We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seal Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for four days prior to a cruise and could not have been more pleased. Before we left, I read a review that said to take the train to the Syntagma station. That works, but when you're hot, tired, and hauling a suitcase a better to choice is the Acropoli station which is less than 100 yards from the hotel!! The lobby was small but elegant. The staff, from the front desk to the doorman to the maids were extremely friendly and helpful (and they all spoke excellent English). The small elevator was an adventure but functional. The room was medium size and beautifully decorated as well as spotless. We had a room on the front facing the busy street and the Temple of Zeus. The Temple is lit at night and the view spectacular - you always knew you were in Athens. The street was only noisy if the windows were open. Since we were there in warm September, we kept the balcony door mostly closed and the doors were high quality and shut out most of the sound. It was not an issue at all, even for my light-sleeping husband. The included breakfast was a hearty American style buffet but included Greek and other European foods as well. The Plaka was just down the block and there were probably 100 restaurants and bars within a mile. My only objection was that wifi was not available for free when we were there - apparently that has changed but there was free wifi everywhere else so it was not a big deal. The charming staff made up a sack breakfast for us since we left very early in the morning without us even asking. They were also very knowledgeable and eager to help with any questions. I would (and have) recommended this hotel to everyone and will certainly stay there again if I return to Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,276
    203
    37
    17
See reviews for
552
2,130
168
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I decided to write this review although I lodged in this hotel in december 2010, so things could have changed a bit since then. Nevertheless, I found this place charming, clean and very well located. I decided to stay there for a week because of other travelers good reviews and I could realize they were right. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I enjoyed the chocolate kisses the housekeepers let after cleaning. This is a small but strong detail. I also appreciate a hotel which includes breakfast with room fee, and the meals were for me delightful. I got a room with Parthenon view. Splendid! Every night I slept with the curtains fully opened. It was a kind of historic charm in that view... The only thing I apologize is the elevator (as usual in european buildings): too narrow (I guess it could fit at most 4 people without luggage...). The clerks were very helpful and they provided internet post near the bar (a plus!). I really recommend this hotel both for bussiness stays or vacations (is located at walking distance from Syntagma and Acropolis). Stay there and enjoy Athens!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Parthenon view (6+ floor). You will enjoy it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Getting there: from the airport we took the x95 which you can catch right outside the airport exit. Tickets are 5 Euros each way and will go to Syntagma station. This is not the closest station to the hotel; Acropoli is but we chose to walk from Syntagma. From where the bus drops you off, just follow the same road and Athens Gate is on the same side and is approximately 10mins walk with heavy luggage.

Rooms: upon arrival we were upgraded to a standard room from a budget room which was lovely. This was low season though and we paid 400 euros for 5 nights which included breakfast. The rooms were modern with minor decorations of Greek scenes in black and white. The bathroom was big enough with all the needed amenities which were replaced daily. As we were staying 5 days we hung up towels but they were still replaced daily which is great. Each day after sightseeing we came back to a clean room with crisply made bed which was heavenly. There was adequate heating system too as we were there during Winter and it snowed!

Internet: Free wifi is available ONLY on the roof garden where you have breakfast. But it is available and it is FREE. You just need to ask staff for password so we brought our iPads up there every morning during breakfast. Also there are 2 PC for guests to use with free Internet down in the lobby which were always available when I checked.

Breakfast: very good variety including eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastries etc. you will not be disappointed and staff made me a hot chocolate every morning.

Location: the Acropolis is 5 mins walk as is the Acropolis museum. In this area you are spoilt for choice with restaurants and cafes everywhere. Prices were aimed at tourists but its a touristy area. Plaka is around 7 min walk and Acropoli station is 3 mins walk down the road. There are also many souvenir shops around as well. Overall the hotel is central and location is perfect.

Small gripe: the only gripe and its a minor one that's not entirely the hotels fault but I thought I would mention it anyway. We were staying on the 5th floor of 7 floors, so pretty high up and twice, on Wednesday and Thursday at 3:30am I was woken by what I assume is the garbage truck outside the window. It was a loud cranking sound that seemed to last for ages. On the 2nd time; I couldn't get back to sleep so maybe if this happens regularly; the hotel could look into sound proof windows?

Overall, yes I would come back for all the great things mentioned above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up away from the garbage collection side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnhNguyen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed here twice before embarking on a cruise. It is a fantastic location and the rooftop restaurant has excellent views of the Acropolis and nearby neighbourhood as well as a decent eveniing menu and good breakfast menu. Good for a walk around nearby local shops and restaurants too. Would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeEssat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed at the Athens Gate in November at the start of our month abroad. The room was very clean and comfortable and exactly what we needed after a long journey from Miami the night before. Our luggage did not arrive with us and was promised to be delivered later that night from the airport, so we didn't need any help from the staff upon check in but it was offered and everyone was friendly. The location was outstanding it was literally a 2 minute walk and we were right in the Plaka. We were able to walk around and get dinner without the hassle of having to find our way around after being tired from our flight. Our room was in the back of the hotel and it was very quiet while we didn't have a view of the temple of Zeus, we liked the room, since the hotel is on an extremely busy road and we wanted it quiet. Our bags did arrive that night and the front desk called us and then had someone bring them up immediatly. Thank goodness!
The breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was at the top of the hotel with great views all around of the Parthanon and Temple of Zeus and the city. The breakfast had everything you would want, eggs, bacon, pasteries, etc and the best greek yogurt I have ever had (and still dreaming of!) It seemed like they could use another server for breakfast, but it did not bother us.
There was free wi-fi in the breakfast area (their restaurant) and so we often checked email and such while having breakfast. It is open all the time to go up and get online.
Overall it was an excellent hotel and would stay there again the next time we visit Athens.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonBocagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

As everyone else says this hotel for location cannot be beaten. We stayed at this hotel in the late 70's and we remembered staying there, not many hotels can you say that about. The views from the roof restaurant are amazing. Super friendly/helpful staff, couldn't be faulted, plenty breakfast choice, hot and cold would definately stay again.

The down side. We had a room without a view and every morning, apart from New Year's day, we were woken between 2 and 3 am by a garbage truck with an extremely loud garbage man who seemed to be bellowing directions followed by what can only be described as the noisiest garbage truck in the whole world.

The beds were comfy but I HATED the plastic sheet between the mattress and the sheet, they should really invest in decent mattress protectors and not something which draws the body and makes you feel like you are in a sauna

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel’s location really can’t be beaten, right at the edge of all the main tourist attractions. There are probably more intimate, characterful places in the heart of Plaka itself, but these are likely to cost a lot more and also come with quirks and compromises. The Athens Gate offers friendly, clean, well-located and good-value accommodation right in the heart of Athens’ tourist area.

Beyond location, additional standout positives of this place include first its roof terrace, offering a fantastic view over the Acropolis and set-up in such a way that casual lounging (in addition to meals) is possible. WiFi is free and good enough, though a bit patchy (but you get what you pay for - it was good enough for me). Second, the staff – they’re just so warm-hearted, cheerful & friendly. Even after pulling all-nighters on NYE, and having had only 2 hours sleep, they were unfailingly cheerful & attentive. In particular the front desk staff were very accommodating when we vacillated about our room choice. Third, the overall functionality of the place from a traveler’s perspective. I’m pretty demanding but this place just worked. Beds were fine, rooms well-appointed, bathrooms great, enough storage, lobby areas to hang out in (and of course the terrace), etc. This place just works, and works well. The lift is a bit quirky (tiny and you never know if it’s arrived or not) but a small matter.

The caveat is that the front-facing Superior rooms (esp. on lower floors) are very noisy due to the constant traffic below; and the upper floor rooms, marketed as having an ‘Acropolis view’ also include lots of air conditioners and TV antennae in the view. My recommendation would be to skip the view (unless noise does not bother you) and instead take one of the quieter standard rooms at the back. You save €30/night that way, which IMO drops this place into the realm of fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RoamingNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing