We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and the location. We wanted something boutique and close to the Acropolis and nearby sites as we had only a full day before leaving on our cruise. The Acropolis gate was perfect! A good size, comfortable clean room, breakfast included, and the restaurant on the roof of the hotel has great food and an even better view. The staff was amazing! Very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The perfect location for seeing the sites and there are good local restaurants for lunch and dinner without having to take a cab. We didn't get to much other than the new Acropolis Museum and some sites nearby but I want to go back to Athens and stay longer and I would consider the Athens Gate again. It is not fancy or big, but it is comfortable, clean and a good bargain in a good location for touring and the staff is great.

Room Tip: If you are light sleepers, ask for a room on a higher floor on the quiet side, not facing the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    1,289
    205
    38
    17
See reviews for
557
2,143
170
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nothing but good words for this hotel....
Friendly efficient staff...nice bedroom and bathroom.
Traffic noise can be problem... try for room at rear.
The roof-top bar/restaurant is fabulous...breakfast there was a treat.
The location is second to none...with stunning views of the Acropolis...and the Temple of Zeus.
We would recommend this hotel and next time we're in Athens...we shall return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novaterras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I moved to this hotel after a bad experience at the Royal Olympic...... my only regret was that I didn't book here originally.
I could not fault anything about this hotel. Dave the manager is fantastic and makes sure you want for nothing and your stay is the best possible.
Food at the roof top restaurant is superb... I actually called the chef over to thank him.... have the steak!!!
The view from here surpasses anywhere else in Athens, really something.
The rooms are beautiful, cleanliness is tops and everything there that you may need.
What more can I say... I shall definately be booking for my next stay and can't wait.
Thank you Dave & all your lovely staff .... see you again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and although not a pool in hotel there is one close that is available for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lois195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Visited Athens in November with my wife and enjoyed both the city and this hotel. Had one of the small budget rooms but got if for for less than 200€ for two nights (in total) which I thought was a good price.
The breakfast is really good and the view from the restaurant is spectacular.
The Acropolis and the old part of the city is very close by.
Only downside - lived at the third floor and experienced a little traffic noice.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to avoid traffic noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krelle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sep 13, the hotel is on a busy road but ask for a room at the back. Fantastic location, easy walking distance to the Paka area and Acropolis, and the best rooftop bar in Athens. The staff are extremely helpful in places to see and will explain and teach you any Greek words to help your stay. Just ask them - a little effort from a visitor and respect for their culture is greatly appreciated and goes a very long way.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yvette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Only stayed one night on the return trip - but I loved this hotel. Super great roof - lovely view of the Parthenon - and it's fairly private. A great place to have a cocktail with your love pal. Really close to the Acropolis Museum (a must see), and the ruins themselves. Ask for a quiet room - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzysulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The athens gate hotel is in a terrific location and allows easy access to all tourist spots. However, it is very important that you pick which side of the hotel you want you bedrooms to because it makes all the difference as to whether you will get any sleep. In terms of the quality of service it was a terrific hotel with great staff. The owners do need to get out of the medieval ages and stop charging for internet access.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing