We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

stayed at the hotel with my wife and one year old child from the 22th till 28th march. the staff is lovely and attentive. the hotel has great location- 3 minutes walk to a metro station, a minute walk to a great local resterant (To Kati Allo) ,next to the acropolis.... .
the breakfast is wonderful.
couldn't ask for more!!! thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amir_rg_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Herodion! We are pleased to have fullfiled your expectations and appreciate the mention of our attentive staff and the wonderful breakfast. We are delighted that our team impacted your stay and do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,324)
There are newer reviews for Herodion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,325 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Hotels location is absolutely amazing! Right at the foot of the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum. Very good breakfast with fresh squeezed OJ in the mornings. They have jacuzzis on top of the roof that look over the light Acropolis at night, your just going to have to pay 5 Euro for 15 minutes of jets/bubbles, which I think is ridiculous to charge. They also don't have any Air conditioning until summer time, so for warned those of you who like to sleep with some air on. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Herodion, friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We appreciate your evaluation and your attention to such details as the freshly squeezed orange juice we serve every morning during breakfast . Your enthusiastic comment about the uniqueness of our location really reinforces our position.

Concerning the air condition your review is giving us the opportunity to explain that during some weeks in between seasons such as late March or late October where the temperatures fluctuate between 10 to 22 C. degrees we still keep the previous season's mode, such as the hot air nowadays, especially during night time where the temperatures drop below 10 degrees C, our clientele prefers the winter mode. Early April when the spring season starts we act according to the weather changes, we switch to the cold air mode which usually lasts until late October. Nevertheless all our windows open, some guests select to enjoy the nice fresh spring air in their room .

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and please contact us directly next time you wish to book, so we can provide you with our best rates possible and seasons' packages, where some of them offer free jacuzzi use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Easy walk to metro, adjacent to Plaka neighborhood, next door to new Acropolis museum, 3 blocks to entrance of Acropolis. Attentive and helpful staff, cosy and attractive lobby with free computer stations, free wifi and a great collection of books (some people do still like to read real paper books!) When our first room proved to be too warm for us, (it is lovely cool spring weather out, but our room had a window that can't be opened) the staff promptly and cheerfully moved us to another room with a small balcony.
One thing I would change about the rooms is the storage situation- the closet has no comfortable shelf space for clothing and there is no dresser (cabinet of drawers)in the room, so there is no way to unpack unless you can hang everything up in the closet or in the 3 TINY closet drawers.( I hate living out of a suitcase. ) There IS room for a dresser or convert half the hanging space to shelves.....
Rooms are simple and clean with comfortable beds, good breakfast served till 10. Try not to stay in room 312 where the bathroom is uncomfortably small and bedroom window does not open.
I would definitely recommend this hotel as a comfortable and conveniently-located 4 star city hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rarnlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Herodion and for sharing your feedback with us. I was disappointed and saddened to hear that your first room was not as you expected it. Immediately after I read your review I went to this room with our maintenance personnel and we saw that this window did not have any problem. Perhaps it was not so obvious that the window was a sliding one Not only do I apologize but I am pleased to see that the next room satisfied you and the issue has been resolved. I am grateful I had the opportunity to speak to you personally just before you left. We will definitely take into account your analysis of the room plan when we redesign the space in the future. As a follow up to this review, we are well prepared to take care of your request in your next visit.

Please stay in touch and follow our posted city's events ( Facebook is a great way!). We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a find! Warm friendly welcome - family run style with professional expertise. Staff unbelievably attentive & charming. Room facilities excellent & comfortable. Ours was smallish - but I think there are many larger. Breakfast a delicious eclectic mix of sweet pastries alongside continental style cold meats, salad, sausages, bacon & eggs. Of course the location is perfect for central Athens so many sites and sights within walking distance. Pity March isn't warm enough to take advantage of roof terraces the but jacuzzi is fun at any time and rooftop views are wonderful. Overall excellent value. We plan future visits and more meals.
Rob & Judith

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review Herodion hotel so favorably ; we are exceedingly happy that our services helped set us apart from the many fine hotels in Athens.The " family run " feeling you got during your stay is such a wonderful compliment and one we will take pride in as a genuinely family business.

We will pass on your nicest impressions to our team and hope to see you back in your Athenian residence in warmer days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was a great find as it is very central to visit the main sites in Athens. This place was clean, modern and the service was excellent. The views of the Acropolis were stunning and the hotel was situated right next to the brilliant 'New Acropolis Museum'.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Parthenon
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We were glad to hear that "our hotel was a great find" and you were made to feel so welcomed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at the Herodion Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff were very friendly and alert to need.

The decor was attractive the breakfast was a great mixture of local and international food with very helpful staff. The room was very clean and well equipped and the hotel had a great location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philfran54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Your superb review was greatly appreciated. We felt that you accurately conveyed what we try to accomplish each and every day. Thank you for evaluating us and please stay in touch through Facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Yet again the Herodion and the wonderful staff made our stay in Athens awesome! It was my birthday this time. For 10 years we have had the pleasure of staying with them in the central location (close to the metro, Plaka, and Acropolis) with comfortable beds, clean rooms, fabulous views. I would highly recommend this hotel again and again. Thank you!

Room Tip: When booking ask if they have a room with a view of the Acropolis...if not, the views from the roof...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

We are grateful for your continuous feedback and your wonderful loyalty to our family managed hotel. We hope to make your next visit even more memorable than your last one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,836 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,339 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,142 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#27 of 282 in Athens
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $121 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing