We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #14 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel was booked for the final night of my holiday, returning from the Greek Islands. I received a very polite, helpful and speedy response at Reception and was checked into my room within 5 minutes. I didn't at first think I'd like being on the ground floor immediately next to the bar area and was concerned about potential noise, but there was no problem with this. The corridor outside the room was carpeted, the room was well soundproofed, the bed very comfortable, and I slept well. I checked out the top floor dining option - and the view of the Acropolis is fabulous - but it was windy and cool that night, so I opted for the ground floor bar/restaurant instead where the menu choice was more limited but it was fine. There was only one person operating the bar service and taking the food orders at the dining tables, so this wasn't as speedy as you would expect, and after I'd been sitting in the bar area waiting to be acknowledged for a while I got up and went to the bar and requested service which was immediately provided. The staff at Reception, in the bar, and in the Breakfast Room were exceptionally polite, and overall the service was very good indeed. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean. The location was close to a central Metro stop and immediately next to the Acropolils Museum which was open until 8pm on Sunday night meaning that you could arrive on a ferry at 4pm, take the metro into Athens, and still have time to visit this amazing Museum. I would recommend The Herodion to felllow travellers looking for a smart hotel close to the Acropolis, with a spectacular rooftop view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSPSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    947
    770
    176
    37
    14
See reviews for
395
880
121
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 non-consecutive nights in the first half of September. What we really like about the place is its location - it is almost next door to the new Acropolis Museum, and within walking distance to the Acropolis and the neighbourhood of Plaka. The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful, and even accommodated our request for an early breakfast so that we could catch the morning ferry. And while we did not really sit down in the roof garden, we thought that it would be a good place to go to at night, since it had a great view of the acropolis. That said, we do have to mention that the rooms were a bit dated, and could be quite cram if you have huge luggages.

Room Tip: Do try to get a room on the higher floor that has a view of the acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lightyearsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Herodion team is happy for making your days in Athens enjoyable! We are looking forward to having you back with us soon.

This been said, do not hesitate to book through our website were you may choose the room that most suits your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for five nights early July. The hotel is in a great location close to the Acropolis, the new museum and Plaka. We had a room with a view of the Pathenon, which looked amazing when it was illuminated in the night. The room was a little dated and in need of some refurbishment , however it was clean and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped. Unfortunatley, we had a room with an inter connecting door to another room and one afternoon when we were in the room the inter connecting door flew open, we called reception and they advised could not explain why this had occurred and they locked the door. This left us a bit shaken as we wondered what would have happened if we had not been in the room at the time. In the hotels defence they did offer to move us to another room, however having only two more nights at the hotel, we decided to stay in the same room. We had dinner in the roof top restaurant on one night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The buffet breakfast had a huge variety, including freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, coffees, teas, cheeses, fruits, breads yogurt and a good range of cooked dishes. The waiter and waitress in the breakfast room, were extremely polite and friendly and no request was to much trouble, it was always a pleasure to have breakfast. Unfortunately could not say the same for the gentlemen on reception, they were not forthcoming with any assistance or advise and one in particular was outright rude. I'm not sure if we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
It is our pleasure that you enjoyed the location, the view, the cleanliness of our hotel. We took note of your comment about the ambiance of your room, yet please note that most of our rooms are recently renovated – however there might always be room for some improvement. Concerning the rare incident of the connecting door we apologize and thank you for pointing out the efficiency of our front desk team when addressing the issue.

We will gladly pass on to our “dinning-room” team your enthusiasm about the breakfast hour, yet as far as our front-desk team is concerned I have to underline that in respect to being assistive and forthcoming, they get high marks straight through from almost all our visiting clients, yet we will investigate further.

On our side we would be glad to welcome you again at Herodion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my husband at the outset of our 9-day Greece honeymoon. Arriving from the airport (taxi price fixed at €35 day/€50 night from Athens airport to anywhere in the city), we were greeted right away by friendly staff. We were checked into our room right away - the king size bed is a good size by North American standards. The decor and furnishings are a little dated however. The hotel is located right next to the New Acropolis Museum and within a 5-10 minute walking distance to the Acropolis area which was very convenient for us given that we were only in Athens for one and a half days. Rooftop restaurant/lounge offers an amazing view of the Acropolis, esp. at night when it is lit up. We recommend the chocolate soufflé for dessert. There are a couple of very reasonably priced family-run restaurants a few mins walking distance that we quite enjoyed -"To Kati Anno" and "Smile Cafe" - a huge plate of chicken gyros, fries, pita, salad, tzatiki for only €3.50! Given the only "complaint" I had were the dated decor and furnishings in the rooms, I would give this hotel a 4.5/5 given its location, service and rooftop patio. Taxi from hotel to Athens airport is €38 fixed (day).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A real pleasure to stay at the Herodion (Sept 2013). Very comfortable, well-equipped hotel. Friendly, helpful staff - not plastic smiles, but genuinely friendly, made us feel very welcome. Roof bar/restaurant is a perfect setting for an evening drink, looking up at the Parthenon. 5 mins walk into the Plaka restaurant area, with lots of choices. Sad to leave, will definitely return.
Only downside - WHY must you charge for WiFi access? limited time free in the roof bar, but otherwise 5 Euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckman9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We certainly wish to welcoming you again soon with “genuine friendliness” and “comfortable accommodations”.

Thank you for sharing the impressions of your stay with the rest of the Trip Advisor traveling community. As for your comments regarding wi-fi, let me invite you to stay in touch via our web page or the face book, so as to be informed of our packages and offers including free of charge fully operating internet.

Hope of having the pleasure of seeing you again when traveling to Athens, take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
562 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Earlier this month my husband and I spent 2 nights at the Herodion Hotel. The location couldn't be better. It's within easy walking distance of the Acropolis and many excellent restaurants are nearby. The rooftop bar has a wonderful view of the Acropolis. Breakfast was included in the room charge and was very good with lots of choices. The room itself was adequate and the bed comfortable.

We did encounter a couple problems but I feel they were not ones that would recur. First, transportation was supposed to be provided by the hotel and we were to be picked up at the airport. After waiting for almost an hour with no car arriving, we called the hotel and they said to take a taxi. We asked who was paying for it since it was to be included in fees previously paid, and they quickly sent a car. Then we were told our room would be ready in an hour and it took 2 1/2 hours. Annoying issues but probably one time occurrences.

In summary, this is a very nice hotel in an excellent location, and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind paying a little extra, ask for an Acropolis view. Otherwise, just go to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your just description of many of our hotel’s offers and advantages. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you have enjoyed our team’s friendly and problem-solving attitude.

It is true that mishaps occur and it is our aim to try and solve them as efficiently as possible. Let me apologize to you once again for the delayed arrival of your airport transportation, yet I sincerely hope that we made it up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great location,walking distance to Acropolis, great dining nearby. Views from rooftop breathtaking.
Very friendly staff. Metro 5 mins from front door. Highly recommended. Centrally located to centre of Athens.

Room Tip: All room are similar front room provide a limited view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your high recommendation of our Hotel and the Spartan –to-the-point description of its merits.
We urge you to visit our site for full information and description of our three different types of rooms, one of which has Acropolis view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#13 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,687 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#6 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing