We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic Views from Hotel Terrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #10 of 336 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views from Hotel Terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for exploring the main attractions in the centre of Athens on foot.It has a fantastic roof terrace restaurant and bar with amazing views of the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus. The owners are welcoming and helpful and the hotel is very modern, clean and stylish.
We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.
Travel tip: although the Hotel is situated at the top of Syngrou Avenue, rather than using the Syngrou-Fix metro station, we recommend using the Acropolis metro station which is more convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,901
    1,175
    191
    31
    13
See reviews for
499
1,964
150
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband I and stayed here for 3 nights, it was the kick off to our honeymoon, which was mainly spent in Santorini. Athen's Gate was a very nice hotel, clean and very central to the main attractions. It's only two blocks away from the main square, where you can pay up to double for a hotel room. Breakfast was included and was up on the rooftop every morning. Yes the pictures of the view from their website are accurate, it is truly the most amazing view. We enjoyed their bar which is open to 12am and then would hit the pedestrian street right behind the hotel for some late night drinking. I can't remember the name but there was this cafe corner bar two blocks up towards The Acropolis (behind the hotel) and 1 to 2 blocks to the left. Good bar, it was open till 3am. Our room had a very nice view of the Temple of Zeus. We really enjoyed staying here, it exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: We stayed in #212
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlson_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to be told we had been given a free upgrade so that we had a better view of the city. Room was amazing. Food in the restaurant was also very good. Breakfast was really good and lots of variety.

Staff were very friendly and would help you whenever they could. They also offered city maps and discount voucher books to us when we arrived.

Location is great too. Out the front is one of the stops for the city sightseeing tour busses which takes you everywhere and a short walk to everything else. Would 100% recommend and def stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtw1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
224 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Superb location..you can walk your whole visit from here.
Outstanding roof top bar/restaurant with one of the best views in the world.
Gorgeous room with terrace facing the Acropolis. Very helpful staff

Room Tip: Floor 7 with Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Little could beat the location of the Athens Gate. Right by the Plaka with easy access to all the major monuments and museums. Do be aware that "100 meters" in Greece easily means 200 and the metro stop is at least that far away.

The views are amazing. On one side is the Temple of the Olympian Zeus. On the other, one of the views of the Acropolis to be found. These views are best seen from the Roof Garden, but be prepared to make a meal reservation if you want to best seats.

I had the opportunity to experience two different rooms. My first night was in a suite for my birthday. The suite was large and well equipped. The views nothing less than stunning. At least the equal of the Roof Garden one floor up. The second night was in a superior double. The room was rather small. Also, the amenities were nowhere near as nice as in the suite.

Service at the hotel is good. There are two very small elevators. When there is a large group, you may have to wait quite a while for one.

Room Tip: Splurge on the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is located very close to main Athens attractions and Parthenon, Acropolis Museum, Temple of Zeus and House of Parliament are within walking distance. Roof Top breakfast area offers amazing view of Parthenon. Though the rooms are not lavishly furnished they are OK. Morning breakfast is good and wish they had more vegetarian items. Front desk is very helpful and upgraded us on our late night return from Santorini. Overall very satisfied.

Room Tip: Book your room early as they get sold out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsawh78298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just got back from our trip to the Greek Islands and stayed in Athens at Athens Gate on the way in for one night and on the way out for one night. The first night we spent a bit more knowing we would be in town all day and might need to hang in the room for a while after spending all night on a plane, so we got the Superior Double Room. It was quite small, but nicely decorated, and was on a low floor. There was a balcony, but tiny, with really standing room only. Check in was easy but because we arrived so early our room wasn't ready. Totally fine, and they told us where to go to change. When we arrived later in the day, our bags were already in the room. Breakfast the next morning was good, pretty standard buffet breakfast fare (just a note- went on the way back for dinner because it was so late, and food wasn't so great, and either was service, think bc we came shortly before closing so maybe they weren't thrilled. I would only eat here for dinner if you have to-otherwise go explore elsewhere)
On the way back, we didn't get in until after 9 pm, and was leaving first thing in the morning so just got the standard double room. Oddly enough, this one was huge! On a higher floor too, think the bathroom was bigger as well. I wonder if maybe there was a mixup and we had the nicer room on the back end? We even had a bottle of wine and fruit waiting for us when we got in. So weird, but not complaining. Either way, room was very clean and staff were really nice. Bed was pretty comfy too. The only thing is the hotel is far from the airport, like 45 min far. But we were within walking distance to all the main sights and restaurants so I guess it's just a big city. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magestic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 336 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,399 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 336 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing