We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,107)
Filter reviews
3,107 results
Traveler rating
1,685
1,115
233
54
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,685
1,115
233
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews acropolis museum atrium restaurant great location rooftop jacuzzi hot tub acropolis view within walking distance rooms are small hop on hop wonderful hotel an amazing view few minutes walk metro station breakfast buffet is quiet street plaka area yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,107 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Great location. Right next to the Acropolis and the museum, and walking distance to most of the attractions and common neighborhoods and restaurants. The included breakfast was superb with several combinations of both local and international cuisine. The rooms were clean, nice and quiet. The staff very very helpful and friendly. I would come and visit again if coming to Athens. I do highly recommend staying in this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Martin B,
We are proud to have earned your recommendation; it is amazing that you grasped our philosophy during your first joyrney in our city ! We only hope that you will visit Herodion again to enjoy even more what you so vividly describe in your review. See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

This hotel is top-notch. The lobby and restaurant are beautiful and our room was very clean and nice. Also, we enjoyed sitting on the rooftop jacuzzi and looking at the Acropolis in the evening. The breakfast had a wide selection of food that kept us full for hours. The hotel staff were kind enough to arrange a taxi to the airport as well. Great customer service and fantastic location if you are interested in visiting the touristy sites of Athens.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evainmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear evainmontana,
Thank you for your praise of Herodion and your time to write about your personal experience. We really try hard through our team's genuinely caring attitude and efficiency to set us apart from the other fine hotels in Athens. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

I booked this hotel via British Airways Holidays, largely on the basis of positive reviews and an Acropolis-friendly location and overall, I am very pleased that I did.

The location is near perfect, you can view the Acropolis from rear bedrooms or the rooftop bar (closed as it was winter, but still accessible) and you are 5 minutes walk from the quieter South entrance to the site, 4 minutes from the Metro station and 3 minutes from the Acropolis Museum. Also easily accessible are the restaurants of the Plaka district and the main hop on hop off bus stop opposite Hadrian’s Arch. All in all, if you want to be handily located and effectively make it impossible to get lost, this is a wonderful choice.

The reception area, bar and restaurant are of a good standard, with a good selection of comfortable seating in the bar, with good but not OTT service and well heated in the winter (a little too well heated for my liking). We didn't eat at the restaurant (meaning that we didn't take advantage of the free glass of wine offered on arrival), but it looked very pleasant and the menu was indeed "eclectic" as described outside the entrance.

Breakfast is served in its own light and airy space at the front of the hotel (I think 6:30-10:00am). The choice is acceptable, from continental breads and cheeses, to pastries and cereals, through to what passes as a hot breakfast (that wasn't brilliant, it was also not bad).

There is one small lift for all guests, so you may opt from the staircase to access rooms one of the 4 floors with rooms.

The room itself was probably the only slight bugbear for me, but don't get me wrong it was far from poor. As is common in Europe, there were two single beds pushed together to create the allusion of a double, but make no mistake these were 2 beds and quite fond of moving apart they were too. The facilities in the room, were a little dated and in need of replacement soon, from drawers that were coming away from the sides, to an old TV etc; dated, but not dilapidated.

There is a mini bar, a safe and coffee making facilities, plus a low voltage hair dryer, so if you have long hair (I don't) you may think of bringing your own. There is no iron, although the hangers are standard ones so you can hang clothes in a steamy bathroom and watch the creases disappear as if by magic.

The bathroom itself is compact, but with a nice walk in shower.

Overall, my view is that you don't visit Athens to stay in your room, so while there is room for improvement, it didn't spoil the trip at all and I would definitely recommend the Herodion Hotel as worthy of consideration.

Room tip: Rooms at the rear will have Acropolis views
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest SLG1971,
Thank you for your lovely analysis and the time spent to write it. It is true that our Hotel is one of the best starting points for exploring the most important archaeological sites in the city as well as its contemporary side.
We are very glad to hear that you found our lobby and restaurant to your liking. It is important to us, as a family business, to offer our guests, the genuine Greek hospitality, “filoxenia”.Our well-trained staff is always professional and friendly without going over the top.
Our breakfast has been awarded by the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels and can officially be called an authentic “Greek Breakfast” You will find over 50 different varieties of cold and warm choices. We are always interested in our guests' opinion, as it helps us improve our services.
Regarding the room size please note that all rooms have been carefully designed to meet European standards according to a 4-star category hotel. It is space vs proximity. Our hotel being so close to the Acropolis 350m and 85m from the new Museum. We offer a range of room categories which are described in detail in our official website so that our guests can book what they want and know exactly what to expect. We always take into consideration our guests' bedding preference, if informed in advance. In addition, we offer alternative options regarding mattress and pillow softness. Herodion Hotel provide 2 lifts with combined maximum capacity 9 persons.
The hairdryers in the rooms are swiss, hospitality professional, with 900w power devices and upon request we can provide professional 2000w hairdryers. It is true that we do not provide iron devices in the rooms for security reasons, but we offer ironing service in very affordable prices, same day delivery, from our in-house laundry team.

We have already started replacing the furniture in our rooms, and some will be soon ready.

On behalf of the staff and myself, we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you again with us next year.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Decent for a short stay. Great location, nice facility, clean and friendly staff. We asked for connecting rooms when we booked but didn’t get them nor did they follow up as promised. Rooms are very noisy especially by the street. Beds are on wheels and don’t lock so if you try to put them together there is a good chance they will roll apart in the night. If you want to be close to all the key sites this is a good place but probably would look around if staying longer or with a family.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

One of the best included breakfast I’ve had. There’s lots of variety and high quality food. There are two hot tubs on the fourth floor with a view of the acropolis and a rooftop view from the fifth floor with comfortable chairs. The atrium dinning is very nice as well.

I like the bed to be a little softer, but it’s not terrible. Picture from the rooftop.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MotoGoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Owner at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear MotoGoobie.

Thank you for your fabulous review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our breakfast has been awarded by the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels and can officially be called an authentic “Greek Breakfast” You will find over 50 different varieties of cold and warm choices. Regarding our Cocomat bed system, if guests feel our mattress harder or softer to their liking, we are able to offer alternatives. It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope that we will see you again soon on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews