We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location”
Review of Herodion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herodion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were told by friends that the hotel was a little tired! They are dreaming, service was wonderful, rooms good and the location is to die for! You can walk to anywhere of interest. Try the roof top bar for the best view in town. Ask the staff for anything and they deliver. Will be here again, sooner rather than later.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Dom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been here 3 times previously, we have always been impressed. The highlight is the views of the Acropoplis which you can enjoy whilst in the roof jacuzzi. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The food is great. The staff are very helpful and efficient. I would recomend this hotl to anyone sightseeing in Athens. It has a wonderful central location, about 35 mins from the airport by taxi. (35 Euro in the day )

Room Tip: Please be specific on the type of romm, they cater for everyboby, smoking non smoking, doubles singl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Herodion which was at a very good location. Very central and within walking distance to the Acropolis and museum. If you like walking and strolling down the streets and shops, this is a great place to stay. Don't expect to much from the hotel. Rooms were very small, average buffet breakfast. Only downside was that there was no coffee or tea available early in the mornings! We could not even order coffee to our room??? Bit dissapointing! Definately overpriced!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charmaine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and your positive comments. For early morning departures we provide upon request coffee, tea , home made cake and croissant at the lobby area. We would have been very happy to provide it for you if only you have had requested it at the Front Desk. However the room service in our hotel is available from 8 pm till 12am. We hope to see you again and offer you a pleasant stay exceeding your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

With only a couple of days to spend in Athens we wanted to be right in the middle of it and at herodion we were! The only small down side was the rooms were slightly small and we received two single beds for a couple on their honeymoon. Not what we requested in the booking but it was only a couple of days.

Breakfast each morning was good with plenty of food and a few little Greek treats including an amazing orange syrup cake. I could have just eaten that and been happy. The staff were always quick to greet everyone as you moved about. The bar on the roof top with a view of the acropolis is just amazing! You would pay a bit more if you had to do that at a restaurant in the area. There are some small charges to use the hit tubs and the wifi but they were just that, small so we didn't mind paying.

The location of the hotel means you can walk to everything. We walked to the acropolis, the temple of Zeus and all around the Plaka both day and night and found it to be as safe as another place is. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as the Plaka being so close was too tempting to eat at the hotel so I can't comment on their other meals.

It was a great stay and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Athens.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Herodion twice (total three nights during two stays). It has a great location and the lobby is wonderful. Front desk staff officious, not friendly. Rooms are very small and average, very clean though. Pay for WiFi. Roof top lounge is pleasant with a terrific view of the Parthenon and Acropolis. Morning breakfast was very nice if only the sour-puss waiters would only smile, they are extremely unfriendly and do not interact with guests at all.

On the other hand, the sheets were wonderful and beds were very comfortable. Funky shower with half wall and hand-held shower piece, itsy bitsy piece of soap, so bring your own. The hallyway, stairway, roof-top lounge and lobby were the nicest parts, our room just average. We paid way too much ($265 USD) for this hotel room, about twice what it was worth, but the location makes it very attractive, not the hospitality (virtually non-existent), the front desk sour-puss attendants never smile or are hardly even pleasant at all.

Be certain to check your sliding door to the patio; on both stays, our slider was unlocked and open. I hate to be paranoid, but this seems like quite a coincidence in two separate rooms so be certain you check and LOCK the slider. And the drapes are way too long for the windows and puddle on the floor (not in a stylish way, just looks sloppy).

Would not stay here again at this price unless all the hotels rooms were renovated.

Room Tip: All rooms that face the Acropolis are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your time to thoroughly analyze your personal positive and negative points. We would definitely take into consideration your experience with both the Front Desk and Breakfast staff and we will investigate. It is appreciated to receive comments in order to constantly improve and evaluate our services. Thank you for reviewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel had a fantastic view of the Acropolis from the olive garden level four and the roof top garden level 5 and some hotel rooms. We had a very small hotel room that did have a balcony which looked up at the acropolis which was great. The room had no tea or coffee facilities and was a very small twin room. It was adequate for the night but would have been far to cramped for a longer stay. Hotel is in a handy location and we enjoyed all the local attractions. We booked a wake up call as we had an early start and fortunately we set our own alarm as well as we did not get a wake up call from the hotel when I enquired about this on check out they had apparently rung another room - so I am sure they were not appreciative of a 5.30am wake up call. Our room rate included breakfast and as we were leaving before breakfast was served we requested and were given a mini breakfast in the lobby (pastries and tea or coffee) which was appreciated.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room with view of Acropolis. Hotel doesn't have swimming pool but does hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katia T, Manager at Herodion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for providing all this valuable feedback from your stay. We will look thoroughly at the wake up call procedure and examine the reason of such mishaps and correct it.
We will look forward to welcome you to our hotel in the near future, at a larger room upon availability. I can assure you of the very best attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay very much. They were very helpful planning our airport pick up in advance. Great location in Athens near the Acropolis and museums. Great view of Acropolis from the room. Reasonable price and wifi for 5euros. We would highly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCUSABob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,441 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#28 of 282 in Athens
2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herodion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herodion Hotel

Address: 4 Rovertou Galli Street, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#14 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $104 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herodion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAMILY HOSPITALITY AMID MONUMENTAL VIEWS Hotel HERODION, a superior first class hotel , the only with sweeping views of both the Acropolis and the acclaimed New Acropolis Museum, distanced only a few meters from its south entrance. Right in the heart of the upscale Acropolis residential neighborhood, part of the pedestrian walk unifying the most important archaeological sites, it is also near to the Plaka and Thissio districts as well as to the trendy areas of Gazi and Kerameikos. Framed by a museum-quality modern sculpture at the entrance, it is a superior, first class hotel with elegant contemporary look, classic in character and discreet in artistic touch, it is strategically located close to the metro station connecting to both the international airport and Piraeus port a gateway to the Greek Isles, two stops away from the city centre Guests of the HERODION Hotel enjoy a host of modern living amenities. The service is attentive and the 90 guest rooms are tastefully appointed, some with a spectacular view to the Acropolis. From rooftop lounges rich in sunbathing facilities, outdoor Jacuzzis and a unique outdoor bar and restaurant with breathtaking views, to the winter garden atrium and spacious dining areas – it’s easy to sit back and take it in all the surrounding beauty and history – well-equipped for executives and vacationers alike. POINT α , our roof top Bar-restaurant is a breathtaking experience. It is the closest you can get to viewing the Acropolis and the New Acropolis Museum. Serving Greek/ Mediterranean Contemporary cuisine with a summer brisk, drinks and cocktails prepared by our professional bartender, is open from May to Oct, 19:00 to 00:00/ [option of private dining] ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herodion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herodion Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing