We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean, safe & friendly.”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A very nice 4 star hotel in a great part of town (one block from the new Acropolis Archaeological Museum). Room was tiny however. Fine if there's just one of you but challenging for two adults. Requested an Acropolis view during both of my stays and was denied. Room does have wall safe, coffeemaker, lots of towels, hangers and minimal free toiletries. My view was of a drab courtyard. Major peeve - why are they charging to use the hotel WiFi - which functions very erratically? Every sidewalk cafe in Athens has FREE WiFi - this is a major ripoff. Also, hotel has ONE elevator. Very tiny elevator. Not advisable for claustrophobics. Overall, staff is very friendly and eager to accomodate, views from the roof are stunning, lobby bar is very agreeable and the excellent Acropolis Museum, Plaka district and Subway stop are just down the street.

Room Tip: Try to get an Acropolis view. (Good luck!)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanAntonioBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,335)
There are newer reviews for Herodion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved this hotel and loved the people even more! From the hotel we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was on a quiet street next to the Acropolis Museum, 5 minutes from Plaka and had a geat view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was outstanding and the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful and acccomodating. The lobby and other public areas were tastefully decorated, relaxing and welcoming. We felt like we had picked the perfect place to stay in Athens. When we go back, we will definitely stay here again. As for any of the negative things you here from the media about Greece, don't believe it! Athens is an amazing and fun city to visit. We had a great time and will be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

On first impression the hotel looked luxurious and I was very pleased. From the look of it and the price you would think that the facilties would be included. Paying 5 euro for 15 minutes in a spa was ridiculous and paying for Wifi that worked only 15% of the time I found really unfair.

Overall the hotel was neat and tidy and a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We thank you for appreciating Herodion Hotel for the exceptional atmosphere and low-profile luxury which underlines its interior. Being a 4* hotel does not enhance either us or our trained staff to offer the best service possible on every level.

Please do contact us directly next time you wish to book, and check on our packages and offers from our website, where several amenities and services, such as the internet and/ or Jacuzzi are free.

Best wishes for a beautiful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Great and convenient location within a short walk to the Acropolis, Plaka and all the main sites. Essentially next door to the Acropolis Museum. Wonderful rooftop bar and cafe where we had dinner a couple of nights with a terrific view of the Acropolis, although the service was a bit slow. Our room also had a view of the Acropolis. Friendly staff, all fluent in English. Very nice breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobtC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel sits by the south foot of the acropolis and we booked a room with a view to the Parthenon which is simply amazing. Besides that, the hotel has a great rooftop restaurant and bar and an amazing terrace with two jacuzzis also with a view to the Acropolis. The rooms are not too big, but comfortable and nice. Only problem was when we asked the concierge to book a restaurant for us for dinner and they simply forgot it. Of course when we checked to see if everything was ok for dinner, they didn't know anything about it and it was too late to get a table anywhere (no explanation was given). But I'd recommend the hotel nevertheless.

Room Tip: go for the room with Acropolis view, no doubt about it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A very comfortable stay in a superb situation. The view of the Acropolis from the jacuzzi and the roof is inspiring. An evening on the roof is well worth the visit as the Acropolis becomes floodlit. A trip 'up the hill' adds to the experience and the new museum is well worth the visit. A siesta eased the stay as the Athens' Sun reached its peak and took its toll.

Definitely would return her.

Thank you.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We thank you for appreciating our Hotel as well as underlining the convenience it added to your trip. We appreciate your interest in sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community of travellers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have stayed here twice now and once at the sister hotel around the corner. Herodion is located just around the corner from the Acropolis Museum, a block from the Acropolis itself, a few blocks from the Plaka and is surrounded by many wonderful restaurants. The staff is friendly, seem eager to help and the hotel itself is spotless. A great place to stay! We are there right now!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, facing the Acropolis.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmeg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,845 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
3,344 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,150 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $118 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing