We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
26 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$112
View deal
Expedia.com
$121
View deal
Vio.com
$98
View deal
Hotels.com$121
Travelocity$121
Priceline$109
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,701)
Filter reviews
4,701 results
Traveler rating
2,788
1,578
266
49
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,788
1,578
266
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop restaurant temple of olympian zeus great location acropolis museum within walking distance busy street top floor superior room olympic stadium plaka area our honeymoon an amazing view hadrian's arch included breakfast syntagma square major attractions historical sites
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,117 - 1,122 of 4,701 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2016

All staff friendly, helpful and efficient. Rooms clean , a little tired but bathroom smart and contemporary. Worth paying for a premium room withs views of Acropolis.
Fantastic rooftop bar and restaurant, too expensive to eat there every night but fine for a drink before heading off into taverns of Plaka which is just around the corner.
Amazing breakfast, with full english, greek treats and a whole range of fruits snd pastries.
Perfect base for seeing Athens

Room tip: Top floors give views of Acropolis and Hadrian's Gate
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieH773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AthensGate1, General Manager at The Athens Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2016


Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your special comment regarding your stay at The Athens Gate Hotel. Your thank you note will be distributed to all the staff.

Following our dedication to guest satisfaction, that it is our number one priority, we strongly believe that our guests’ reviews and comments are the most successful tool in order to improve our services and fulfill each need to the highest level. We are supporting a city hotel of enduring value and we strive daily to support it with a deeply instilled ethic of personal service in the finest, relaxing yet upscale ambience. Our mission is to create a euphoric feeling to all guests with a continued commitment to service excellence and a unique experience.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in our city and The Athens Gate Hotel.

With kind regards,

Yiannis Adamantopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

Very good located hotel in the Plaka area in Athens, in front of the temple of Zeus, 4 minutes walking to the Acropolis museum and 10minutes walking from the Acropolis. Nice and clean. It has an excellent view of the Temple of Zeus from the room and a great view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank igalzhzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

This is a great hotel. Spent 7 days here and the staff at the reception and dining areas could not have been more helpful.
The rooms are clean and spacious. My only negative about the room was that there were no tea/coffee making facilities
We were fortunate to get a room with a view of Olympian Zeus - but be warned as this view comes at a price. The road outside is very busy and you could hear it in your room - but don't let this put you off staying here!!
We also used the hotel restaurant and the food was very good and complimented the view of the Acropolis
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely use it again

Room tip: If you want a view you get the noise of the road. If you are concerned about noise at night ask for a room on the south side
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

We just returned from spending a couple nights at the Athens Gate Hotel. You couldn't ask for a better location. Walking distance to everything. Right next to the New Acropolis Museum, the Plaka for restaurants and shopping, and a block away from Hadrian's Arch. Also there is a Hertz right next door which we used. We had a family suite which was great for our family of four. It's two rooms which has a common hallway. Book this early if you're interested. I think there are only something like 6 of them available. The view from the rooftop restaurant where you have your breakfast couldn't get any better. Lovely place to come have a drink at the end of the day. I thought the staff was a little unfriendly but this could be because we had just traveled all over Greece and stayed at hotels where the staff bent over backwards to ensure a pleasant stay. I would stay here again.

Room tip: Higher floors are quieter with better views. Ask for an Acropolis view.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimbM2767PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

If you're staying in Athens for 1-2 days this place is perfect. It's around the corner from The Plaka and a 5 minute walk to the Acropolis (literally). It also overlooks the Temple of Zeus which os beautiful.

Room tip: Get a room overlooking the temple of zeus. It's really nice.
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews