We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, not a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
Ranked #123 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average hotel, not a very good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here on a Top Deck tour on the nights before and after our trip to Mykonos. The hotel was not in a very good location, quite close to a train station but not close to anything of tourist interest or near any good shopping areas. there was a supermarket a couple of blocks up but that was all. We had dinner in the restaurant, it was a buffet style dinner, average, not bad but nothing to amazing. The roof top bar opened later making us move from the bar downstairs to upstairs. our group made a big circle of chairs and stayed up there until we got kicked off the rooftop when the bar closed. The lady behind the bar was quite nice to our group though and was sorry she had to close up. The shower in our room was hand held, it had no bracket to put it in to shower under which was very annoying when it came to needing to wash my hair. We got one metal key per room and the electricity required the key to be in the room so you could not leave the air-con on whilst you were at the bar so that the room was cool when you returned, that was annoying. I think metal keys with room numbers on it makes it to easy for people to steal or find lost keys and be able to get into peoples rooms. swipe cards are the way to go. this hotel was comfortable enough for a one night stop over but I wouldn't recommend it for much more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlikestogoplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking time posting your review. We are sorry our premises did not meet your expectations. We shall forward your remarks to our maintenance.
We are in process of some renovations and replacing keys with key-cards is one of our future projects
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    173
    167
    58
    34
See reviews for
106
152
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

It is an average hotel. The room is in small side but giving price you paid, you cannot complain that much.
Not far away from the Metro. The surrounding area is not too good.
Close to road very noisy even window is close.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking time posting your review.
Your remarks are noted
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good hotel, good rate

We stayed at Candia hotel last week for 4 nights.
We had a very good deal: hotel + flight and in no time, we flew to Athens.
( Great city!)

Very reasonable rate. We got a big room with a terrace but at night, it was noisy (cars from the nearby road). In the morning, the receptionist gave us another room, which was in the corridor opposite the first room. It was very quiet.
The location of Candia is not bad and safe. You can walk to the city center and it takes about half an hour. You can take the metro, which is 5 minutes' walk.
Good breakfast, Good WI Fi in the room. Computers in the lobby.
Nice roof terrace with a little pool overlooking Athens.
The reception staff are very nice and helpful.
Do not hesitate to book a room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking time and posting your review.
We shall forward your kind comments to our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent a weekend in Athens, we recieved a triple room with a balcony and airconditioning, which was very comfortable and great value for money, the pool was quite small, but had amazing views over Athens. I would say the area was about a 30min walk to Monastiraki square, the main hubbub area and about a 10 min walk from the nearest metro stop, metaxourgio, line 2.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking time and posting your review.
Looking forward to seeing to your next trip to Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welkom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Candia hotel had a very nice view over Athens. The service was good - not really friendly, but good. The hotel itself needs a bit of restoration... People were helpful when asked. The rooms itself was good and we got a kettle and coffee when we asked. It is in a rather less good area of Athens....but we did walk in the streets in the evenings withou feeling scared. The one trainstation near the hotel smelled like pee where people used a wall as a bathroom....Greeks' English are not good - so its sometimes difficult to get help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for taking time and posting your review.
We are glad our hotel met to your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma,CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I spent 2 nights here as part of a tour of Greece and Italy. I really liked this hotel. The rooms were clean, well stocked and quiet. The A/C, a necessity in Greece, was cold and quiet. My bed was firm and comfortable. But, the rooftop pool and bar were the best part. I took some great pics of the Acropolis from the roof deck and had some quality wind-down time in their small pool. The bar was also small, but the service was fast and friendly. We had great customer service from the desk to the restaurant/bar to the cleaning staff. A very quick walk to the subway and your in the Plaka in no time. The neighborhood seemed sketchy, but I never felt unsafe walking the area. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Ιδιοκτήτης at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for taking time posting your review.
Your kind comments will be forwarded to all our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our stay in Athens was for 3 nights. We selected this hotel keeping in mind the location and budget. It turned to be the best. Metro station is just 5 mins away (walking). Although the breakfast was very okay. As vegetarians we had very limited options. but would recommend it to people looking for budget hotels near the square and main locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagar1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#101 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Oscar Hotel
#111 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#85 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Novotel Athenes
#60 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
Address: 40 Diligianni Theodorou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel is conveniently located in the city center, next to two metro stations and the central railway station. Located near both national highways, makes it ideal as a base for short excursions in Southern and Northern Greece by car or bus. Our multilingual staff is at your disposal 24-hours a day and ready to provide you with all the useful information to make your stay in Athens memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing