We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was there for a couple of days before going into an island cruise, and then another day when i came back. The staff, specially Ilias, was so kind and helpful that i felt at home. And i want to go back. The rooms are nicelly decorated, and i got one with a big terrace and an amazing view of the Acropolis. The location is also very good. It's a 3 star hotel, so you wouldn't expect much..but you get it anyway. I have the best memories of my stay there and would recommend it to anyone going to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leti-BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Leti-BA,
We are very proud to have gained your warm recommendation!

We thank you for giving more stars to our otherwise 3*s hotel and for appreciating its character, especially its well trained and loyal team; rest assured that we will pass over to Ilias your comments as such acknowledgment is the best prise for him, and the team as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    445
    114
    27
    13
See reviews for
253
390
81
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute one night booking for the Philippos Hotel before a cruise. We arrived well before check in time and the nice woman at the reception desk held our luggage for us until our room was ready and while we left to go do some sightseeing. The lobby is quite nice. The hotel is on a fairly quiet street not very far from the metro station and about a 10 minute walk to the Acropolis. Our room was a corner room facing the street. It had a strange layout - you walked into the room and the door to the bathroom (small with a bathtub/shower combo) was right there. Then, there was a small room with a loveseat and a sliding door to a small balcony. Off of the loveseat room was the bedroom. It had two twin beds pushed almost together, a dresser and a small tv along with a side table next to each bed. The decor, in my opinion, looked like it was straight out of the late 70's, but everything was spotlessly clean. The beds were firm but very comfortable and both my husband and I slept well. We had breakfast very early the next morning and it was fine with quite a few choices (yogurt, meat, cheese, hard boiled eggs, some bread items and fruit). Because we booked last minute, we didn't get the best price in the world (around $125 USD) but you could probably get a much better deal with advance booking. All in all, the Philippos Hotel worked well and has a good location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank txn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor family of travelers. It is true that at Philippos Hotel our value system sets very high the quality of service towards our guest, friendliness and efficiency at all levels and of course cleanliness.

Please stay in touch through Face Book and do not hesitate to contact us directly through our web site, so we may provide you with our best rates possible, next time you wish to book!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My adult daughter and I went to Greece on short notice in August 2013 and found this hotel via Expedia. Only two blocks from the Acropolis, located in a residential area, we struck gold! It was close to the Plaka, to Monastiraki and the Parthenon was just up the street - heaven!
The Philippos Hotel has a friendly staff and is a modest, clean hotel with a charming lobby and an intimate feel. They served a wonderful breakfast each morning. They really took care of us for a final night - found us a room even when they were completely booked when we returned from Santorini with no reservation. We felt really at home and enjoyed having a European vacation away from other American tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookbabe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Bookbabe49

“… only two blocks from the Acropolis, located in a residential area, we struck gold!”
Thank you for your review and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed for three days in early Sept, went on a two week sailboat charter and checked back in for our last night in Athens. I messed up when making the last nights reservation with the incorrect date, they were full but arranged a room at there sister hotel Heridon at the same price with no fuss. Great service and a very pleasant experience. The 1st three days were fine, rooms are small but clean, good value, great staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaroldOchstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear HaroldOchstein,
We at Philippos Hotel passionately believe that the ability to accommodate and solve requests is very important; thank you for appreciating both.
We hope that you will be sailing again in Greek waters and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming in our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed the hotel. Close to everything and the staff was friendly. I would stay here again.

Pros: Location, price, staff, restaurants in the neighborhood

Cons: Room is a little small but the patio with the view of the Acropolis makes up for everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exaktoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As everyone said location is great- near Acropolis, and the Acropolis Museum. The front desk staff were amazing- knowledgeable and helpful.

The rooms were so tiny, that the first room they assigned to us could not accommodate 2 people with bags.
We are a more mature couple who travelled through Europe before Greece, ( cruise) so we obviously had more than a backpack!! They then moved us to a larger room- still tiny but we fitted in, although we couldn't unpack.

We had much trouble with the A/C (never cooled the room off- day or night) we complained and they offered to move us again. No go. The second day, after a sleepless night, we left the key (which controls electricity) in the room slot all day to cool the room so we could sleep that night-

The amenities are sparse- and the breakfast ( included in price) was not up to the standards of the other breakfasts we had elsewhere in Europe. Food choices were limited. No-one to help us with our bags when we arrived and left. We got a "deal" on a website- 3 nights for the price of 2, proving once again you get what you pay for. If we had paid full for the 3 nights, the hotel would have been grossly over-priced for what we got.

This hotel is OK for the young, inexperienced traveler, with little luggage, no expectations of good food, or cool rooms with functioning amenities, and on a limited budget.

I would not recommend it for people like us.

Room Tip: Since we were only in 2 rooms both very small I cannot say what would be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zuluqueen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are sorry that the style of hotel that Philippos is, was not to your taste and that you did not find your stay at Philippos as enjoyable and relaxing as others on this site do, that being irrelevant of guests age. Our experience is so far, apart from the young people, especially the older guests enjoy the caring and attentive staff together with the facilities provided.

We appreciate that you took time to review your impressions as all comments are valuable to us giving us the opportunity of improvement where that is possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Philippos Hotel is a good, clean, comfortable hotel that is ideally situated to see the main sights of Athens being very close to the entrance for the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum. The Plaka district is also very close by with its shops and cafes. The metro is within walking distance (about 400 metres away) and so we were able to use that when we arrived from the airport. The area is very safe and there are lots of open-air cafes nearby where you can sit out.
The hotel and staff were very good and we particularly enjoyed a late night drink in the rooftop bar of the nearby sister hotel, Herodian, with its view of the Acropolis.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank your for finding Philippos Hotel to be accommodative and supportive to its guests; we are constantly trying to do the best for our clients and address their needs.

Thank you for your review and rest assured that we look forward to welcoming you again.

We would be most delighted to have you back in case of revisiting Athens. Do not hesitate to directly visit our site for packages and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,206 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 327 in Athens
705 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 327 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 327 in Athens
1,308 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#22 of 327 in Athens
1,011 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#50 of 327 in Athens
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing