We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, view, service and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, view, service and food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a reservation at another 4* hotel, around the corner from the Athens Gate. Upon arrival in Athens we were informed that they had overbooked and we would be moved to the Athens Gate. This was certainly our gain and not our loss, as we had a wonderful stay and were offered fantastic rates to make up for the 'inconvenience'. We experienced great service from all staff. The hotel is perfectly located; within easy walking distance of the ancient sites of Athens, the Plaka, Syntagma Square, the Flea Market, etc. The Hop-on-hop-off-bus stops 1 block away from the hotel and for those who are visiting Athens for 1 or 2 days only, this is a great way of seeing the different faces of Athens. We had a corner room on a high floor (7th floor), so traffic noise was no problem at all. The rooftop restaurant and bar has an unrivalled view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day and a wonderful dinner on our last night in Athens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMT555_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,148
    1,336
    220
    40
    17
See reviews for
592
2,222
174
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is nice and the location is ideal. Breakfast is good but dinner is definitely NOT worth the money. The view from the top is great, you can enjoy it during breakfast or drinks, don't waste your money on dinner there, you can find many very good restaurants in Plaka. One thing that I found very annoying is that they refused to bring me an iron to use. I needed to iron 2 of my husband's shirts and I called reception to ask if i can please have an iron for 10 minutes. They told me I can't, "for safety reasons" but they offer ironing services and the list of prices is in the room. I find that very annoying because I have never stayed in a hotel where I was not able to use one of their irons for 10 minutes!!!! And we travel a lot! Ironing a shirt was 5 euros!
The staff was OK but not very friendly, I found them pretty cold and the type that could not be bothered to be nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back have a terrible view towards a building and the trash downstairs...If you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoleAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you want to visit the ancient sites of central Athens this is the perfect hotel. Everything is within easy walking distance. It is especially well placed for the temple of Olympian Zeus, the Acropolis and the new Acropolis museum. The rooftop restaurant and bar has an unrivalled view of the Acropolis and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: There is a lot of traffic noise from the side facing the temple of Olympian Zeus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingstonian144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had only 2 days in Athens, and were lucky to choose this hotel. Most of the major tourist attractions can be covered on foot or our favourite, Segway. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. Innumerable restaurant/bar options are within walking distance, which meant that we walked a lot! :-)
Excellent view of the acropolis from our room balcony. Rooftop terrace restaurant has a beautiful acropolis backdrop. Breakfast itself was basic continental.
Very good value for money & outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daddymishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Magnificient view from The Athens Gate Hotel! I stayed there during my holidays in Athens in April/May 2013. The room I stayed in was perfect! Hotel is in a good location, walking distance to Acropolis, Plaka, Syntagma shopping area, Temple of Olympian Zeus, etc. Good food at the rooftop restaurant and hotel staff were all friendly. Overall, I am very pleased with their service.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

we liked it. Has an excellent location at few minutes walking from Plaka and the Acropolis. The service is very good , good breakfast and a breathtaking view to the Acropolis from the roof restaurant, and from your room if you are lucky to get one at the correct side and a high floor.
we had also dinner at the Roof restaurant, and the food and vine were very good.
Only fault: to have to pay for the Wi-fi access. Signal is the room was very good.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor room, with view to the Acrópolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The 4 days that we had in Athens we wanted to stay as near as we can to the heart of Athens and we found Athens Gate hotel to be just amazing. The service was absolutely helpful and accommodating! We loved the view of our room! Parthenon seems to be so near that you can stretch your hand and catch it! The only negative, that it was just a detail, was that the free wifi in restaurant never worked for me but as i said it was just a small detail compared to all good that the hotel offers!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarlPater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,239 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing