We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel near Kariskaki square” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
Ranked #118 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Nis, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel near Kariskaki square”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Candia hotel at the end of December 2011. The rooms need to be refurbished. When we came, the window was open and the room was very cold, but soon after the temperature was OK. The staff was kind. The surroundings is not pleasant to walk around at night. However we didn't have any problems. I would not recommended it for solo female travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Madam

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Candia Hotel for your holidays.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    170
    164
    56
    31
See reviews for
104
150
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was staying in Candia hotel in December 2012. First day of stay the toilet in my room was broken and the room service was so kindly to change the room for me. The room was very clean. But one thing I am not sure is why put two beds so close instead of a single big bed that can give a comfortable sleep.
Hotel has a good location. There is a bus stop opposite to the hotel. If you want to take a metro, just walk 5 minutes.
Candia has simple but nice breakfast. Second day of stay we had 6am pickup time, the room service already got breakfast prepared. It's so nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room along the road. It may be a little noisy at the night. But room has balcony that can e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Candia Hotel for your holidays.
Further to your query kindly note we do have queen size beds but they are only used as singles.


We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

i was staying in this hotel in February 2011, inside the hotel is much better from outside. what we didnt like at all is the district - i think late in the evening can be quite scaring & dangerous, but it isnt the fault of the hotel. Breakfast was quite poor (like most european breakfasts), staff was very helpful, but not very English speaking :) but i always had a chance to make a local calls to my Greek friend. Rooms were clean and good. by the way there is a supermarket, veg market and metro nearby. but some rooms can be really noisy due to the district

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam4ika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir Madam

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Candia Hotel for your holidays.
Your remarks are noted and already in process of improvemnet

We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The service was good and the staff very friendly. Rooms were clean but hotel in severe need of some upgrading. The worst breakfast we have ever had in Europe. Not sure how this facility completes with the countless hotels in Athens.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking time and sharing your comments. All your remarks are noted and forwarded to the F&B department.
Regarding the upgrading we are in the process of upgarding our Unit.
We would be very happy to welcome you again on your next trip to Athens and show you around our hotel improved facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Athens hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
phila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice hotel in a sketchy neighborhood. Free wifi in the rooms and in the lobby area. Decent size rooms that were very clean. Good breakfast. We had a 5am pickup time and the hotel staff ensured we had coffee and something to eat before we left. The hotel is only two blocks to the Metro so it is convenient. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleenglackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Madam

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Candia Hotel for your holidays.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I got booked this hotel through a tour operator as part of a round trip through Greece. From outside the hotel doesn't look very inviting, but inside it is better. Overall I found it okay for a short stay, however I wouldn't recommend it if you like to stay longer in Athens.

The room I got was refurbished apparently not that long ago and in reasonably well condition, and it was clean. But it was really small and gave a cramped feeling.

The breakfast I didn't like much: very limited number of choices, and some things like the eggs I didn't dare to eat because they really looked unappetizing.

Otherwise I didn't note much special; certainly this hotel is not a place for having quality time, but it serves fine for an overnight stay when visiting Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel-Aleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Candia Hotel for your holidays.Your comments are noted and forwarded to the F&B dept.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next holiday and to show our improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent a week staying at Candia Hotel this year and just like last year found staying here excellent value!! The buffet breakfast and buffet dinner, the catering staff, the pool and bar on top of the hotel (giving you the best views of the Acropolis!) and all staff were excellent!

I find this hotel the best value for money in Athens!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 5th and 6th floors with rooms on the sixth floor giving you views of the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jupiter_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANDIA_HOTEL, Owner at BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for posting your review and for choosing Candia Hotel another year for your holidays.
We have forwarded your kind comments to all our personnel

We are looking forward to welcoming you on a next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
Dorian Inn Hotel Athens
#99 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Oscar Hotel
#111 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel
#116 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Exarchia
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
BEST WESTERN Museum Hotel
#52 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Stanley Hotel
#82 of 325 in Athens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel
Address: 40 Diligianni Theodorou, Athens 104 38, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel is conveniently located in the city center, next to two metro stations and the central railway station. Located near both national highways, makes it ideal as a base for short excursions in Southern and Northern Greece by car or bus. Our multilingual staff is at your disposal 24-hours a day and ready to provide you with all the useful information to make your stay in Athens memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Candia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing