We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #9 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As we normally do we picked the hotel because of previous reviews and as normal we were not disappointed. We arrived early of a cruise ship and were given a room with no waiting, we had a room in the back corner so we had a view of the Acropolis and from the end of the balcony we could see the Temple of Zeus, the room was a good size and modern looking. The rooftop restaurant had great views, but was very crowded for breakfast especially if wet outside, we went for dinner there as there was a thunderstorm with pouring rain, the service was excellent and the meal was good.
Location is extremely good as walking to the tourist sites is easy. This would be our first choice of a hotel in Athens and would highly recommend it.
The only thing that the hotel room lacks is a electric kettle or jug so as you could make a hot drink.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the extra cost as you get a balcony and a view as they are on the higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandAMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    1,175
    191
    30
    13
See reviews for
499
1,964
150
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location wthin walking distance of most all the major tourist locations . The views for the restaurant on the top floor were breathtaking! The Parthenon wAs almost in the backyard and the Temple of Zeus was in the front yard. We walked to the plaka shopping area, the agora, and the new Parthenon museum!


Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimi_Ann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and the location. We wanted something boutique and close to the Acropolis and nearby sites as we had only a full day before leaving on our cruise. The Acropolis gate was perfect! A good size, comfortable clean room, breakfast included, and the restaurant on the roof of the hotel has great food and an even better view. The staff was amazing! Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The perfect location for seeing the sites and there are good local restaurants for lunch and dinner without having to take a cab. We didn't get to much other than the new Acropolis Museum and some sites nearby but I want to go back to Athens and stay longer and I would consider the Athens Gate again. It is not fancy or big, but it is comfortable, clean and a good bargain in a good location for touring and the staff is great.

Room Tip: If you are light sleepers, ask for a room on a higher floor on the quiet side, not facing the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nothing but good words for this hotel....
Friendly efficient staff...nice bedroom and bathroom.
Traffic noise can be problem... try for room at rear.
The roof-top bar/restaurant is fabulous...breakfast there was a treat.
The location is second to none...with stunning views of the Acropolis...and the Temple of Zeus.
We would recommend this hotel and next time we're in Athens...we shall return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Novaterras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I moved to this hotel after a bad experience at the Royal Olympic...... my only regret was that I didn't book here originally.
I could not fault anything about this hotel. Dave the manager is fantastic and makes sure you want for nothing and your stay is the best possible.
Food at the roof top restaurant is superb... I actually called the chef over to thank him.... have the steak!!!
The view from here surpasses anywhere else in Athens, really something.
The rooms are beautiful, cleanliness is tops and everything there that you may need.
What more can I say... I shall definately be booking for my next stay and can't wait.
Thank you Dave & all your lovely staff .... see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and although not a pool in hotel there is one close that is available for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lois195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited Athens in November with my wife and enjoyed both the city and this hotel. Had one of the small budget rooms but got if for for less than 200€ for two nights (in total) which I thought was a good price.
The breakfast is really good and the view from the restaurant is spectacular.
The Acropolis and the old part of the city is very close by.
Only downside - lived at the third floor and experienced a little traffic noice.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to avoid traffic noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sep 13, the hotel is on a busy road but ask for a room at the back. Fantastic location, easy walking distance to the Paka area and Acropolis, and the best rooftop bar in Athens. The staff are extremely helpful in places to see and will explain and teach you any Greek words to help your stay. Just ask them - a little effort from a visitor and respect for their culture is greatly appreciated and goes a very long way.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,743 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,511 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,394 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing