We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fantastic location - very near to Acropolis and museum and Plaka. Our first time to Athens and this hotel is in a good area - feels safe. We (family of 4, 2 adults, 1 teen and 1 almost teen) stayed for 3 nights in a family room - which was fairly spacious, very clean, although no frills accommodation had a balcony, and was perfectly adequate for our needs. Would recommend for short stay. Friendly staff. Sister hotel round the corner - Herodion- has fab roof terrace where we had drinks a couple of nights - also had dinner there once - good food and not over-priced. Would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jaqui B
Clean. Clear, in a Safe Excellent location, Friendly, and in conclusion we earned your recommendation. We Thank you for all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    427
    112
    26
    13
See reviews for
237
368
79
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Philippos. Extremely clean and contemporary. Room a good size, Bathroom excellent. Location superb. Staff on reception very pleasant and helpful. Recommended as a place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are proud to have earned your recommendation. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Philippos Hotel this week. They could not have been more welcoming. The breakfasts were well stocked and great for the whole family. The bedroom was functional, there was a small but sun catching balcony which we enjoyed in the mornings. The hotel is so well located in the shadow of the Acropolis and its new museum.

Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel106628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We thank you for appreciating the best in us and for enjoying the friendly atmosphere of PHILIPPOS Hotel
We would be glad to welcome you again, in the meantime keep in touch through our website and remain informed of our new offers and openings …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taby, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel Philippos several times. This is the best confirmation of the quality of the hotel, and especially, the reception and the personal service. In other words, Greek hospitality at its best.
Perfectly situated in the Acropolis' neighborhood, near the subway station and the famous Plaka, the Old Town.
Warmly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are a family (up to 4 persons), ask for the Junior Suite with a marvellous view over the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Alexander R

‘Greek Hospitality at its Best’ and your warm recommendation is the best praise for the efforts of our loyal team and the management
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Philippos from 12th to 18th October, having previously stayed with them 5 years ago. It is a very comfortable hotel and very conveniently situated for the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Acropoli metro station, and a buzzing cafe/bar area opposite the station.

The hotel room was comfortable, clean and well-decorated. The bathroom was a good size for a 3-star hotel and there was plenty of space for hanging clothes, etc.

The staff were excellent. We found them to be very friendly and helpful. Most of them spoke at least some english.

The hotel entrance is at street level but the reception area is up a flight of about 10 steps from the entrance. This isn't a problem though because as soon as you get inside the entrance one of the reception staff will carry your bags up to reception. I'm not sure what arrangements there are for people with mobility difficulties.

On our last day they were happy to call us a taxi for the airport but we were disappointed that the taxi driver applied a 5 euro surcharge for being called to the hotel. So the much-publicised standard fare of 35 euros from the city centre to the airport suddenly became 40 euros. We felt we had literally been taken for a ride. Perhaps the hotel should have warned us because it would have been just as easy to call a taxi from the street (and hence not incur the surcharge).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxPro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for praising our hotel and thus justifying our team efforts. We all try to give our best as we consider the client to be a guest in our hotel.
It is true that there are no obvious facilities for people with mobility difficulties, as clearly mentioned in our website, yet when in need our team has always proven supportive and engaging. As for the taxi surcharge, it happens in our country exactly like everywhere else: extra service –pick up at a given time, luggage service, safe known driver- is charged extra; something that we clarify when offering relevant information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The location of this hotel couldn't be better: it's just a block away from the Acropolis Museum, on a quiet street. The rooms aren't fancy, but they are perfectly comfortable, and some of them offer views of the Parthenon. It offers a good breakfast. There's no restaurant on site, but with the Plaka so close, you hardly need one. I'd happily stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aredhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Aredhel

We are glad to have earned your recommendation. As you mention Philippos Hotel is perfectly comfortable and strategically situated and we thank you for sharing your views with the Trip Advisor traveling community.
We urge you, next time you visit us, to enjoy ‘ATRIUM’ the winter garden restaurant of our sister property hotel Herodion, which is just around the corner, offering Greek/ Mediterranean plates prepared by our Cretan chef Manolis!
Keep in touch through our website and remain informed of our new offers and openings …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice hotel, perfectly located and with very helpfull and friendly staff. Price could be more affordable but overall highly recommendable. Nice connected room in the 6th floor for families. The hotel is right next to the Acropolis museum and the walking street that sorrounds all turist attactions. Safe area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarhuCRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are glad to have earned your recommendation. It is very important and fulfilling for all of us to know that our clients leave with the best of impressions and feelings.
Thank you for sharing your views with the Trip Advisor traveling community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 333 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#23 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#25 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#48 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#45 of 333 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing