We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, easy access to everything!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, easy access to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Athens Gate Hotel during our 10-day trip to Greece back in September (booked through Travelive, which was a fantastic agency) and found this to be the ideal hotel for our stay in Athens. First off, the location is perfection. Situated in walking distance to the museum and the Acropolis (just steps away!) it made our short stay in the city SO convenient. We didn’t have to bother with trains, car rental or taxis to see any of the major sites. We just got up and walked outside and everything (including some great restaurants) was right there!

We also loved the rooftop bar and restaurant. Breakfast was delicious and the dinner was also quite good. The view is unbeatable, especially at night. Even if you don’t eat there, I’d highly recommend going up just to take some photos. The only downside to the hotel is that our room was extremely small—it literally was the bed and a bit of walking space around it and a small table (thought we did have a small balcony which was nice). The elevators could only fit about 2 people at a time, plus 2 pieces of luggage. Not great but it's not like we spent a ton of time in the room anyway. I did appreciate that the hotel was very clean and modern. I’d take the cleanliness over extra space any day!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prettydamnfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,276
    203
    37
    17
See reviews for
552
2,130
168
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend.
The hotel location is superb, its an easy walk to the metro station and to Parliament Square, the Acropolis Museum and Acropolis.
The views from the rooftop restaurant cannot be bettered. We ate there two evenings, and could watch the chef cook our (very reasonably priced) meals. The chocolate souffle was divine!
Initially the air conditioning didnt work in our room, which was a great shame. The room had a fabulous view of the temple of Zeus, but the road noise outside made it impossible to leave the door open. Hotel staff quickly arranged another room, this time much quieter - although we were woken at 2am every morning when the bins were emptied.
We would stay here again, and hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenJane39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Perfect location to go around in Athens: walking distance to acropolis and temple of Zeus. Very well decorated and comfortable room. The famous rooftop restaurant offers rich breakfast every morning with wonderful view of acropolis and temple of Zeus. Staffs are helpful to help you make reservations for local restaurants and deal with luggage problem with the airline. Internet is not free but you only pay 19 euros for three devices per day at a high speed. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

very nice and friendly hotel good location and i really liked the breakfast, greeks are knowed for their cuisine, i hope we can visit back soon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The people of Greece are incredibly friendly and this extended to the staff at the hotel. They were very attentive, catered for every need and made us feel very welcome. We were pretty tired from travelling when we arrived but the staff gave us water and sweets while we checked in and made the whole process very easy.

Breakfast was lovely, especially on the last day when it was warm enough to sit outside on the roof garden and watch people walking around the temple of zeus. We must have had the best view from any hotel in Athens.

We had a budget room without a balcony but it was still a good size and we were still given top service. The cleaners did an excellent job and we only felt bad that they had tidied up after us as well as cleaned (always put our shoes together in a line etc).

I have already recommended this hotel to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms on the acropolis side (away from the temple of zeus) are quieter. We asked for a non-smoking r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Laura321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Am worried I am becoming over reliant on Trip Advisor to plan for my trips... well, again, I was not disappointed ;-)

Athens Gate hotel is a great place: in short, location is perfect, opposite Temple of Zeus, closing to Acropolis, metro station and Plaka area. Apparently hotel was renovated in 2007, except for the lift which is a bit outdated, the rest is new. Room is great, see through bathroom with all new appliances, flat TV with news channels in many languages (no movie channels though). Ours was overlooking temple of Zeus, nice view (and a balcony) but super noisy on Syngrou avenue. 2 computers with free access in the lobby, that's very convenient. Staff are friendly and efficient. No specific comment on the breakfast. For dinner though, I found the restaurant a bit pricey compared to regular restaurants in the area.

In short, very good hotel, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

spent only one night at Athens Gate Hotel on 9October2011 prior to boarding cruise ship. we found this hotel on our own, using TripAdvisor, and all the positive reviews are spot on. the room was comfortable and we appreciated the ability to open the door to balcony to let in fresh air without worrying the rain would also pour into the room. the hotel fronts a multi-lane thoroughfare and complaints of noise can be chalked up to its location in a major city and not a small village.

our trip offered a pre-cruise hotel at a 5-star property but the location of Athens Gate is far better situated. anything else seems immaterial. the breakfast buffet was plentiful and had fresh croissants, perfect poached eggs, fruit, and decent coffee. no caviar or champagne, but we also didn't pay for those sort of offerings either.

we arrived at Athens Gate approximately five hours later than anticipated despite clear weather and Aegean Airlines plane at the gate at Heathrow. air traffic controllers in Athens decided to "slow down" air traffic at their whim. it was well after 10pm when we pulled up to the hotel and we were greeted cheerfully and a room with a view was waiting. the bar on the top floor was still open and the beer was amazingly delicious.

our cab ride to the cruise ship and eventual boarding was fraught with impassable streets and inept dock workers. Athens does not work at the public level.

however, if you should find yourself in Athens, we would recommend the Athens Gate without reservation.

Room Tip: the Temple of Zeus view is stunning. assume the Acropolis view is quieter. both are fully visible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing