We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service & location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is in easy walking distance of all the major attractions in Athens, and provided us with excellent value and service during two short stays (4 nights & 3 nights) in early December 2013.

Very friendly staff, breakfast & free Wi-Fi included, plus a couple of minor issues were attended to promptly and courteously.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Birdrock
Your promise of coming back is the undisputable acknowledgment of our quality and the best reward to our efforts. Thank you and we hope of seeing you soon.
Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

A well located hotel with lovely views over the Acropolis. The room was a good size with very comfortable beds. The staff are a credit ti Greece - hugely friendly and very accommodating - nothing was too much. The food was excellent and the public rooms unusually homely and comfortable actually making you want to curl up on a sofa with a good book. Will definitely use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have the Acropolis view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonedwards333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear simonedwards333
‘Hugely friendly and very accommodating’ is what we are aiming at and striving for. Thank you for your kind words. Do note that when coming again you will find new books in our libraries and if it is winter, the fire place will be burning real wood! Taking your word as … promised, we will be happily expecting you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Form the outside and the lobby area the hotel looks ok, but I do not know what facilities this hotel has to classify it as a four star. The room I stayed in (124) was quite small. The bath was 120cm long which most people would struggle to sit in let alone lay down. While showering the bath is so small most of the water leaks onto the floor.
There is not even an iron in the room. Instead you have to pay for the hotel laundry service.
The door to the room was so stiff to open and close it had to be slammed as hard as possible for it to shut.
While asleep around 9am I was surprised to be woken by the chamber maid knocking and opening the door.

We had one meal at the restaurant which was extremely poor. The lamb chops we ordered were so overcooked they were actually burnt. These were served with a few fries and nothing else.

There was a smell of sewage from the toilet in the basement, and some guests from our party mentioned that they had a similar smell from the floor drain in their bathroom.
I notice this hotel has been given an award of excellence in 2013, I would be very interested to know what this is judged on.
The only positive of this hotel is the location if you want to stay close to the Acropolis but nothing else.
The word "hiroteron" in the Greek language means "the worst" so the hotel is quite aptly named!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank enfieldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Here at Herodion we are very proud of the positive contributions that the Trip Advisor community has left for us over the years and I am really sorry you did not feel the same way.

Naturally I am disappointed to find out that there were elements of your stay with us that you did not enjoy, making it not that worthy of remembering. Kindly note that Herodion team is particularly sensitive in terms of guest satisfaction, especially by giving full attention when it comes to problem solving. Therefore it was surprising that you did not find a single moment throughout your entire stay to inform us about your inconvenient experiences so graphically outlined in your review, as I am absolutely positive that we could have done our best to make it special as expected.
Our hotel's name was chosen by our parents, when building this hotel 37 years ago, due to its vicinity to the Odeum of Herodes Atticus created by to Herodes Atticus, an Athenian nobleman and sophist of the 2nd century A.D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

very nice location, very nice and friendly staff. i had booked a luxury room with acropolis view and the view was truly spectacular. unfortunately the generator on the roof terrace above me kept on humming loudly all night and i had to eventually move rooms to the other side, street view. the second room was actually much bigger and the balcony was really more of a nice big terrace. another disadvantage of the rooms with acropolis view is the fact that there is a school with basketball court about 20 m opposite the rooms, so if you want to sleep longer than 7.45 am, i advise you to get a room facing the street and enjoy the acropolis view from the roof terrace. all in all, a good experience, especially because of the very helpful and friendly staff. PS: breakfast was very nice and offered many choices!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location! Is close to everything. For those going far, the metro station is very near of. We thought that the room was a little bit small for three people, but the beds were very comfortable. What bothered a bit was the carpet, we thought it might be another type of flooring. The Hotel is very quiet, was in a region with many bars and is very safe. The attendants were very polite. Has a great value for money. Be sure to enjoy the hotel's terrace, which is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janaprevidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at the Herodion Hotel and for mentioning its great value for money. The location, the surrounding area, the calmness of the region, and all just 385m far from the Acropolis itself, prove to be facts very valuable to travelers.
We have taken note of your comment about the carpeting, yet let me point out that for some it proves a warm and cozy feeling. As for the room size please, if you decide to come back, check our web site for all types of rooms as you may find different categories.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Wonderful staff, a view of the Acropolis! Nothing negative to say at all. Always ask for a view of the Acropolis. Within walking distance of the Acropolis and many other ancient ruins. Next door to the new Acropolis Museum which is a must see and next door to Plaka!!

Room Tip: Always ask for a view of the acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mynoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We are delighted to know that our hotel, with its ‘wonderful staff’ and its incomparable proximity to the Acropolis has added up to your enjoyment. Thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My daughter and her friend, traveling during a study break thought they had booked a room at the Herodion Hotel for 5 days through a booking agency for a particular week in November, but they found out they were booked in for the wrong week after they were already headed for Greece. The hotel management couldn't have been more professional and accommodating in helping secure a room at their hotel when they arrived. Thank you for changing the reservation and for making the parents feel at ease in the states. My daughter raved about the breakfast daily and she also enjoyed several dinner meals and the chef was very accommodating. They visited about 10 of the favorite sites in Athens and they could walk to everything from the Herodion. The hotel has a great location, superb breakfast and puts customers first.
Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank marymac882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your high appreciation of our staff services and support to our clients; our aim is to make them feel as guests! And when parents are far away then it is even more important! We are very proud to have added to your daughter’s enjoyment and surely hope to welcome you ‘en famille’ in our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $105 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing