We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff Makes The Difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athens Zafolia Hotel
Ranked #83 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Westminster, CA USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Staff Makes The Difference”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our Globus tour used this hotel for their base in Athens before leaving on a tour of mainland Greece so we stayed two nights here. The difference really is the staff which is first class, attentive, and helpful in every way. The room was average but clean. The breakfast buffet was ok but nothing great. We had a light dinner in the restaurant and were not impressed. I would recommend going across the street to the small park and eating at Alexandra café which has great local food and atmosphere. Overall experience was average but acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    189
    90
    19
    6
See reviews for
65
104
33
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The members of staff are what make this hotel. Everyone we dealt with was so kind and very professional; we had a child with us and, for example, Spyros was really good at ensuring we got the lift to our room (even when there was a bit of a queue during check-in times). The cleanliness was second to none i.e super-clean (we tend to eat from plates, but the floor would have been fine if we were stuck!).

This hotel is near enough to the Archaeological Museum; there is a great restaurant across the road (Alexandra) which a lovely member of staff recommended to us. Again, like the hotel staff, the restaurant staff seemed happy to welcome a two-year-old. At least one of the ladies who works in the supermarket across the road speaks English, although the least we can do as tourists is learn to say hello/please/thank you in Greek.

We felt the room was a bit dated (but not worn out at all) and there are no tea-making facilities in the room. The hotel is located on a main road, so the noise of the traffic caused my partner to use earplugs. I grew up on a busy road, so it did not bother me.

Overall, a great stay, made even better by being allowed to use the swimming pool with our tot. Sure, the water was a little cold in May, but try telling a toddler that! The pool was a real bonus, so special thanks to the staff for allowing us to use it (slightly out of season).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eliza757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Smart hotel..ideally situated for travel around the City on the excellent Metro system. Out of the tourist procession..but near enough. Got to agree with earlier revue about 'none smoking rooms..' our room/linen smelled of smoke, which was very annoying. This was the only negative for an otherwise lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Reserved a non-smoking room (according to reception, all roomsa are non-smoking) but found an ashtray and there was a terrible smell of smoke. The same in my friends room...
Windows are not soundproof at all, balcony door barely closes and there is a noisy, busy street out there.
It was also very warm in the room and I turned on the AC but it made the room even hotter!
Breakfast was also not good and the "juices" were not drinkable :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmountain1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I am travelling to Greece since 2009 , in different season, and I had possibility to visit several hotels in that area:
1) holiday inn
2) The Athens Gate Hotel
3) Elefsina hotel

I always found Zafolia the best compromise between quality, service and cost.
Room in the backyard are quite, there is a gym almost always opened and in the summer there is also a swimming pool.
Receptionist are very kind and always professionals.

Room Tip: For quite room please ask for backyard ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo_tessera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Overall a good, clean hotel but the friendly and helpful front desk staff who acted as a concierge made this hotel memorable. An out-of-the-way hotel from city-central but within easy walking distance to the Athens National Museum -- which is a "must-see" attraction. Across the street of the hotel is a one-block street of casual restaurants -- try the take-out at the corner. Local families go there for the gyros. You can sit at one of the outdoor tables across from the restaurants. Spacious room, comfortable lobby and lovely breakfast options.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a higher floor and our request was met with minimum fuss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessSophie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed for 5 nights. Its on Leoforos Alexandras which is a busy street. Metro station is 10 minutes walk. 5 minute cab ride to all sightseeing landmarks in Athens. The service was phenomenal, the entire staff was professional and went out of their way for us. The pool deck was really cool...served great coffee and lunch. They have underground parking but I found spots on side streets pretty easy when I needed to.

Pros -
super clean
great staff
pool deck
parking
location
10 minute walk to metro
short cab ride to sightseeing destinations
supermarket across the street
excellent bakery across the street

Cons -
tv channels suck
busy street
not a lot of great restaurants within walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Exarchia
Radisson Blu Park Hotel Athens
Novus City Hotel
#36 of 326 in Athens
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#33 of 326 in Athens
1,980 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#93 of 326 in Athens
1,511 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#63 of 326 in Athens
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Zafolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Zafolia Hotel

Property: Athens Zafolia Hotel
Address: 87-89 Leoforos Alexandras, Athens 114 74, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Athens
#53 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#55 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athens Zafolia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zafolia Hotel offers 192 guestrooms, flexibly configured to meet the diverse needs of every guest, from Executive Rooms and Suites for the busy, yet demanding business executive to Classic or Family Rooms for the everyday traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Zafolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafolia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing