We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,358)
Filter reviews
4,358 results
Traveler rating
2,526
1,512
253
46
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,526
1,512
253
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant temple of olympian zeus great location acropolis museum within walking distance busy street top floor where breakfast is served superior room our honeymoon light sleeper roof garden olympic stadium an amazing view hadrian's arch plaka district major sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 4,358 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

I like this hotel for the following reasons;
1) The rooms are small but it’s clean!
2) Great staff who are very attentive to our needs
3) Great location, just a few minutes away from Acropolis, Monastiraki Square etc
4) Very good restaurant on the 8th floor with a great view of the Parthenon in the Acropolis. Great for a romantic dinner at night!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank zevald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your special comment regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel. Your thank you note will be distributed to all the staff.

It is always nice to read comments that their main scope is to provide feedback and not just criticism. Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments are the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level. We will study all your feedback and try to improve in the best possible way.


It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our city and The Athens Gate Hotel.


With kind regards,

Yiannis Adamantopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2019

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was perfect. The first room we had was on a low floor with street noise and the front desk staffed promptly moved us. We never touched our bags, they just materialized. Awesome customer service. The daily breakfast was perfect and the view is truly right at the foot of the Acropolis and you can see into the acropolis museum from your breakfast table. The rooms were great and the front desk staff always had solutions to all of my questions.

From this hotel you can walk to most Athens attractions without having to go through the city. We were able to jump in and out of the heat and crowds without having to travel across town. On our return trip from the islands we stayed further in the city and used the metro to get around, which was fine and easy, but we missed the Athens Gate service and location.

We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank FrankS5139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

Eat breakfast on a rooftop near the Acropolis, have a nightcap watching the lights of Athens, walk to the metro, the plaka or the Acropolis. All of these options are yours when you stay at Athens Gate. This was our fifth stay there, and we wouldn’t choose anywhere else!

Room tip: Request a street view.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

The staff truly go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The room and view are really nice and comfortable. The included breakfast was a treat and had many options. Eating rooftop viewing the Acropolis is breathtaking. The location cannot be beat!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Curious297164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Great location close to all area attractions and the Plaka neighborhood with many places to eat and shop. Hotel is clean (walls are thin and noise travels), breakfast is same every day with cheeses, eggs, meats, etc. View in the front is of the Temple of Zeus while back view (floors 6-8) is of the Acropolis.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank X5159BUmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews