We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel In A Great Location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Herodion Hotel in Athens, Greece is a wonderful, comfortable, beautiful hotel within walking distance of many sites in Athens. Their beautiful rooftop bar overlooks the Accropolis. Their food was delicious and their beds comfortable. The room was immaculately clean, and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamikef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,424 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The room we were given looked much more dated and budget with only a view of the inside walls of the building. A bit disappointing as our expectations were based on the photos on the website.
Great location for a tourist, short stroll down the road to the acropolis that can also be viewed from the terrace of the hotel. A block away from a street full of cafe's leading to the plaka district full of shops and eateries.
If you don't feel like walking to the tourist sites then the Hop on/off bus stop is only meters away on the same road of the hotel so it is convenient.
If you want to save money coming from the airport you can take the train and change train lines at syntagma onto the red line and travel 1 stop to akropoli station, a short walk around the corner is the hotel. 8 euro train ride or 40 euro taxi, the choice is yours.

Overall this hotel has great service and location for a tourist, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetLagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

It is true that our hotel, while being in a quiet neighbourhood, is strategically located as to both the city’s most important archaeological sites as well as access to all transportation.

Apart from the exquisite roof top which we are glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed, we have the ability of offering our guests different types of rooms; please do not hesitate to visit our site and select the one you most prefer and also learn about offers and travelling packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spent three nights here as part of a four country trip. Hotel staff was excellent and went out of their way to assist me in backing up my pics to flash drives. (They have four computers for guests but all are in Greek, of course). Tremendous rooftop view of the Acropolis so I was drawn to eating dinner there on two nights..I could not get enough of that view, especially as day drifted into sundown, then darkness and the Parthenon is lit up. First class food and drinks, service excellent. I spent only sleeping hours in my room so I did not need much and, there was nothing lacking. My room did not have a view of any kind, then again I did not pay for that and besides..you can't beat seeing the Acropolis from the roof or, of course, going there. The Acropolis Museum is just a 10 min. walk, ATM's even closer, and...the fabulous Plaka shopping district is a 5 minute walk and well worth it. Places to dine and shop to your heart's content. Overall, the Herodion was the best hotel I stayed at on my trip and I would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: If the price is right and you just have to have a room with a view I'm sure they can accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Travelling is great, yet a custom-oriented friendly hotel in the best location of the city always gives more substance to the experience! It is always a pleasure to know that we add with an oomph to our guests’ travel in the best possible way .

Thank you for doing justice to our efforts and hoping to seeing you again at the Herodion hotel when back in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Busy city, hotel location perfect for all the sites and within walking distance to Acropolis Museum, Acropolis and Parthenon, Plaka and much more. Dinners on the rooftop terrace has the perfect view and great food and cocktails. Staff are friendly and overall had great service

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bron_Hume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in central Athens, great location, wonderful views of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant and bar, excellent and helpful staff. It would be difficult to fault the hotel in any way. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit and if we wanted the Metro, it was only a couple of minutes walk away. There are good restaurants and bars near by so also good for my teenage sons!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acopolis or you could have an inner courtyard room which I think are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for appreciating in the best possible way Herodion Hotel. We are happy to hear that you had such a nice time while staying with us; we sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you, again, as our guest in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located just below the south side of the Acropolis. You can walk everywhere, which is a good thing to burn off all the calories you'll eat in great food!

I did not take the Metro from the airport, but I now wish I had as the Acropolis metro station is a 7 minute walk and safe; I think it's only 2-3 Euro for that.

Only downside for me is that WiFi is not included. I paid 5 euro for 4 days, so not too bad. Many of the restaurants in Athens have free wifi. I don't understand why hotels still charge for this.

Would definitely stay here again.

Another plus is that you can flush toilet paper down the toilets here. No joke. Many of the toilets in Athens don't allow this. Still not sure why they don't think their system will handle toilet paper. For those places that don't allow it, their is a waste basket next to the toilet that you put the used paper in. So odd the first time, but when in Athens......

Has a great rooftop bar/eating area with nice view of south side of the Acropolis and Parthenon. Very easy going and friendly staff.

Small, but nice room. Good bed. Nice bathroom. Very clean.

Loved Athens and want to come back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the north or south. My room faced a small boring courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

As a student I was very happy to find this Hotel because the location is perfect. It's a 5 min walk to the Acropolis and the very beautiful Acropolis Museum. The lobby is pretty nice, you instantly feel good. View from the balcony is stunning, you have a direct view to the Parthenon that is illuminated at night. The breakfast had the usual and it was OK! Our room was on the first floor, we had a balcony overlooking a wall. The bed was really big. What bothered me the most was the small and not very clean bathroom. You could barely fit in there and it was really outdated. Staff was friendly, they gave us directions and made reservations in good restaurants. Overall it is an OK Hotel! Maybe next time we should book a better room....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,442 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $105 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing