We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prime location and great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Prime location and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My friend recommended this hotel to me. It seemed far from where I wanted to be when I looked on the map, but once we got there we realized it was a great location. It is literally 1-2 short blocks and a left turn to restaurants, shops, and the Acropolis.
I've watched one too many investigative journalism shows about dirty hotels so I've become very weary about hotel cleanliness. This hotel made me feel so comfortable. It was very clean (even for my standards) and new. The free breakfast was great too. Very convenient and pretty good variety and taste. Decent sized rooms and I liked that the hotel was more boutique sized. The staff was hit and miss...some were really nice and helpful while others were just barely average. Either way, great value and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with a "budget internal room" facing the street. Street noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,276
    203
    37
    17
See reviews for
552
2,130
168
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated for easy access to the sites, great restaurants, and the metro. Room was modern and clean, and staff was friendly and helpful. This is a four star hotel, but five star value. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed four night in mid March. We had a 5th floor standard room on the quiet (Acropolis) side. The room was clean and attractive, nice bathroom, small balcony, no view. Our only complaint was that because of the time of year the hotel had not yet turned on the AC and the room was a bit too warm at night. We solved that problem by leaving the sliding door to the balcony open to let in fresh air. The rooftop restaurant/bar has fantastic views and a wonderful staff. We had cocktails there our first night and dinner there our last night. The food was good, although a bit pricey. Breakfast had a nice variety to choose from, although it was the same each day. Internet seemed to work better in the lobby than the rooftop. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the back side as it is much quieter. There is no view, but since we spent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelZo6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights from Friday until Sunday. We wanted to get a quick overview of Athens en route to a week of relaxation in the Greek Islands. I chose the hotel based on positive Trip Advisor reviews and we were very pleased. The rooms are small, but simple and clean, and well-designed. The beds were comfortable. There was no view at all from the room, but we were not in it that much, and the spectacular view of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant/bar more than made up for it. The view changes dramatically from day to night as the site is lit up and dominates the city. The free breakfast buffet was generous. All of the staff with whom we had interactions were cordial and attentive. Special mention of John, a fellow Canadian, who went out of his way to explain the room facilities, suggest a restaurant and generally make us feel looked after. The hotel is perfectly located to use as a headquarters to explore the main tourist and shopping areas. Recommend.

Room Tip: We were on a high floor and I could get access to the wi-fi from the rooftop bar if I opened the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VW824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I'm not going to complain about the slow internet service or the tiny elevators (makes me very claustrophobic) -- I just take the stairs whenever possible anyway. (for exercise)

We had a 2nd floor "standard" room, fortunately it was on the quiet side of the hotel, it had a balcony but no views. There was some background noise that was quite annoying, but we discovered that the "key card reader" inside the door made a buzzing noise that was very audible in the middle of the night. We simply took our key card out of the slot, but that also disables the lights, TV, and climate control systems in the room. Hopefully, their techs can work on this very insignificant issue. (Rm 210)

However, the location was top notch, close to the Metro Line as well as most significant Bus and Trolley lines. We had a week-long Metro Pass ($14 Euros per person) which we used quite extensively on Subway, Coastal Tram, and Bus/Trolley Lines throughout Athens.

Furthermore, we have to say the all-inclusive buffet breakfast on the rooftop was the highlight of our stay. Those two young gentlemen who were so efficient and polite, they gave great service and we loved the rooftop views.

Some guests (Irish, perhaps) complain that the breakfast buffet gets "monotonous." Well, we would just switch sides of the rooftop, changing our view. One morning, we would both stop eating the eggs and bacon, and the next we would eat fruit, cereal, and croissants. The variety
was incredible. We kept on trying different items on different days. Everything tasted good, including the coffee (once I discovered that capuccino coffees were on the menu).
5 stars for the breakfast food & service.

The room itself was somewhat small by US standards but when you know what we paid for our room rate (it was "off season")---the bed was comfortable, sleep quality was good (once we disconnected the buzzing contraption), and the maids were attentive and very personable.

Did I mention the staff was excellent? There are too many names to mention. They have done excellent hiring at this property.

We would most definitely return to this hotel should we return to Athens again some day (very possible).

Room Tip: There is a "quiet" side and a "noisy" side. Room 210 is a quiet room, once they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is a very short walk to both the Acropolis and the Acropolis museum. The rooms themselves are nothing special, but they're adequate. There is a rooftop restaurant with nice views of the Acropolis. Breakfast there was pretty good. The dinner menu was rather limited. Overall, this is a decent hotel, but it's the location that makes it worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shubh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff, one of the best restaurants on rooftop and best location to visit all touristic places I can't say anything more it deserves to be rated 10 over 9 just one thing wish we had internet access inside our room to be more than perfect

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank charbel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing