We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, neat service and nice staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #14 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just checked out of Athens gate yesterday to our next leg of the journey. Excellent, excellent location! Really, we had just a day and a half in Athens and this location did everything for us! To begin with, Athens Gate has spectacular views of the Parthenon on one side and the temple of Zeus on the other; and even if you don't get a room with a view (like us), their rooftop garden is a great place to catch these views. Morning breakfast by these views is awesome too! Morning or night, the views are stellar. Especially for the temple of Zeus, I felt the rooftop view really captured its enigma and power (in photos, atleast) than being up close in its ruined, minimal state.

Other than these two monuments, the hotel is a stones throw away from plaka and monastiraki, which we strolled onto thrice over during our stay, and also went beyond till the central market, with little effort.

The rooms are clean, a little small for the price, but good nevertheless. Bathroom was clean and spotless. The staff was pretty helpful and nice, the man at the front desk was always courteous and polite (although I didn't get his name). He told us about all the timings and suggested an order to visit the places since it was really hot and there was also the impending strike.

Overall, great stay! Would strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishti06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,259 - 2,265 of 3,943 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We liked almost everything about this hotel. Perfect location----our room overlooked the ruins of the Temple of Zeus. We were a three minute walk to wonderful restaurants and the gate to the Acropolis. The staff were terrific. Their rooftop restaurant looks up at the Parthenon.
Unfortunately, our room also overlooked one of the busiest thoroughfares in Athens, an 8 lane road that roared with traffic 20 hrs. a day. If you stay here, you sure want a room away from the road on the side of the Acropolis and you'll be a real winner.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel facing the Acropolis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryoWa_St_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. It is convenient for visiting the major sights and for access to the Plaka and Syntagma Square areas of Athens. It is close to public transport. The rooms were very clean and a good size. In particular I was impressed by the bathroom. Ours had a huge shower and was very modern. Breakfast was great with the added bonus of a wonderful view of the Acropolis. My one disappointment was that there was no furniture on the lovely balcony in the room. The view at night from the bar/restaurant on the top floor is not to be missed. The sight of the Acropolis and Temple of Zeus lit up at night is wonderful.

Room Tip: We had a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel. We did not experience any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadharcnaMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are very clean and the beds are comfy. The elevator is very small. Can fit 4 people max or you can take the stairs. The rooftop garden bar (where breakfast is served) ha a great view of the Acropolos. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the metro station and the Acropolis Museum. Wifi isn't free in the rooms. But they have 2 computers in the lobby that can be used and theres a printer so you can print your boarding pass.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip and again 1 night at the end of our trip.

The location is absolutely perfect within walking distance to the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, Syntagma Square and other attractions.

The rooms were very clean and comfy. Although wi-fi was not free in the rooms, there were 2 computers and a printer in the lobby for guests to use free of charge and free wi-fi in the lobby and the rooftop restaurant.

Breakfast was good with a nice selection in their rooftop garden restaurant - a great way to start the day.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had been assigned a room in the front facing the Temple of Zeus which was great but found it very noisy from the traffic on the main road. We mentioned it to the front desk and they found us a room in the back with a view of the Acropolis which was so much better although the garbage pickup at 3a.m. was very noisy but it was only for a few minutes.

We would recommend this hotel and if we were to return to Athens would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

the hotel is overrated as far as the price is concerned.The rooms are very small and in a Superior double room there is no tea maker and only one chair ! In the balcony there are no chairs !! After paying such a lot of money no comfort. U DONT PAY FOR LOCATION ONLY. The staff at the reception is very helpful.The food is very expensive. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rakeshMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

What better way to discover Athens than by foot. This hotel allows you close proximity to the major attractions and the central shopping districts.The Temple of Zeus, the Acropolis, the new and wonderful Acropolis museum, the Plaka, the ancient Olympic Stadium, the Parliament and on and on. A very good roof top restaurant where you can relax and view the Acropolis under lights, it is magical. Rooms are clean and beds were comfortable. We would stay here again and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Acropolis or the Temple of Zeus, and higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris60Yass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 282 in Athens
3,441 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,263 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#8 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#12 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $104 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing