We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for historic Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This property is perfectly located for visiting historic Athens. It's a 5 star boutique property offering great service, a wonderful (included breakfast), fantastic views and is walking distance in a safe area that makes Athens accessible. The staff was wonderful, the food was very good. When we go back to Athens, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank August E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,999 - 2,005 of 3,923 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great hotel with a rooftop restaurant/bar that gives the best photo-view of the Acropolis especially at night. Nice room, clean and comfortable and very friendly and courteous staff, especially the staff in the rooftop restaurant (facing the Acropolis). Great location with plaka area just a short walk round the corner. The Temple of Zeus is opposite the hotel too! Plenty of eateries, we enjoyed being serenaded by Greek musician while having our dinner, just round the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is our second stay at the Athens Gate Hotel. The staff is great, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was were good and the views were fantastic. Location is excellent being within walking distance to the Plaka, Acropolis and Temple of Zeus.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Nice room and view, perfect location 10 min walk to plaka area and aoropolis, 20 min walk to syntagma square and parliamet , nice shopping area. Very nice breakfast view, overpriced capuccino at the roof top bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raiMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in a superior room for one night in May. Upon request we got a acropolis view room. The views were stunning. especialy during night time. also the terrace garden gave us views of both acropolis and the temple of zeus. The hotel is located just at the foothill of the acropolis and at the doorstep of the famous plaka area. So we did not need any means of transpport to go abt. everythng could be done by walking. Upon request, we got a free late check out till 4pm. What more can one ask for?! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madras_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night on our way to Santorini .
It was a great hotel in a great location , ovely tavernas and restaraunts in walking distance and the rooms were modern and clean and it was excellent value for money.
The staff were very friendly and we really wished we had stayed there for a few more days .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 days at the beginning of our Greece trip (5 adults - 3 rooms). The rooms were smallish, but clean and comfortable. The lobby was roomy and wifi was free. The rooftop views were amazing - looking at the Acropolis on one side and Gate of Zeus on the other. Breakfast is served there and they have a bar and restaurant for dinner and late night cocktails - You have to try the mastika mojito. They are also very conveniently located to all the main attractions - Within minutes walk to Plaka, Acropolis, Acropolis Museum and the bus tours have a stop about 10 minutes away if you're interested. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,411 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,413 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,737 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,244 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#6 Family Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $97 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing