We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit noisy but unrivalled views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bit noisy but unrivalled views!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Upon arrival at 5am we were thankfully able to check in early and take our sleep deprived selfs off to bed. After sleeping till about 12 we realised that our room has little or no view. I asked the reception staff if there was any chance of a room with a better view and was informed they could offer us an upgrade. The view from this room was spectacular! We now had a view of the Temple of Zeus, mountains etc. There was also a window in the shower cubicle which allowed us to shower whilst soaking up the view.

The rooms were fairly spacious and had everything you needed. Wifi was only available in the lobby area and after midday on the roof terrace.There are 2 PCs and a printer in the lobby too if you so require.

Every morning we enjoyed our breakfast on the roof terrace and depending on where you sit you are treated to either a view of the Acropolis or the Temple of Zeus. Breakfast itself was OK; pastries, bacon, eggs, toast, cereal and fruit.

The location is the best part of the hotel. The Acropolis and Musuem were a short 5 minute walk away and the back streets of Plaka and Monastiraki were only 10 mins away.

The only downside to the hotel is that as it is situated on a main road it can be quite noisy. We learnt while in Athens that the use of car horns is not for emergency situations like in the UK. They are used constantly and by everyone. I live in central London so the traffic noise didn't bother me too much.

All in all I would definitely stay here again as the location and views were amazing!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or not used to traffic noise then try and get a room to the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozH365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,150
    1,337
    220
    40
    17
See reviews for
594
2,223
174
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. Very convenient location. Terrific staff with a particular compliment to the house keeper who was very helpful to my wife, great breakfast with a view that must be seen (photographed). Restricted free wifi but this helps to keep you out of the internet and concentrate on whats important, Athens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms are very small but for a short 2 night stay it was all we needed. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the breakfast was delicious with a fabulous view of the Acropolis and Parthenon, and the start of the plaka was just around the corner. I would definitely be happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natnashis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

A well priced hotel. Friendly and polite staff who are willing to help and understand service provision. The roof top restaurant provides god food at reasonable price. We enjoyed breakfast and diner watching the sun rise and sent on ancient building/ruins. We plan to visit Athens again and will stay at the Athens Gate.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you want value in downtown Athens, this is the spot. The rooms are small, but the air conditioning works and the beds are comfortable. The view from the roof top bar and restaurant is superior in all directions. The front of the hotel faces a busy, noisy street. Breakfast is free with the room price.

Room Tip: If you want a view, select a room facing the main street. If you want peace and quite, select a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TLCJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and were very impressed with the hotel. It is all about location, location and location. It is very close to the Acropolis area and walking distance to a lot of attractions in Athens. The staff was very helpful and allowed us to check in real early (~ 8a.m.) and even upgraded us to a room w/ balcony overlooking the temple of Olympian Zeus. The breakfast buffet was good but the view of the Acropolis from the rooftop garden was spectacular. We would definitely want to come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great location! Convenient for accessing all the "important" sights of Athens by foot! Our room, on the 3rd floor, overlooked the Temple of Zeus....so cool to look out the windows and see that sight just across the street. Service was terrific and included a delicious breakfast every morning. The only "funky" thing about the hotel was the antiquated elevators---but after a couple of days, we got used to them!

Room Tip: Ours was on the 3rd floor overlooking The Temple of Zeus with Syngrou Avenue just below us. It is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaandGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing