We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, good service, shame about the strange smell.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Titania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Titania Hotel
Ranked #121 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Alnwick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful building, good service, shame about the strange smell.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Me and my family visited Athens at the end of March, when we arrived we were amazed at the facade of the building, it looked amazing! The area is quite central and has left some bad impressions on other people but we loved the vibrant busy streets of Athens. The lobby was clean but there was a strange smell surrounding us, I suppose you cannot avoid these things in an old building in the centre of Athens. The lifts were small but there was plenty of them so no qualms there. The rooms were AMAZING! We booked the double executive rooms and we were very satisfied with our stay. The beds were soft, clean and comfortable, the TV was in perfect working order and there was a fruit basket with a litre of still bottled water waiting for us upon arrival. The view from the balcony was amazing as well, busy streets underneath and high enough to see the lit Parthenon, heaven! The bathroom left a bit to be desired however, it was clean but in desperate need of a face lift. Wardrobe space adequate and reception manned at all times! If the bathrooms were refurbished and the smell in reception gone this hotel would, in fact, receive an excellent review from me.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor with a Parthenon view, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    511
    457
    172
    99
See reviews for
226
403
74
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in Titania hotel. Our room was very small and old. Breakfast was fine. Unfortunately there was no free Wi-Fi connection and Internet was expensive. Location was good, close to metro station.
As my opinion Titania is not 4 star hotel because the rooms were very old. The only thing that I liked in Titania was Olive Garden Bar and Restaurant on rooftop with amazing view of Acropolis.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Arinios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel. No fancy rooms, no amazing gyms and swimming pools. But it is a hotel everyone knows in Athens, located at the centre, with clean rooms and good breakfast. Conference facilities are also decent, with helpful staff.

Overall: This is an all time classic in Athens, offering a decent solution for both vacations and business trips.

Two tips:
1. have a drink at the roof garden with the wonderful view of the Acropolis and Lycabetus.
2. try the desserts at the lobby cafeteria (their mille-feuille is as tasty as when I first tried it 20 years ago)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

very good hotel located at the centre of Athens, very close to metro and bus stops. the room was ok as it concerns the dacoration, classical i would say, but with many facilities, slippers, glove to clean your shoes, shower gel. body lotion, shampoo, conditioner, sweing kit, sanity kit,safety box, tv, mini bar, very clean, quiet room. the restaurant with the buffet has food for everyone and tasty too.i was't my choice, but I would be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedom_lxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

PRO
Clean, good location, not spectacular.

CON
Staff not personable. No free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrulyFerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The rooms are ok.. The breakfast was ok.. but the location and service were great! Not wild about the fact that they charge min 10 euro per day for internet ..and don't have a free option in the lobby..but i had a good night's sleep.. Would stay again..but only in transit to the Greek isles like i did this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackTulip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Level Contributor
291 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel because some of my Greek friends recommended. The hotel is better and more reasonable than other hotels in Plaka.
Various amenities were provided in the room. Above all, I was impressed to slippers.
But internet was expensive. I paid 3 Euro to use PC with internet for 15 min. They charged Wifi also.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Polis Grand Hotel
Polis Grand Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
President Hotel
#143 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#60 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
Melia Athens
Melia Athens
#36 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Athens Zafolia Hotel
#80 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titania Hotel

Property: Titania Hotel
Address: 52 Panepistimiou Avenue, Athens 106 78, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Titania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Panepistimiou Avenue, right in the heart of the Historical and Commercial Centre of Athens, in between the city’s major squares, (“Syntagma” & “Omonia”), the recently renovated TITANIA Hotel, creates its own history in the art of Hospitality.Surrounded by the most important monuments of the Grecian History, such as the Acropolis, the Parliament, the Archaeological Museum, The National Library, as well as the modern commercial shops and the city malls, TITANIA offers to its guests a great number of choices, not only cultural but also in entertainment. Everything is within walking distance from the Hotel.The impressive area of the Reception with well known Grecian themes of inlaid mosaics in the Pentelikon marble, the Dome & the popular ‘La Brasserie” creates the right setting and mood from the very first moment, whereas the 385 functional rooms ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Titania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing