We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 281 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In the end of July we visited Athens and we had a great stay in Athens Gate Hotel. The location is ideal as it is in the heart of Athens and you have easy access to anything you want. The metro station is about 200 m. away so you can easily go by foot. The hotel itself is very luxury for the money you give. The room was really big for just the two of us and the staff of the hotel made our stay feel like home. Totally recommended if in Athens for long or short vacations.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 3,887 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My first time in Athens . I had been sailing with a life friend in the Greek Isles and had three days. His wife suggested the Athens Gate , great call.
A tip , when you go up for breakfast the first morning take your camera , break taking view . A lifetime WOW moment for me.
Incredible location , everything is within a short walking distance from hotel . Staff very helpful and friendly.
Nice room fairly priced .
Steve T

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week driving trip around Greece. It is perfectly located, close enough to walk to most of the major attractions. We were upgraded to a view room upon check-in which made our stay perfect. The included breakfast served on the roof-top terrace was wonderful and watching the Acropolis come into view at dawn was breathtaking. The rooms are modern, beds are comfortable. The only negative comment I can come up with is that there is a considerable amount of street noise (just traffic) which I was conscious of. However, I still have to give the Athens Gate 5 stars, for such an enjoyable stay with a great and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Classy rooms.We had 2 rooms adjoining, So we closed it off from the rest of the rooms and had a larger area to move to through the rooms.
It had everything and more then we expected!
I loved the welcome potpourri sachets on the beds.
We had the best view from our balcony. ( Temple of Zeus)
Very comfortable.
The free wifi was a bonus.
The lift to the room was very small and sometimes smelly!.
It is walking distance to the Temple of Zeus, The Acropolis entrance, The Museum of Acropolis.
The roof dining was small but the view again was amazing.

Room Tip: Room with a view if Temple of Zeus is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was overall very good and the staff were extremely friendly. I would like to thank especially Kiki who made an extra effort to ensure our trip was comfortable and hassle free and also helping us to find doctors when my son was sick.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahbaz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights in August 2013. The position is amazing within walking distance (few minutes) from one of the Acropolis entrance, the Museum of Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus. My room overviewed the Temple of Zeus. The roof garden view is amazing. The room is comfortable and clean. The service is excellent. People are nice and helping. I totally recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngrippiolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here one night pre-cruise. The hotel is in a great location to sightsee, within walking distance of the Acropolis (in fact the hotel has a tremendous view of the Acropolis from the roof). I gather some rooms have a similar view, but not ours - we stared at a building wall. Except for the view, the room was fine; perhaps a bit smaller than I would like, but just fine, very clean. Staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet (included) was wonderful and the view from the roof was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#12 of 281 in Athens
2,378 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 281 in Athens
3,379 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 281 in Athens
3,201 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#3 of 281 in Athens
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#13 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $96 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing