We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Philippos Hotel has a great location, with all of the major tourist attractions within a 20 minute walk. Acropolis and Plaka are less than a 10 minute walk away. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and polite. Breakfast is included, and is quite good with an excellent choice but most dishes are repeated. The hotel is located in a very quiet, safe street, and there is a supermarket nearby. The rooms and toilets aren't massive, but are more than adequate. WiFi is available, for a small fee. The metro is very close to the hotel, so you can get around Athens in a tick! If we were ever to go back to Athens, then we would definitely stay here again!`

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear NinanFamily

We are proud to have earned your recommendation. Thank you! We absolutely appreciate your comments about our personnel which we will pass directly to them. Your promise to return is the best compliment and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    428
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
237
370
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It has great location (walking distance to Acropolis, Metro Station, Monastiraki, Syntagma Square), very friendly and helpful staff (they even kept our luggage after check out because we had the plane in the evening and we wanted to take a tour to Piraeus), clean room and bathroom (including towels and bed linen), good breakfast (fresh fruits, yoghourt, cereals, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, butter, tea, coffee etc.). The room and bathroom are not very big, but it didn't really bothered us because we spent the time enjoying Athens and not judging the size of the room. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea_Tollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Andreea_Tollie

“We really liked this hotel …”; we thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel on Tripadvisor. As greatly understood and underlined by you, hotels in such exceptional central-historic-areas as ours, are mainly distinct for virtues doing justice to their location, in which case the size of the room becomes a relative issue! Do stay in touch through our web site and keep informed on packages and traveling offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes Town, Greece
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The location ( Acropolis museum , plaka ) is perfect , rooms needs really update , the chambermaids are really good as the staff of the breakfast too , breakfast its o.k , lobby was nice and clean , over priced hotel

Room Tip: Do not take a single room , are some rooms equal to jail
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Yannis K

Thank you for your review and comments about our location and quality of service. I have been informed that both the single rooms you had were with balcony and especially one of them had the best view of the Acropolis. We would be glad to have you back in case of revisiting Athens, in which case, before booking, do not hesitate to visit our website and discover offers of traveling packages. We wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel location is the best. All major attractions are within walking distance. Front desk is very friendly and offer good advice. Good breakfast which is included in room price. Free wifi which is ok for routine email check

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Eric J

Your review of PHILIPPOS Hotel is very much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel is situated at the bottom of the Acropolis. Perfect view and walking distance to the Acropolis museum and restaurants. 10-15 minute walk to shopping district. Breakfast is ok but always the same each morning(we stayed there for 4 nights). If we had to go back we would stay here in a heart beat and will recommend to everyone. Staff was great in sending us detail on how to get from the airport. A very good time in Athens

Room Tip: there is only 2 room with acropolis view on top floor but these rooms are great but are smaller. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guivio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guivio

We are proud to have earned your recommendation. We Thank you for all! Wishing you a Happy New Year, and hoping to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Acropolis metro is just 5 minutes walk from this hotel. I loved this hotel and it is very romantic. I felt at home and unfortunately I did not enjoy much time here as I had to rush to office for client meetings. Next time, I will bring my wife and kids to Athens and definitely stay in Philippos hotel and enjoy the experience fully. The staff were friendly in nature and very helpful. Spiros and Efi were friendly and they helped me arrange a cab from hotel to office. They also make reservations on demand and take care of guests during their stay. The closet had a safe and my room was having a balcony and I really enjoyed the evenings there after a stressful work at office. Excellent job guys.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Paula U

We are proud to have earned your recommendation. Thank you! We absolutely appreciate your warmest comments about our personnel; rest assured that we will pass your comments directly to them. Your promise to return is the best compliment and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. We wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We appreciated the possibility to share some of the facilities of the nearby sister hotel, Herodias Hotel. Really nice location, - you don't need a car to get to most the tourist sites. Breakfast was a bit crowded (too small for a larger crowd wanting to head off at the same time)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Axfi

Thank you for appreciating the uniqueness of our location and sharing your experience of our hotel on Tripadvisor. The advantage of a sister property hotel is not only related to the facilities enjoyed by PHILLIPOS clients visiting HERODION, but also to the fact that a 3* hotel breakfast menu is supported by in house made delicacies, such as the ones by the HERODION chef for us! A fact seriously appreciated by our guest. We wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#22 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#28 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing