We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, convenient location”

Grill House Restaurant Ambrosia
Ranked #404 of 3,652 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This restaurant was one we went to four or five times. The menu is about average in variety, but we never had a bad meal, and thought the prices were about right. The guy in charge first gives the impression of gruffness, but is actually failry warm. Try the souvlaki, the sousoukakia, the salads. I wasn't impressed by their fish though. In total, this is a good place to grab lunch, but lacks atmosphere and has too many pedestrians walking right next to your table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyTheTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    100
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal away from main tourist zone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a pleasant family meal here. The food was traditional and good and the atmosphere was relaxed with fairly basic decor. Staff were competent and accommodating. Worth going for a laid back lunch or dinner. It's off the beaten track so not too busy but there is a motorway nearby so it's by no means idyllic.

Helpful?
Thank Dirk_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiumicello - Santa Venere, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A little slice of Greek life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited here twice as it is quite close to the hotel we stayed in. We were delighted to meet a Greek gentleman born in Athens who took time to talk with us. Also I noticed so many local people eating here and I just followed suit and ordered what the locals were having.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sben325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Excellent place to eat- good selection of hot locally cooked dishes and selection of salads all reasonably priced.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“delightful host & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We had dinner here last week and went back for souvlaki to go the next day. Loved that it was not as touristy as many other places we visited. The owner sat behind us quietly all night then had our waiter bring us dessert on the house. We ordered three dishes and ate family style -- this place was perfect for that. Good food, nice atmosphere, nice people.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill House Restaurant Ambrosia also viewed

 
Athens, Attica
 

Been to Grill House Restaurant Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing