We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #15 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small but good”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great location and the views are amazing from roof top bar.
Great vibe in the bar at night time.
Rooms are small but perfect for a city break. Modern, fresh decor.
Good price for what you get, restaurant is also good but very little greek food which was a pity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,098
    1,306
    209
    38
    17
See reviews for
567
2,168
171
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (949)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is a wonderful and perfectly packaged 4 star very suitable for a long weekend break. The decor is modern and chic. The staff were very professional. The rooms are compact and slightly tight but you are bang in the middle of the city so that is to be expected. At least you get a balcony for breathing space. There is nothing on the TV apart from the news - but this is not a bad thing since you are on a holiday and shouldn't be watching TV anyway!

The roof garden was absolutely lovely. The view is inspirational. Breakfast was ok. Be warned, the walls in this hotel are paper thin; so you can hear everything going on in other rooms. Yes that does include couples next door.

It is very annoying that free internet is only available in the lobby and on the roof garden. But in hindsight this does force you to question your addictive internet habits. In all I would say that this hotel was absolutely worth the money that a friend and I paid and we had no complaints.

Room Tip: Room 409 is good if you are not fussy about having a back street facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe444trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Great staff very helpful and friendly, got upgraded as on honeymoon, bottle of vino left for us also. Bkd a budget rm got upgraded to standard, very happy with same. Although no pool/gym it well and truly makes up for it with rooftop view. Will stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CPCHCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Positives:
Location - short walk to Acropolis and the museum. Right across street from Temple of Zeus
Clean
Breakfast - amazing views and the food was better than I expected even though it was just typical fare.
Staff was friendly and did their jobs well

Negatives:
Noise - others have said you need to get a room away from the street. They are right. I checked in late (after midnight). They had no other rooms. There was not a 15 second interval all night that a car did not drive by or honk their horn. At 3:30am I asked for a room change but was given ear plugs since they were sold out. This was a first. It helped a little.
A/C - not adjustable
Pillows - were not very good (I prefer softer)

Not hotels fault but be careful of taxis over charging. The staff at the hotel gave me an approximate price for a trip and it was twice the amount. I checked with a local and the hotel staff gave the correct amount the driver just over charged (he would not turn on his meter when I asked).

Room Tip: Like others have mentioned try to get a room away from the main street. It is very loud all night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I chose this hotel because i saw a single female traveling alone gave it a great review. She was right on spot. I traveled along and spent one day in Athens prior to a sailing course I was taking. This hotel was easy to get to via taxi...(bargain with them I paid only 35 Euro from airport to hotel). I was able to walk all the sites, monastraki, museum, parliament, parthenon etc easily. Loads of great restaurants nearby. I ended up eating roof top of this restaurant for 2 meals dinner and breakfast and the views of the parthenon are fabulous. No problem at all getting a seat and the food was delicious and priced right. I would stay here again. It was also convenient to catch a cab to Piraeus Port for all the ferries. Buses work well too as I took one back from the ferry to the airport late at night a week later. No problem. Absolutely safe and everyone is so nice and friendly. never scared not one minute!

Room Tip: I wasn't in the room long enough to be picky. It was close to everything and the service was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweettbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We just returned from a trip to Athens and stayed at Athens Gate Hotel for the second time. The first time was 3 years ago for our Honeymoon, and we had such a great experience we wanted to stay there again for our anniversary trip! Our stay this time was even better!

The hotel has made many updates in the lobby and overall. Many rooms have a great views, and the rooftop terrace restaurant/bar has amazing views of the Parthenon. Breakfast (which was included) was delicious and just delightful. The location for the hotel can't be beat as well.

We recommend this hotel to everyone we know when they tell us they are traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a lovely hotel opposite the temple of Zeus. I was disappointed my room did not have a view of it but instead a side street. However the roof terrace makes up for that. The bar man is lovely and the views are great. Here you are close to all the famous sights of Athens and I would recommend the hotel. The breakfast was excellent and the views make it an exceptionally nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the temple of Zeus and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing