We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The worst ever!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Soho Hotel
Ranked #263 of 335 Hotels in Athens
PA Hamlet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The worst ever!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Soho Hotel Athens, It is not one of the worst hotels we have stayed, but THE worst.

The rooms are not clean, or cleaned for that matter, we had to ask for new toilet paper and towels, not to mention clean sheets. They offer free coffee and tea, try it at your own risk.

True, there are many police officers is the area, but only because there are crime, illegal immigrants which are rounded up during the day next to the hotels entrance, and a general feeling of uneasy-ness in the area.

Do yourself a favour and pay a liitle extra for someplace better.

Athens backpackers en studios springs to mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GideonvdHeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    56
    28
    44
See reviews for
22
48
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great price and the hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is only a few steps from the Omonia station, which is susposed to be an unsafe area. But it's a safe hotel in an unsafe area. You don't need to worry about the safety so much because the police are always arround.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glcalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here with my mum and sister during our trip to Athens. The hotel is on a back street only 5 min from the flea market and main tourist area. We felt safe and secure during our stay as the police depot is in the next building and there was always police around. The service was great with free tea and coffee all day and night. The area looks rougher than it is we never got botherd once. Hotel is just down the street from Omonia station so very handy metro links. Will be staying again hopefully in the near future

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 8umblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Let's put it straight: the major drawback for most hotels in Omonia area is about safety. Or that's what people say. Keeping that in mind, we spent 4 nights there, and I was careful with not showing off much valuable and keeping my knife in the pocket.
The fact is: except for some deep looks from a few Indian guys (it's in their nature, can't be helped!), we were not bothered ONCE, even coming back after 12pm.
Police was there from morning till 10pm (see photos), lining up immigrants all day next to the hotel, to find the illegal ones. Not one prostitute seen at night, although drug addicts are not rare. The neighbourhood is not shiny, but the streets are clean of rubbish.
With free coffee, large sitting/eating common area, and two laptops available to use, this was one of the best quality/price hotels we got in Greece. We even got a discount at 20 euros/night for staying 3 days in a row. Staff is polite, some of them friendly and always available. Room cleanness was not top-notch, but bed sheets were clean. Rooms were large, with fridge, bathtub and balcony. Will go back.

Room Tip: Ask a room that doesn't face the street side. They are quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guiyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes, it's basic hotel, area is not so nice, but price vs quality is good. We had air-condition and shower cabin with washbasin in the room. Shared WC on the floor. Free Wi-Fi in all building and free tea and coffee on the reception. Also on reception you can find information about tours or how to get on your own to some places. I think, it's hotel for backpackers and young people, who want save some money and see Athens. Will be there again. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
312 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading reviews I felt afraid that staying at Soho could be dangerous - not at all.
Facts are the following: neighborhood is not really good, but in the same building there is a police station or something (a lot of policemen all the time), I would not recommend to walk in the night, but during daytime everything was ok. Rooms are simple, but shared bathroom was clean and good. The real advantage is the lobby on the 1 floor, where anytime one can drink free coffee and tea. Staff was helpful, no cleaning the room during the stay.

Therefore, do not expect much, but price is low, beds are comfortable, wifi works. What else for several nights stay?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a 200 pound guy that ran away from this hotel. I was afraid to go out at nite. When you are carrying money and credit cards it makes you think twice. Saw the Acropolis and ran out of Athens. Hotel was basic/ok, but see Epidavros, Delphi, METEORA. One day in Athens. 900 mile drive in Peloponnese was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Omonia
Hotel Cosmopolit
Hotel Cosmopolit
#185 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Hotel Moka
#119 of 335 in Athens
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Hotel Cosmos
#104 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Hotel Athinaikon
Hotel Athinaikon
#158 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Epidavros Hotel
#107 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Omonia
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#121 of 335 in Athens
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho Hotel

Property: Soho Hotel
Address: 25 Menandrou, Athens 105 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Soho Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing