We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

As a student I was very happy to find this Hotel because the location is perfect. It's a 5 min walk to the Acropolis and the very beautiful Acropolis Museum. The lobby is pretty nice, you instantly feel good. View from the balcony is stunning, you have a direct view to the Parthenon that is illuminated at night. The breakfast had the usual and it was OK! Our room was on the first floor, we had a balcony overlooking a wall. The bed was really big. What bothered me the most was the small and not very clean bathroom. You could barely fit in there and it was really outdated. Staff was friendly, they gave us directions and made reservations in good restaurants. Overall it is an OK Hotel! Maybe next time we should book a better room....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,147
    884
    192
    39
    14
See reviews for
463
1,057
138
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to going to Thira and one night at the end of the trip. Staff are extremely cheerful and gracious. Two favorite employees Lucas and Eldira were fabulous.Comfortable beds, convenient location. Not to be missed Acropolis view from rooftop bar. Great breakfast food was included.
Very reasonable rate.
Also we arrived early and was pleasantly surprised that they made our rom available.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We requested non smoking king and obtained it. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoJo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

perfect location to enjoy a view of the Acropolis (don't miss a cocktail or dinner on the terrace) and of the new Acropolis Museum (this one just a few metres away), to take a nice walk on the hills around the Acropolis (Areopagus, Pnyx...) in the early morning, to eat in the unique atmosphere of Plaka neighbourhood. Great value/price ratio, great service from the stuff (kind and efficient), my room was a little bit small, "worn out" and warm with air conditioning sightly too noisy. the impression is that the interior decoration is more accurate and new in the lobby, terrace and other facilities (very nice and contemporary) than in the rooms.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors to enjoy a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very nice 4 star hotel in a great part of town (one block from the new Acropolis Archaeological Museum). Room was tiny however. Fine if there's just one of you but challenging for two adults. Requested an Acropolis view during both of my stays and was denied. Room does have wall safe, coffeemaker, lots of towels, hangers and minimal free toiletries. My view was of a drab courtyard. Major peeve - why are they charging to use the hotel WiFi - which functions very erratically? Every sidewalk cafe in Athens has FREE WiFi - this is a major ripoff. Also, hotel has ONE elevator. Very tiny elevator. Not advisable for claustrophobics. Overall, staff is very friendly and eager to accomodate, views from the roof are stunning, lobby bar is very agreeable and the excellent Acropolis Museum, Plaka district and Subway stop are just down the street.

Room Tip: Try to get an Acropolis view. (Good luck!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanAntonioBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved this hotel and loved the people even more! From the hotel we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was on a quiet street next to the Acropolis Museum, 5 minutes from Plaka and had a geat view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was outstanding and the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful and acccomodating. The lobby and other public areas were tastefully decorated, relaxing and welcoming. We felt like we had picked the perfect place to stay in Athens. When we go back, we will definitely stay here again. As for any of the negative things you here from the media about Greece, don't believe it! Athens is an amazing and fun city to visit. We had a great time and will be returning!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

On first impression the hotel looked luxurious and I was very pleased. From the look of it and the price you would think that the facilties would be included. Paying 5 euro for 15 minutes in a spa was ridiculous and paying for Wifi that worked only 15% of the time I found really unfair.

Overall the hotel was neat and tidy and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We thank you for appreciating Herodion Hotel for the exceptional atmosphere and low-profile luxury which underlines its interior. Being a 4* hotel does not enhance either us or our trained staff to offer the best service possible on every level.

Please do contact us directly next time you wish to book, and check on our packages and offers from our website, where several amenities and services, such as the internet and/ or Jacuzzi are free.

Best wishes for a beautiful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Great and convenient location within a short walk to the Acropolis, Plaka and all the main sites. Essentially next door to the Acropolis Museum. Wonderful rooftop bar and cafe where we had dinner a couple of nights with a terrific view of the Acropolis, although the service was a bit slow. Our room also had a view of the Acropolis. Friendly staff, all fluent in English. Very nice breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobtC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,795 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,301 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 326 in Athens
3,082 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing