We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stylish and calm hotel with beautiful veiw of the Acropolis. Perfect location; just next to the must-see-Acropolis Museum and in walking distance from Acropolis (aprox 15 min). Check out the sunset on the rooftop terrace in comfortable lounge-chairs with ouzo or icecream-dessert..! The pool isn't a pool, but two jacuzzies, but nice and cooling anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BK_oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    872
    188
    39
    14
See reviews for
453
1,036
135
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. Great staff, unbeatable location just next to Akropoli museum and the hill itself, delicious breakfast with freshly squeezed juices, nice rooms, jacuzzi with a amazing view to Akropoli... What more can you ask?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was supposed to be a one Sunday night stay after returning from the Island. However since I never got to the island of Kos, this was a reservation extended forward for the Friday and Saturday night. The hotel was sold out for Saturday night, yet they found a small room for me because my trip had been interrupted by delayed flights and lost luggage. This hotel was very aware of my travel mishaps and made room for me.

Not only was the staff helpful, they were courteous and genuinely kind. The rooms were pleasant, cool and the view was amazing. Unwinding at the roof top bar or dining roof top made for an amazing experience with a view from the "gods." The view from the Herodian, was just as good, if not better than some of the advertised restaurants.

This hotel was very convenient to the metro and I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip to Athens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StMDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Herodion appeared to be one of the better hotels in Athens for the price and we wern't disappointed. Arriving fairly late we struggled to find a parking space close and after half an hour of searching found a spot 15 min walk away. Apart from that the location is really good. Very close to all the big historic attractions and a wide selection of bars and cafes.

We found all the staff very pleasant to deal with and always got a hello and thank you. Rooms are clean and quiet so no issues there. The roof to bar serves up some lovely Greek cuisine and one of the better meals we had during our stay.

The only issue I had was the additional charges for standard hotel facilities. There was a 5 euro charge per person to use the jacuzzi and another 5 for a bit of Internet. If these were free for guests I would have rated higher.

Room Tip: Don't take a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandHeide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

the hotel was so conveniently located that gave us a lot of time and flexibility to explore the acropolis area and plaka even very early morning and late at night.

we had a room with a balcony and a view of the acropolis which is awesome! the roof garden and jacuzzi are also amazing! love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank ssjl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for kindest note and sharing your experience at the Herodion hotel with the TripAdvisor community. We absolutely appreciate your warmest comments about our personnel. We look forward to your return visit to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I chose this hotel based on its great reviews on TripAdvisor and wasn't disappointed. The best part about this hotel is its location - Makrygianni is a much nicer area than Syntagma, and it's much quieter than Plaka and Monastiraki.

The metro station is around the corner, as are a variety of tavernas and places to eat. Unfortunately the metro from the airport takes quite some time to get to the city - there are many stops on the way. You can walk to Plaka or Syntagma but it's a good 30 minutes, so just hop on the metro. A short walk up the hill is the entrance to the Acropolis, and right across the street is the Acropolis Museum.

The room was a decent size, and the small balcony overlooked the quiet street below. Rooms on the other side of the hotel have views of the Acropolis but you can get the same view from the rooftop bar area. Their double beds are essentially two single beds pushed together, but many hotels pull this trick so you get used to it. I refuse to pay for wifi at hotels, so didn't use it here. Syntagma Square has free public wifi if you need to stay in touch, as do many of the tavernas.

When checking in I was given a map of the centre of Athens, and it was explained to me where some landmarks were in relation to the hotel. This helped me to get my bearings on the area and made exploring Athens easier.

Breakfast is plentiful, and it never seemed to busy in the restaurant. Always plenty of tables available and the food never seemed to run out. The good selection of Greek pastries were tasty, as were the eggs and bacon. The "juice" is actually a sugary squash/cordial drink so it's extremely sweet.

If I wanted to return to Athens (which I don't, but that is unrelated to this hotel) I would stay here again.

Room Tip: No need for a room with a view - the view from the rooftop is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank so much for the high praise of Herodion and your informative analysis for so many aspects of our services. We really try hard through our team's genuinely caring attitude and efficiency to set us apart from the other fine hotels in Athens.

We do want to stress that our orange juice is freshly squeezed in the buffet area during breakfast time. We are only using Greek oranges from the Valencia type of the Sparta valley of Lakonia. Moreover, taking into account our guests increasing requests for double beds we are planning to offer to our guests the option of adding an extra COCOMAT top layer mattress in king size that will unite the two single beds to one. Thank you for your endorsement and we consider your promise for a return visit as the best compliment, Athens is a wonderful city to discover once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on the tail end of our trip to Greece. The hotel was easy enough to find and was very clean. The rooms were a very good size - though the two twin beds as opposed to a king was a bit of a disappointment. It was also a little disconcerting that everything seemed to be an extra charge: internet, jacuzzi, etc. I do have to say, though, that the staff absolutely make this hotel. They were very accommodating and helpful. My husband left his camera across the street at the news kiosk and one of the staff (Gregoris - amazing!) helped us locate it and they are arranging mailing it back to us. It was a remarkable kindness and dedication to customer service that made this place stand out. This hotel is also walking distance to many eateries and bar as well as close to the Metro and tourist attractions (Acropolis/Acropolis Museum/Plaka). I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Interesting and discreet things do sometimes come in little packages, and we are very happy that though we occupy such a small piece of Athens, you were pleased with Herodion Hotel. We are especially pleased that our team had an impact on your stay and will share your kind comments with them! Thank you especially for remembering Gregoris, he will be thrilled to read your review and to find he made such a difference during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Herodion, please visit our site for offers and great packages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,758 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,271 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#34 of 326 in Athens
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Property: Herodion Hotel
Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#15 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#19 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing