We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly placed in athens”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

the hotel is in a great place at the foot of the Acropolis, I am not sure there is a hotel closer to the Acropolis museum. Rooms are on the small side and for me the bed was a bit hard (my wife loved it though!)

friendly and very helpful service and good value for money (In March which is not high season!)
understandably the roof garden was closed as it was quite cool in March but in summer it will be really nice.

Room Tip: have an acropolis view room well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear sfhugusa

It is true that no other hotel is closer to either the Acropolis or the Museum! We hope that you may come back between May and October, while our roof top restaurant is operative, because then you will have the opportunity of enjoying the magical view over drinks or dinner.
We are glad that your wife enjoyed the mattress as it is the COCO MAT bedding system, comprising of a three layer system of a bed base, a mattress and then topper, all with natural materials such as natural rubber, completely free of metal, in order to offer comfort, elasticity and support. Also you may visit our website and be informed of all the different types of rooms that are available at HERODION Hotel, and call us before booking so as to make your trip even more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was pretty nice; big buffet of delicious breakfast items, huge, comfy bed, friendly staff that are ready to help(although, if you ask for information at the reception desk, make sure you ask the older gentleman instead of the younger ones. Younger ones tend to push tours onto you but the older gentleman helped us a great deal on how to do Athens on a dime.) Very clean, very quiet and amazing location. Overall, an amazing hotel to stay at when you are in Athens.


The only downside of the stay was the insufferable group of obnoxious kids and their rude guardians(probably teachers). Don't get me wrong, I don't blame the hotel for this but I do hope these people read this review and know how awful they are. They turned this serene, calm and quiet hotel into a whole bunch of screams, whines and a whirlwind of children running around and bumping into people without even saying excuse me or sorry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear S L

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies if some of our staff at the front desk, in their enthusiasm and eagerness to serve, may some times have felt as slightly pushy. Thank you for understanding that there is not much we can do about the fuzziness created by ‘loud’ clients, nonetheless I am sorry to know of your discomfort. I hope that you will visit us again in the not so long future, and then we will enjoy a peaceful drink – the treat is on me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The location of Herodion Hotel is perfect, particularly if you have a short stay in Athens. Within easy walking distance to many wonderful and interesting sites (and right next door to the Acropolis Museum and the Acropolis), we found it easy to discover these amazing sites on foot.

The hotel is comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and quite helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Herodion and would recommend it to friends.

My one complaint would be that in this day and age, I find it odd to be charged for the internet. You could access wifi in the lobby free of charge, but if guests wished to use the internet in their rooms, there was a fee. This was outlined in our booking information, so it did not come as a surprise, but as we travel quite a bit, I find most hotels offer internet in the room as a guest service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reynardridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear reynardridge

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation of Herodion Hotel. Rest assured that we take on board every comment and review it with our team. We would love to have you back and when doing so please check our website for traveling packages which, among other options often include offers on WiFi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights. Started with 106 (first floor) and quickly changed to 307 (third floor).
Staff has been welcoming throughout my stay; the lobby as well as the food is good. Location is great. This makes this hotel a good value for money.
On the constructive side, Wifi (at cost in the rooms) is simply not working, or very weak (in the lobby): by today's standard this is not OK.
In my first room, the carpet as well as the room seem too old and dirty: the contrast with the refreshed lobby is striking.
Should the owner tackle those points this hotel will become a first class one easily and quickly.
NP

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Nicobliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Nicobliss


We appreciate your review yet we feel that you may be partly unjust with some of your comments. You had booked for a single room and were offered a spacious double and then were gladly moved to another recently freshened up with new wooden floor. As for the wifi, we do acknowledge its importance and that is why we offer four laptops and printer for free use at the lobby and free wifi access in all public areas; yet there are some hours of the days that the presence of many users at once may delay our otherwise adequate system.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you again at our hotel; until then stay informed of our activities through our web site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Herodion Hotel is lovely and cozy and is located in one of the best parts of the town, walking distance to the Acropolis, the museums and the nicest neighborhoods. The hotel personnel is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Enjoy your stay and your drinks at the roof terrace.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gulruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear gulruu
Thank you for attributing to HERODION hotel its true values.
We certainly hope of having the opportunity of welcoming you back and propose to plan such a visit between May and October –when POINT α- our roof top restaurant is operating, so as to enjoy a spectacular dinner on the terrace you so much liked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel was perfect -- a lovely rooftop terrace, a pleasant bar, a generous breakfast, a view of the Acropolis from the room's balcony, a friendly and helpful staff. It's also right around the corner from the marvelous Acropolis museum. Be sure to drop over and check museum opening times for yourself. The front desk wasn't up to date on evening hours, so we missed those -- often the best time to visit popular sites. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Acropolis view rooms also overlook a school playground. Higher is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your review, your promise for returning and the kind words with which you describe our staff’s efforts. Our front desk staff takes great pride in the fact that they are always up to date with not only the museum hours but also with what is going on in town weekly. It seems that on that particular day, the Museum arbitrarily changed the visiting hours due to a reception held for EU representatives; we apologise for not knowing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is in a great location at the foot of the Acropolis, but the room we have is small, and there seems to be no way to turn a noisy fan off in the bathroom. The hot tub is outside, off the 4th floor and has a spectacular view of the Acropolis but it was cold and cost 5 Euros to use for 15 minutes. Free Wi-fi is only available in the lobby. Warning: At least the 4th floor is a smoking floor, and if you are not a smoker it smells like a wet ashtray. We did not specify non-smoking room, so our fault, but you need to specify if that bothers you. Breakfast was adequate, but not fancy. Staff was helpful and friendly. Good, free access to laptops in the lobby with a free printer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Bob5021
Thank you for taking time to review HERODION Hotel on TripAdvisor, but … it is unfortunate that you did not address our friendly and helpful staff with your difficulty; our maintenance people, work on a 24/7 basis in order to make sure that anything, that might arise, will be taken care of. It is true that the entire hotel as well as most of the rooms are permanently smoke free, therefore we are sorry but we cannot follow your comment about our 4th floor. It is true that if a guest decides to smoke in a nonsmoking space without being noticed, we cannot react otherwise than rely on the goodwill of our clientele to confirm with our hotel's rules.
As for the Jacuzzi, it is true; we have chosen to offer our guests the once-in-a-lifetime-experience of enjoying their Jacuzzi under the renowned blue Attica sky in full view of the Acropolis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,963 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,459 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,748 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $104 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing