We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #20 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a lovely, friendly hotel situated within easy walking distance of the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum and the popular Plaka neighbourhood. The staff are very professional and friendly, free tea and coffee were available 24 hours a day and my room was delightful. It also provided excellent value for money and a lovely breakfast. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidGFFindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 578 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed to be here, with a view on the Akropolis from our family room on the 6th floor. Staff was very kind and helpful.
The inside door was very noisy, what was embarrassing for our children at night. Very small bathroom also.
But everything was very clean.

Room Tip: If you travel with your family, ask the room on the 6th floor, with view on the Akropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werner G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights over Easter. Although the hotel was small it was very clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful and friendly. It was in an ideal quiet position not far from the Acropolis, restaurants, bars and shops and other places to see. The Acropolis metro was nearby so if you are arriving by Metro from the airport you do not have far to walk less than 5 minutes. It's sister hotel just round the corner has a lovely view on their roof terrace of the Acropolis, lovely to see at night and they do a mean cocktail, so it is well worth a visit for the view and a cocktail. We would certainly recommend this hotel if you are making a visit to Athens to see the sites. We had a lovely time in Athens and everywhere you went the people were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is located near metro station ,Acropolis Museum and Acropolis..Great location for walks at Plaka,Acropolis etc.Descent breakfast ,good rooms and polite staff.I will prefer it again in my next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a decent hotel, however the room that we stayed in (family room on 2nd floor - 204 I think) had such tiny bathroom/bathtub that it was really hard to take shower properly. Our friends in family room 404 had similar issues. And we're not big people - 5ft 6in 135 lbs frame MAX :)
Not a killer issue - but beyond discomfort, adds time while getting ready, especially with family. The A/C was weird, but we got lucky as in March it wasn't needed to cool - just for circulation. The room it self was decent enough, small but expected.

Otherwise, the hotel is nice, the location is excellent- no view of anything whatsoever but walking distance to Parthenon, Acropolis etc, very nice, friendly and helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Love the fresh Greek yogurt and honey etc!

There is a nice bathroom downstairs/basement, which definitely help avoid last minute trips back to the room :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for several nights and were very disappointed in everything except for the quiet location. Our room was very old and very run down and had only a slight resemblance to the photos online. The beds were lumpy, the bedding skimpy and not very fresh smelling, the carpet was absolutely filthy, the entire room just smelled dirty. If we had had a refundable rate we would have found a different place to stay...perhaps they knew this and put us in an older room? I really can't explain all the good reviews, we have been back to Athens to visit since and paid a similar amount for a much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amynielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Philippos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Your review of April 16th comes 11 months after your claimed visit on May 2012 in our hotel. Since it is a very rare incident to receive such a review, we checked thoroughly our records from last year, not just for May, and we found no evidence, given the limited information provided to us, of your stay in our hotel. It will be very helpful if you could give us more information so we can truly understand your disappointment and anger.
More than 20 years we pride ourselves as a family run 3 star hotel in providing excellent hospitality and the highest level of kind, earnest customer service from a knowledgable and friendly staff. Hearing otherwise especially on issues as cleanliness and comfort gives an opportunity to investigate the accuracy of your statement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a vey good hotel located very close to the Acropolis. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a very pleasant stay and will likely return. At first I was given a small room without a balcony. Then on the second day I asked for a room with a balcony and the staff were able to move me. This made my stay far more enjoyable than if I had stayed in the room without the balcony.

Room Tip: Important to ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,417 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#32 of 282 in Athens
1,819 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#16 of 282 in Athens
1,585 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,932 reviews
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 282 in Athens
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Athens
#29 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#36 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $79 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing