis. Hotel is not in a tourist zone, but tourist pedestrian shopping street starts 5 minutes from the hotel and leads you to the very centre of the town which makes it nice walk. Also a tram stop is very nice, which can take you to the beaches :)

Hotel room was okay, not big. Bed was nothing much comfortable, but you can sleep on it few nights.

Breakfast was very basic, but good start for the day.

I can definitely reccommend this location instead of the Omonia district hotels.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbik0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing