We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for exploring Athens!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #13 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location for exploring Athens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in late September. We had reservations at the Phillippos hotel (their sister hotel), and because of our honeymoon we were upgraded to their 4-star sister hotel around the block, the Herodion hotel.
The service was great – very helpful front desk staff who answered our many tourist questions about restaurants, walking distances to different sights, etc. They had a 24-hour check-in (we arrived around midnight after flying from the states), and even though we took a cab out around 6am to catch a ferry on our last day, they provided us with breakfast before the buffet breakfast officially began.
The location is perfect – just a few blocks from the Monastiraki metro stop, and a few minutes walk from the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. Also about 5-10 minute walk to Plaka and just a little further to Psiri. Very central location which is why we chose to stay there. On a quiet street but nearby everything. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby as well.
Beautiful roof top bar with jacuzzi’s, overlooking the Acropolis.
The rooms were a bit small, but they had everything we needed, were very clean, quiet and we found the small room to be the case at most every hotel in Greece. If you're planning to spend a lot of time in the room, you may want to ask for one of the larger rooms (we just had the standard double room).
I would definitely recommend this hotel for the location and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are proud and happy that you trusted our hotel with such a celebration as your honeymoon; actual proof your upgrade! We are thank you for your lovely review and recommendation.

By visiting our web site one can choose among three different types of rooms, be informed of offers and travelling packages and book directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    705
    154
    37
    13
See reviews for
359
771
108
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I really like the atmosphere of the hotel. The service level of the staff is of a very high standard. The lobby area is great if you just want to meet up with some friends or would like to have anything to eat at any time.
The breakfast is very good.
Another outstanding feature is the access to and the view from the roof terrace.
The location of the hotel is very convinient. It is walking distance to most things in central Athens. It is very close to the Akropoli metro station. You will find many restaurants and cafes in the neighbour hood.
I will be back.

Room Tip: This time I stayed on the fourth floor. My room had a big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Your loyalty is both the biggest honour and a serious challenge for us! Such appreciation is the best support for us in our believes towards excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockburn Town, null, Turks and Caicos Islands
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Herodion. All the staff my daughter and I met where extremely pleasant and very helpful. This hotel was also perfectly located with a 5min walk to the Plaza and acropolis. I absolutely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are very proud to have earned your recommendation. Thank you for doing us justice and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is in the best location in Athens. View of the Acropolis - magnificent.
Staff very friendly, rooms very good and clean. Breakfast - excellent. New Restaurant on roof - view magnificent and food OK.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel, friendly staff, nice breakfast, great location. Roof restaurant food could be finet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the high praise of Herodion and your positive comments for our roof top terrace/ restaurant. We certainly wish to have the chance to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel room had a lovely view of the Acropolis. Rooms were tired but clean and comfortable. Old shower etc. Breakfast was average. Location was good. Right next to the new museum. Thought it was overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOTworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, but thank you for sharing your experience. We do want to clarify for other readers that our American buffet breakfast which is included in the price of the room, has a choice of 48 different edibles, including fresh and home made ones, 5 different coffees, 9 tastes of teas. Also most of our rooms are recently renovated. Finally we would urge you to visit our web site so as to be informed of our traveling packages and offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is in the best location, the rooms are comfortable and the staff are very welcoming, knowledgeable and helpful. You can gorge from the widest breakfast buffet choice I have ever seen and avoid buying lunch. Then you will have room for a "nostomotato" (delicious) meal in the rooftop restaurant, with views of the floodlit Parthenon. If, as we did, you get fed up with sight seeing and your feet are aching, a small charge allows you to relax in the outdoor Jacuzzi gazing up at the Acropolis and then you can stretch out on a lounger to dry off in the Athens sun. If you like people watching, get a room overlooking the front of the hotel, sit out on your balcony with a glass of wine (reasonably priced from the minibar) and watch the world go by. The beds are comfortable with heavenly soft pillows. If you leave your double glazed balcony window open overnight be warned that Athens kicks off before seven in the morning. We had a very relaxing and pleasant three nights at the Herodion and will definitely stay there the next time we are in Athens. PC.May

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, overlooking the Acropolis, go for the rear. If you like to watch the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are very excited to be able to welcome you back to Herodion Hotel in a few months! Thank you for your loyalty, thank you for sharing your experience, thank you for enjoying full heartedly what our hotel offers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The website hotel pictures match reality. Rooms are soundproofed with double-glass windows. For those who have problems on sleeping, there are rooms facing the internal patio. Rooms at the rear of the hotel have view of the Acropolis. Hotel has a perfect location, walking distance to Acropolis, Plaka, restaurants and metro.
Due to misunderstanding we have been given a room which was not matching our booking. The hotel staff has been super friendly and professional in understanding the situation. We had the chance to see different rooms and to choose the one we liked the most, without extra charges.
Apart from this slight issue, the entire stay have been just perfect. Welcoming staff at all levels, from the managers, to the receptionists, waiters/waitresses, cleaning ladies. Always ready to help you with a big smile. Breakfast has fresh fruits, typical greek specialties as well as classic international breakfast. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponghis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Your full-hearted appreciation of what we consider Herodion’s character has filled us all with joy.

We truly try hard through our team’s professionalism to set us apart from the other fine hotels in Athens and we will definitely continue doing our best.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,751 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 335 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#9 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 3,304 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing