We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay for Visiting Athens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for Visiting Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in early April 2013. The hotel is in a superb location if you are visiting central Athens, very conveniently located close to the Plaka and the Acropolis and the main pedestrian walkway that connects many of the main tourist sites is just around the corner from the hotel. The whole of the city centre is within walking distance.

The hotel is clean, modern and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. The staff are great - friendly and English speaking (a great advantage). The rooftop bar and restaurant has small outside terraces on either side of the building and the most stunning views - perhaps one of the best views of the Acropolis from any hotel in Athens on one side, and great views of the Temple of Zeus from the other. The quality and choice for breakfast is excellent and the restaurant serves good food in the evenings. I could not fault the hotel and we found it an ideal stay - we would certainly stay there again!

The only comment I would make is that there is some traffic noise if you have a room on the east side, facing the Temple of Zeus - because there is a busy road on this side. It didn't disturb us because we are used to life in a city, but for those seeking total quiet it may be best to ask for a room on the 'back', west side - but you will lose any view unless you have a room on one of the top floors.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Temple of Zeus have great views, but some street noise that may disturb some w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedschrisYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,078
    1,289
    205
    38
    17
See reviews for
557
2,143
170
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent a few days in Athens and stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel.

The hotel is in a fantastic location with easy walking access to many sites of interest including the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Plaka, Monastiraki, Syntagma Square, National Gardens, etc. The Hop-On-Off bus stops a block away.

The rooftop restaurant has the most spectacular views of the Acropolis, the Temple of Zeus and Athens. Breakfast is very good with lots of food choices and the restaurant also has quite a decent menu for dinner with an extensive list of Greek wines.

The service in the hotel is super, right from check-in. Reservations were very easily and efficiently made directly with the hotels by email. Everybody is very nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean. The lobby is large and very nicely appointed.

Regarding the rooms...they are rather on the small side, as are the bathrooms, but everything seems relatively new, modern and well maintained. The air-conditionning works well but ventilation is centrally controlled. We had a room on the front of the hotel looking out on the Temple of Zeus...a most very impressive view. Rooms with views of the Acropolis are more expensive. The street noise can be quite loud if the door to the balcony is left open.

Free Wi-Fi is available on the restaurant floor and free computers in the downstairs lobby.

We would stay at the Athens Gate again. Overall, it would appear to be good value.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies. Some bathrooms have only a walk-in shower without a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony88Peony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel. The location of the hotel is very convenient to reach the historical and famous places like Plaka etc. The hotel is modern and very clean. The restaurant at the top has a view of the Acropolis. Our rooms was at the second floor with a view. The free wi-fi at the restaurant is weak though. In total very good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HulyaKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The welcome we received at the hotel deserves 5 stars. We arrived early and were given a great room. We requested a Wi-Fi package. The courteous man on reception suggested we go to the roof terrace for a drink and free Wi-Fi. The room and bathroom were well appointed., very comfortable bed and good bathroom. The only amenity missing was a tea and coffee making facility. Make sure you have breakfast on the roof terrace, a great choise and a view of the Acropolis. This makes for a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room on the 6th floor, we had 602 with a great view of the temple of Zeus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamontr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our first night at the Athens gate was punctuated by a great view of the sun going down next to the Acropolis. Looking to the right was Hadrians gate and the Temple of Zeus - All of which were floodlit soon after. WOW!

Add to the view the fantatstic food and service, and we knew we had picked a good Hotel.

The staff were fantastic and the rooms very comfortable. Even the mini bar wasn't exorbitant.

Our room overlooked the Temple of Zeus.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Temple of Zeus do have some traffic noise, but - it is wort it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cajunnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

A relly good Hotel in the City center, the best way to discover Athens by foot.
The hotel is modern, with a huge roof top with Akropolis wiew. The staff is really commited to help you ( for instance we needed to print our boarding pass and the self service printer didn't work, so they invited us to print it in their own office). The breakfast was correct, and is served on the rooftop, in front of the Akropolis ! The only drawback is the noise from the street, which can maybe be avoided by asking for a room on the other side of the hotel ...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSo75fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton-on-Thames, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We love this hotel and returned here last week, having stayed here in 2010. Very nicely furnished and modernised bedrooms and bathrooms, spacious comfortable lounge areas and a stunning rooftop restaurant where we had dinner and breakfast. From this restaurant you can see Temple of Zeus, Hadrian's Gate, Syntagma Square, Acropolis, distant mountains and ships coming in to Piraeus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitcairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing