We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recomend this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Recomend this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel had a great staff, very friendly and had an awesome breakfast every morning. The rooms are small but worked for us we only stayed 2 days and experienced excellent service and help from this elegant hotel. I would come back to this hotel when we return to Athens. Wish they had a pool and hot tube but Athens is a tight city on space, this was still an awesome experience for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YolandaandJuan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear JolandaandJuan A


“… excellent service from this elegant hotel …an awesome experience …” Thank you for using such words to describe our hotel. Your promise of return is music to our ears; we will be very proud to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    433
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
242
376
80
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

A nice tidy hotel in a fantastic location in Athens. Near the Acropolis Museum and Acropolis.
The staff are fantastic - very helpful and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to help us with storing bags, checking tour details etc.

The breakfast was all made fresh daily by the chef - best Greek yoghurt ever.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a nice balcony on the front side of the hotel - a quiet street so no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Marion F


We certainly expect you back! Your feedback is very important to us as it is the only way to remain ‘fantastic’. Your promise of return is the most tangible evidence that our efforts are vindicated! At PHILIPPOS, this small jewel under the Acropolis, our family run hotel, we never and will never, stop trying for the best, thanks to our customers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimphu, Bhutan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and me spent four days in Philippos hotel In Athens( with breaks) from 28th May 2014 to 7th June 2014. This hotel is below Acropolis and just behind Acropolis Museum., 10 minutes walk from Plaka. We managed to visit all the sights walking. It is a small hotel but rooms are nice, bathroom is decent. Wifi was given to us free. Breakfast was excellent. Very helpful staff. The receptionist, seeing us trying to lug two suitcases from the road, actually ran out and took them from us. Coming from India, the only thing we missed in our room was tea/coffee maker. Overall excellent value for money

Prasad Roy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasad1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Prasad1951


We are glad that your stay at PHILIPPOS only added to your overall vacation. Thank you for taking time to share your comments on TrAdv.

Yes, we do not offer coffee/ tea amenities in the rooms –yet!- but we do offer both for free in the breakfast area after midday, everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very friendly atmosphere. Reception very helpful and never tiring of helping or explaining things in details. Upon arrival maps were provided and directions to all main attractions were explained in details. Excellent location, very close to the Acropolis, two minutes away. Very clean. We will definitely stay at Philippos Hotel if we travel to Greece once more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceZu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear JoyceZu

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your stay at PHILIPPOS Hotel, on Tripadvisor. We will pass on your comments to our staff, and I can already see smiling faces!

Your promise to return is the most tangible evidence of your satisfaction. Thank you and be sure that we will be expecting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Philippos is clean, quiet, and very close to the Acropolis, the museum, and the Plaka district. I had a large room with a balcony, a good shower, and air conditioning. Breakfast is decent and service is friendly. Wifi costs 5 Euros/day in your room, but it's free in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a clean, basic room at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear CVformTO


Thank you for recommending PHILLIPOS hotel to fellow travelers. Such appraisal comes as the best support to our continuous efforts in keeping our family-run hotel going in flying colours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Dear all,
I had a great stay in the Philippos Hotel. It is located in a great area (walking distance to Plaka with a lot Restaurants and Acropolis) and easy to find if you have the right address (make sure, that the address in the email signature is the right one) and reachable by Metro from the Airport (approx. 1h to Acropolis station).
The people are friendly, the breakfast fresh and plenty, the rooms are nice and clean (very small bathroom).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear NadineS


Merci! Thank you for choosing PHILIPPOS for your stay and for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. As described by you, our location offers a lot of facilities especially to visitors travelling not only for pleasure but also for business as it is so close to both attractions and transportation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

It has taken us a while to submit this review, but that is only because we've been busy since our holiday! We chose this hotel for its location and because we knew fellow Australians who had stayed here and were happy with it. Our room was plain but had everything we needed including a fridge. The bathroom was not large but perfectly fine and had a bath. Breakfast was excellent, especially the delicious yogurt. Staff were all helpful and pleasant. The location was wonderful for easy access on foot to the Acropolis entrance and Museum. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Quintrowen


We are proud to have earned a promise of return! Taking your fellow Australians’ advice has ‘earned’ us another friendly-guest. Thank you and we surely hope of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#44 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
Attalos Hotel
Attalos Hotel
#34 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing