We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our high expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded our high expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel for 4 nights and found it the perfect location for our exploration of Athens. The reception staff were very helpful, graciously fulfiling our request for a move from a room with a view facing the Acropolis to a room facing the Temple of Zeus (the inevitable bit of street noise was worth it). The restaurant staff were pleasant and the breakfast nicely prepared, with excellent choice. Will defintely stay there again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,276
    203
    37
    17
See reviews for
552
2,130
168
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

We stayed at Athens Gate for two nights prior to a cruise. It was perfect for our needs. We took at taxi from the airport for 30 Euros and were there in about 30 minutes. The hotel is modern and minimalist and reminded me of a hotel you'd find in Manhattan. Everything was new and clean and the bed was very firm. We were able to walk to the Acropolis and the Plaka district in less than five minutes and the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant was spectacular. Our room didn't have a view because it was in the back but it was very quiet there. Yanni the bellman was exceptionally helpful in explaining the room and giving us directions. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel because we preferred to eat at a traditional Greek restaurant so we ate at Platanos Taverna, only a ten minute walk from the hotel and an excellent choice if you'd like to dine like the locals. Breakfast at the hotel, included with the room, was very good. Two days provided just the right amount of time to see the major sights of Athens before the cruise. We took a taxi to the cruise port for 16 Euros. We would definitely stay at Athens Gate again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

This is just an excellent hotel at a great value in a great location. If you are considering staying in Athens, this is the place to stay. Within walking distance to all the sites, distinct districts and metro, I can't imagine a better place to stay.

The hotel design was very comforting, clean and well designed. Our first impression of the rooms, where that they were small. However, the use of the space and layout was well thought out, and there was actually plenty of space for everything. The open balcony had direct views towards the Temple of Zeus and breakfast was served on the roof top bar with views of the Acropolis. Staff was polite and friendly. Definitely a welcoming experience to the beginning of our 2 week honeymoon.

  • Liked — The room design and layout
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bsouthwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congers, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Athens Gate for only one night at the beginning of October before trekking through the Greek islands during our honeymoon, and we are so glad that we did. This is not a luxury hotel, but more than adequate in every way for the traveler looking to see the sights in Athens.

LOCATION: As others have said in their reviews, the hotel location can't be beaten for exploring the main attractions of Athens. The rooftop view of the Parthenon and Temple of Zeus are amazing, and this hotel is in the center of it all.

ROOMS: The room we stayed in was on the third floor on the back side of the hotel -- no view of the Acropolis here, but it really didn't matter much to us since it was quiet. The hotel is located on a very busy street, so I can imagine that the rooms facing the street and the Temple of Zeus would be noisy. The room itself is clean, fairly large for European standards (a little on the small side for American standards), newly renovated, and the bathroom is more than adequate. We were greeted with fresh fruits in our room, which was a nice surprise.

OTHER: We found the hotel front desk staff to be helpful and friendly, and the breakfast quite good. There is internet access in the main lobby of the hotel, but you must purchase a card from the front desk to use it -- I think it cost us 5 Euro for an hour of use.

We would definately stay here again if visiting Athens, and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Location, location, location! And clean, inviting room.
  • Disliked — Paying for internet service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Amush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

After reading about the Athens Gate Hotel in Athens, Greece on TripAdvisor, I asked my Travel Agent to make my reservation. She called me back to inquire, "Would I like a view of the Parthenon or the Temple of Zeus?"
You cannot beat this location!
The General Manager, Mr. Kriton Illiadis, was very hospitable and generous with his time to me and the other guests. His staff was always helpful and gave me great advice about how best to see the ancient sites.
The breakfast each morning on the rooftop terrace was bountiful and delicious.
I thank the fellow travelers who posted their reviews about this wonderful hotel. You were soooo right!
And, I chose the view of the Temple of Zeus. This is on one of the main roads and a bit noisy. You get the morning sun. They light the pillars of the Temple at night and it's magical.
If you choose the Parthenon view, you can watch the sunset from your room, and, it's a bit quieter.
Thank you, Mr. Iliadis, for all your kindness and gracious hospitality.

  • Liked — It's perfect location.
  • Disliked — It cost 10 euros to use the internet.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on 7 Oct 2008. The hotel has a superb location, one of the entrance to the Acropolis is within a 5min walk and Hadrian's Arch & The Temple of Zeus is across the road. The view of such sites are mindblowing from the hotel's rooftop bar/restaurant. Breakfast is served here and such a sumptuous variety. Another asset to this property are its staff - they aremost polite, helpful, and make you feel at home, like you've known them for ages. Never experienced such incredible service in Greece before.

We paid eur117 per night for 2 people including full breakfast through BedsinGreece website which we thought excellent value. The room we stayed in was a bit small but looks very well kept and tasteful. They provide Apitiva? toiletries, which we now love - good thing it's available in some Australian chemist.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lesorlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2008

By now, I must have stayed in several dozens hotels in dozens of countries all over the world … from 5-stars to 2-class budget hotels.

The Gate Hotel Athens is one of the top 3 best hotels I have had chance to stay fso ar.

Right from the reservation at their website to checkout, everything had been to our full satisfaction.
What a nice stay, and what a superb view, indeed.
Perfect location, 5 minutes walk to the Metro station Acropolis.
Very friendly staff … In particular Ms Christina Karageorgou I have had email contact with.
Excellent breakfast.

On top of it very reasonable prices … we paid € 115/night for a double room.

The only thing I would like to point out to the management of this very nice hotel is as follows:
I personally think that charging for internet access nowadays is like charging for towels.

I would sincerely advice that they should better bake in internet access in the roomprice but it should be complimentary. I would have no objection paying € 120/night instead of €115/night but purchasing cards for internet takes the grading of the hotel down.

  • Liked — Location, view, staff
  • Disliked — Lack of free internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanTourist201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing