We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Philippos Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hera Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
466
502
123
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
502
123
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelacropolis museumgreat locationacropoli metro stationwithin walking distanceyogurtquiet streetpartial viewlarge balconysafe neighborhoodrooms are smallminute walknice breakfastboiled eggshotel roomfriendly hoteldouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location is fantastic, very convenient to Acropolis Museum and Metro station, and an easy walk to all the restaurants of Plaka. The hotel is on two quiet streets, a real plus in Athens. Most rooms face the street and have balconies, but there wasn't much traffic on the streets by the hotel. Also convenient to a grocery store and pharmacy. Excellent breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. Even by European standards, the room was small, and there was only one drawer in the room, so no place to store things you didn't want to hang. If you have a lot of luggage, this will be very cozy. The room was a great bargain, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you are very concerned about street noise, but most rooms face outside.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornReisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear chibiff

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We value your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It felt like being at home but with all the advantages of a hotel. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, especially when I had walked into a thick glass window at the car hire office - bags of ice and whisky helped me recover! A very good breakfast, comfortable rooms, easy internet access for those without their own laptops - this is not always the case we found out in other places. I rate this hotel excellent - the only improvement we would like to see is in the coffee - but we'll be back anyway.

Room Tip: Some have a partial view of the Parthenon - at least ours did, 309 I think
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Valerie o

We are very proud to have earned your recommendation! We believe, and full heartedly support, that we should make every possible effort to add to our guest’s traveling experience, starting from the smiling faces and supportive personell, to home made delicacies for breakfast, well looked after rooms, laptops and a printer available to everyone.
For breakfast you have three choices of coffee, and it is unfortunate that it might not have been satisfactorily communicated to you. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve that, and next time you come we hope that you may find the taste which suits you best!
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very good hotel with excelent service.The room was very comfortable an clean,the location is perfect near Acropolis museum,and also near to metro station.I always prefere to stay at Philippos Hotel when i visit Athens.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank VASILEIA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Vasileia1

It is our honour to welcome you at PHILIPPOS in every of your visits to Athens. We thank you for taking time to share your impressions of our hotel with the Trip Advisor community. Rest assured that next time you come it will be more than our pleasure to make you feel … at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visited this hotel for 4 nights.
Pros: Very good location, good breakfast, good service.
Cons: small rooms, walls are thin so you could hear other people in other rooms.
Overall nice hotel, we would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YossiRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

To have earned your recommendation is very important. Thank you for your comments and for praising our efforts; yet on the matter of our rooms being noisy, PHILIPPOS Hotel when being last renovated applied in detail the specifications of the study carried out by the acoustic specialist and expert Dr.G.Schubert providing for soundproofing per room of less than 50 db. Therefore I believe that it must have been an unfortunate coincidence and even if it is out of our reach, we would nonetheless wish to apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Philippos is ideally located for exploring the sites and shopping in the Plaka or Monistriki areas. The metro station is also close. They have recently done some remodeling and the décor is beautiful. Some of the rooms are on the small side, but all I need a room for is sleeping! The breakfast was excellent. The staff is what makes the hotel really special, though. Spiros, Dimosthenis, and Anni provide excellent service. If you are looking for value in addition to location, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyJ166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear KathyJ166

We are proud to have earned your recommendation. Thank you! We absolutely appreciate your comments about our personnel which we will pass directly to them. Your promise to return is the best compliment and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews