We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #17 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jaipur, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Location & Hospitality”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent three nights at the Athens Gate Hotel. The location is perfect, its a two minute walk form the hurly burly of the old quarter of Plaka. We could view the Parthenon from our room & from the rooftop restaurant you could choose a table with a view of the Temple of Zeus or the Parthenon. B'fast was sumptuous / the room was clean & well furnished / the staff were friendly & helpful (the waitress gave me her cigarette lighter for the night) - You get a complete package & more than what you paid for - Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrityunja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,149
    1,336
    220
    40
    17
See reviews for
592
2,223
174
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, UK
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It is virtually impossible to find anything bad to say about this hotel. It is our second stay and when we next visit Athens we will stay there again. All the staff are very helpful and friendly especially the receptionists who were able to find all the information we requested.

There is a nice lounge area near reception with free use of computers (2 available).

The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable with safes and mini bar but no tea / coffee making facilities. Some rooms have balconies and views of the Acropolis or the Olympian Zeus Temple (extra charges apply).

The roof top bar and restaurant, where an excellent buffet breakfast is served, affords similar views and it was very pleasant lingering over breakfast and enjoying the beautiful view or having a drink there in the evenings (prices were reasonable). Free wifi is also available there, but chargable in the rooms.

In addition to all this the location is perfect, reasonably quiet but with several bars and restaurants near by, the Acropolis and its museum very close, the Plaka and Monisteraki areas (both very lively) within easy walking distance and the Metro just round the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great views if you are prepared to pay extra, or the same view is free from the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean. The rooms were nice size and room 401 had front row view of Temple of Zeus. The balcony was enjoyable to people watch. The hotel was located one street over from the Acropolis entry walkway. The street was lively, ate at what we thought were touristy restaurants but did serve incredible food. We had to leave at 4:30AM and they prepared breakfast to go for us. The double-decker tour bus had a stop one block over making it easy to tour Athens. Roof top restaurant has a great view of Acropolis and decent wi-fi. Morning breakfast was enjoyable too. Gave us a view room simply by asking, very nice to not charge me extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here.

The location is great! Just a short walk to the Plaka, Syntagma Square, the new Acropolis Museum, and the Temple of Zeus.

The rooms are simple, clean and modern. We both got a good nights sleep.

The best part of this hotel is the rooftop bar/ breakfast area. We normally don't have breakfast at the hotel because we like to get out and explore the city, but their's is pretty awesome! You get a fantastic view of the temple of Zeus or the Acropolis while you sip your coffee, juice and eat your eggs, pastry, toast, fruit, yogurt (there are a lot of choices at the buffet).

We also went up to the roof to enjoy the sunset and a glass of wine- not cheap but a great way to end the day.

The staff was very professional and friendly.

fyi: in the lobby there is one of the red shoes from the soldiers that do the changing of the guard at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier). It is sitting on the table in a plastic box. It is really cool to get a chance to see it close up.

I have family in Greece and hope to make Athens Gate my go-to hotel when I am in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neige8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in early April 2013. The hotel is in a superb location if you are visiting central Athens, very conveniently located close to the Plaka and the Acropolis and the main pedestrian walkway that connects many of the main tourist sites is just around the corner from the hotel. The whole of the city centre is within walking distance.

The hotel is clean, modern and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. The staff are great - friendly and English speaking (a great advantage). The rooftop bar and restaurant has small outside terraces on either side of the building and the most stunning views - perhaps one of the best views of the Acropolis from any hotel in Athens on one side, and great views of the Temple of Zeus from the other. The quality and choice for breakfast is excellent and the restaurant serves good food in the evenings. I could not fault the hotel and we found it an ideal stay - we would certainly stay there again!

The only comment I would make is that there is some traffic noise if you have a room on the east side, facing the Temple of Zeus - because there is a busy road on this side. It didn't disturb us because we are used to life in a city, but for those seeking total quiet it may be best to ask for a room on the 'back', west side - but you will lose any view unless you have a room on one of the top floors.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Temple of Zeus have great views, but some street noise that may disturb some w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedschrisYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent a few days in Athens and stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel.

The hotel is in a fantastic location with easy walking access to many sites of interest including the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Plaka, Monastiraki, Syntagma Square, National Gardens, etc. The Hop-On-Off bus stops a block away.

The rooftop restaurant has the most spectacular views of the Acropolis, the Temple of Zeus and Athens. Breakfast is very good with lots of food choices and the restaurant also has quite a decent menu for dinner with an extensive list of Greek wines.

The service in the hotel is super, right from check-in. Reservations were very easily and efficiently made directly with the hotels by email. Everybody is very nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. The lobby is large and very nicely appointed.

Regarding the rooms...they are rather on the small side, as are the bathrooms, but everything seems relatively new, modern and well maintained. The air-conditionning works well but ventilation is centrally controlled. We had a room on the front of the hotel looking out on the Temple of Zeus...a most very impressive view. Rooms with views of the Acropolis are more expensive. The street noise can be quite loud if the door to the balcony is left open.

Free Wi-Fi is available on the restaurant floor and free computers in the downstairs lobby.

We would stay at the Athens Gate again. Overall, it would appear to be good value.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. Some bathrooms have only a walk-in shower without a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony88Peony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel. The location of the hotel is very convenient to reach the historical and famous places like Plaka etc. The hotel is modern and very clean. The restaurant at the top has a view of the Acropolis. Our rooms was at the second floor with a view. The free wi-fi at the restaurant is weak though. In total very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HulyaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,240 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,273 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#15 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing