We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect location for Athens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Athens Gate Hotel to your Saves list
The Athens Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece (Thissio / Makriyanni)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 335 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
boston
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Athens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in June 2013 for 2 days in Athens (all most people want)
The location is fabulous at the base of the walking path for the ACROPOLIS and across the street from the Hadrian Arch and Temple of ZEUS.
Our rooms were on the 6th floor (try to get the higher floors for the views which are great in day and night!)
Checkin was perfect- no hassles with water and sweets waiting
No busy "four seasons" mentality- I prefer to just take my own bag and wander to the room without all the fuss- but if you need the fuss.....
Friendly and helpful
Internet is the usual "pay" with free in the lobby and the porch (I never understand this)
Computers are free to use and print boarding passes in the Lobby which is nice
Rooms are VERY clean- smallish but room to move around
Beds are duvets and clean- I always bring earplugs in the city but given the Athenian noise they were well insulated
Décor is modern and simple but tasteful
Bathrooms also are crystal clean and well appointed but small as well
Felt very safe and the views from the roofdeck are lovely (as are the meals)
Breakfast was a usual preprepared (I would like to see an omelet bar as the eggs are just yucky in a bowl) but adequate and the usual yogurt/ fruits and nuts
Juices were plentiful and staff always pleasant- nothing special, but always receptive!

Room Tip: Get as high as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,896
    1,170
    190
    30
    13
See reviews for
497
1,957
150
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were only in Athens for 2 days so a good location for hotel was very important !

Arrived late so took the Taxi straight from airport with very little hassle. It was at fixed rate. Rooms are clean and nice size with everything you expected to be there. Breakfast with a view was amazing and decent spread considering part of package!

One thing to note is that the staff were very helpful and accommodating. We were originally put in a room directly facing the busy road and was unable to sleep 1st night so requested for a room change facing the back and they tried to help us there successfully. We also asked for restaurant recommendations and they were spot on ! Smile (short walk from hotel) was a lovely restaurant, good for a quick bite and had amazing gyros!

Room Tip: Avoid low floors or rooms facing the street. Due to its prime location, it's in a very busy are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel was located in an excellent location just a few minutes walk from Acropolis metro; however we referred to Google maps which had pinned it wrongly and we spent an hour looking for it instead.

Other than the small mishap, the hotel was clean, modern and had nice art pieces in the lobby. No free wifi in the room which is uncommon these days but was available in the lobby and rooftop (hard to detect though). Service was generally good so no complaints on that. Another reason for choosing this hotel is the view, the view, the view. Breakfast at the roof top allows you to see the Acropolis in the day, drinks at night allows you to see the splendour of the Acropolis at night.

Only small complaint was the small old-school lift which could only fit 4 people.

Room Tip: Please do not refer to Google Maps for this location as it was way wrong! Also ask for higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheekylops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel both last year and again this past May. The staff is great and we love the location. It is within walking distance to many of Athens attractions. The breakfeast is very good and the view from the top is fantastic. The rooms are comfortable and clean and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrd199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a reservation at another 4* hotel, around the corner from the Athens Gate. Upon arrival in Athens we were informed that they had overbooked and we would be moved to the Athens Gate. This was certainly our gain and not our loss, as we had a wonderful stay and were offered fantastic rates to make up for the 'inconvenience'. We experienced great service from all staff. The hotel is perfectly located; within easy walking distance of the ancient sites of Athens, the Plaka, Syntagma Square, the Flea Market, etc. The Hop-on-hop-off-bus stops 1 block away from the hotel and for those who are visiting Athens for 1 or 2 days only, this is a great way of seeing the different faces of Athens. We had a corner room on a high floor (7th floor), so traffic noise was no problem at all. The rooftop restaurant and bar has an unrivalled view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day and a wonderful dinner on our last night in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT555_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is nice and the location is ideal. Breakfast is good but dinner is definitely NOT worth the money. The view from the top is great, you can enjoy it during breakfast or drinks, don't waste your money on dinner there, you can find many very good restaurants in Plaka. One thing that I found very annoying is that they refused to bring me an iron to use. I needed to iron 2 of my husband's shirts and I called reception to ask if i can please have an iron for 10 minutes. They told me I can't, "for safety reasons" but they offer ironing services and the list of prices is in the room. I find that very annoying because I have never stayed in a hotel where I was not able to use one of their irons for 10 minutes!!!! And we travel a lot! Ironing a shirt was 5 euros!
The staff was OK but not very friendly, I found them pretty cold and the type that could not be bothered to be nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have a terrible view towards a building and the trash downstairs...If you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoleAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want to visit the ancient sites of central Athens this is the perfect hotel. Everything is within easy walking distance. It is especially well placed for the temple of Olympian Zeus, the Acropolis and the new Acropolis museum. The rooftop restaurant and bar has an unrivalled view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic noise from the side facing the temple of Olympian Zeus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingstonian144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#13 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#10 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#1 of 335 in Athens
5.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#7 of 335 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#8 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing