We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst ever!!!!!”
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #227 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Soho Hotel Athens, It is not one of the worst hotels we have stayed, but THE worst.

The rooms are not clean, or cleaned for that matter, we had to ask for new toilet paper and towels, not to mention clean sheets. They offer free coffee and tea, try it at your own risk.

True, there are many police officers is the area, but only because there are crime, illegal immigrants which are rounded up during the day next to the hotels entrance, and a general feeling of uneasy-ness in the area.

Do yourself a favour and pay a liitle extra for someplace better.

Athens backpackers en studios springs to mind.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GideonvdHeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
There are newer reviews for Soho Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 243 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great price and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is only a few steps from the Omonia station, which is susposed to be an unsafe area. But it's a safe hotel in an unsafe area. You don't need to worry about the safety so much because the police are always arround.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glcalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here with my mum and sister during our trip to Athens. The hotel is on a back street only 5 min from the flea market and main tourist area. We felt safe and secure during our stay as the police depot is in the next building and there was always police around. The service was great with free tea and coffee all day and night. The area looks rougher than it is we never got botherd once. Hotel is just down the street from Omonia station so very handy metro links. Will be staying again hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 8umblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Let's put it straight: the major drawback for most hotels in Omonia area is about safety. Or that's what people say. Keeping that in mind, we spent 4 nights there, and I was careful with not showing off much valuable and keeping my knife in the pocket.
The fact is: except for some deep looks from a few Indian guys (it's in their nature, can't be helped!), we were not bothered ONCE, even coming back after 12pm.
Police was there from morning till 10pm (see photos), lining up immigrants all day next to the hotel, to find the illegal ones. Not one prostitute seen at night, although drug addicts are not rare. The neighbourhood is not shiny, but the streets are clean of rubbish.
With free coffee, large sitting/eating common area, and two laptops available to use, this was one of the best quality/price hotels we got in Greece. We even got a discount at 20 euros/night for staying 3 days in a row. Staff is polite, some of them friendly and always available. Room cleanness was not top-notch, but bed sheets were clean. Rooms were large, with fridge, bathtub and balcony. Will go back.

Room Tip: Ask a room that doesn't face the street side. They are quieter at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guiyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes, it's basic hotel, area is not so nice, but price vs quality is good. We had air-condition and shower cabin with washbasin in the room. Shared WC on the floor. Free Wi-Fi in all building and free tea and coffee on the reception. Also on reception you can find information about tours or how to get on your own to some places. I think, it's hotel for backpackers and young people, who want save some money and see Athens. Will be there again. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading reviews I felt afraid that staying at Soho could be dangerous - not at all.
Facts are the following: neighborhood is not really good, but in the same building there is a police station or something (a lot of policemen all the time), I would not recommend to walk in the night, but during daytime everything was ok. Rooms are simple, but shared bathroom was clean and good. The real advantage is the lobby on the 1 floor, where anytime one can drink free coffee and tea. Staff was helpful, no cleaning the room during the stay.

Therefore, do not expect much, but price is low, beds are comfortable, wifi works. What else for several nights stay?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a 200 pound guy that ran away from this hotel. I was afraid to go out at nite. When you are carrying money and credit cards it makes you think twice. Saw the Acropolis and ran out of Athens. Hotel was basic/ok, but see Epidavros, Delphi, METEORA. One day in Athens. 900 mile drive in Peloponnese was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Pangrati
Pagration Youth Hostel
Pagration Youth Hostel
#172 of 282 in Athens
70 reviews
Apollonion Hotel
#152 of 282 in Athens
7 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#137 of 282 in Athens
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#141 of 282 in Athens
194 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#113 of 282 in Athens
323 reviews
Hotel Pergamos
#148 of 282 in Athens
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Address: 25 Menandrou, Athens 105 52, Greece (Formerly Amaryllis Inn)
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $14 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Soho Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing